18 Reviews

mirj, u've got a real KEEPER here. i just whipped this up in 10 minutes using low fat cream cheese, tuna flakes in water, curry powder (definitely more than 3/4 tsp!!), lemon juice, chopped spring onions and grated cheddar - all rolled up in a fajita-sized flour tortilla. yummy! thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WaterMelon January 01, 2004

Y.U.M!! Definitely our new favorite tuna salad. DH and I can't wait to make tuna melts with it! I am also going to take this principal and use it with chicken salad next time. Thanks for another great recipe Mirj!! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shae May 02, 2003

Really tasty! Loved the curry flavor, perfect with wheat crackers for lunch. Kept well in the fridge for several days. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama March 17, 2011

Great method! We wanted a heartier tuna mixture and found the perfect ratio to be one can of tuna to two ounces of cream cheese. For our family, two cans of tuna to a half block of cheese yields the right amount. The wonderful benefit of this cream cheese base is that the spread does not get runny! The tuna was just as good, and possibly even better, on day three!! We omitted the curry powder entirely; we've also substituted candied jalapenos (or spicy sweet pickle relish) for the green onions. Thanks for another amazing idea!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Lauri~ May 28, 2009

Anything that makes canned tuna this tasty to my DH is worth 5 stars plus...I used 1/4 curry powder and doubled everything else...we arn't big in curry and I figured I could always add more...I think next time I will leave it out all together...the lemon juice is a nice touch...don't serve this right away...I made it Friday afternoon for Shabbat day...the flavor was so much better the day after making it...I loved it on challah, DH devoured it on onion matzoh...I'll be making this over and over again...thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilysse January 18, 2009

Yum! I made this a while back and have made it a few times since. I love the curry powder, and it's really different from other spreads I've had! I also had mine on a toasted bagle as said by another reviewer. I could barely wait for it to chill! But so good after you do! Thanks, Mirj.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The hockey lady September 14, 2008

Instead of curry powder I added garlic powder. This is good. I sed osme of it on a toasted bagel for a sandwich for work. the problem no one in the house likes it but me. I will be eating it for awhile

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Maria #2 January 04, 2008

The curry gave this an interesting flavor and color. Something different and certainly easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
padreaming June 23, 2007

Although I made some changes this is excellent! As I'm trying to cut down on fat, I used low fat cheese and mayo. I also forgot to get the green onions, so I used a bit of finely chopped red pepper instead...worked out very well, probably would have benefited from the onion though! Edited to say...this worked very well in a panini, made in a George Foreman.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Patchwork Dragon October 15, 2006

This is a great recipe! I made it up in like 10 minutes let it sit over night and took it to a friends the next day to have with rice crackers. Absolute winner!! Thanks for sharing :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tanz674 June 05, 2006
Tuna Cheese Spread