Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tuna Cheese Spread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tuna Cheese Spread

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on January 01, 2004

      mirj, u've got a real KEEPER here. i just whipped this up in 10 minutes using low fat cream cheese, tuna flakes in water, curry powder (definitely more than 3/4 tsp!!), lemon juice, chopped spring onions and grated cheddar - all rolled up in a fajita-sized flour tortilla. yummy! thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2003

      Y.U.M!! Definitely our new favorite tuna salad. DH and I can't wait to make tuna melts with it! I am also going to take this principal and use it with chicken salad next time. Thanks for another great recipe Mirj!! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2011

      Really tasty! Loved the curry flavor, perfect with wheat crackers for lunch. Kept well in the fridge for several days. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2009

      Great method! We wanted a heartier tuna mixture and found the perfect ratio to be one can of tuna to two ounces of cream cheese. For our family, two cans of tuna to a half block of cheese yields the right amount. The wonderful benefit of this cream cheese base is that the spread does not get runny! The tuna was just as good, and possibly even better, on day three!! We omitted the curry powder entirely; we've also substituted candied jalapenos (or spicy sweet pickle relish) for the green onions. Thanks for another amazing idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      Anything that makes canned tuna this tasty to my DH is worth 5 stars plus...I used 1/4 curry powder and doubled everything else...we arn't big in curry and I figured I could always add more...I think next time I will leave it out all together...the lemon juice is a nice touch...don't serve this right away...I made it Friday afternoon for Shabbat day...the flavor was so much better the day after making it...I loved it on challah, DH devoured it on onion matzoh...I'll be making this over and over again...thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      Yum! I made this a while back and have made it a few times since. I love the curry powder, and it's really different from other spreads I've had! I also had mine on a toasted bagle as said by another reviewer. I could barely wait for it to chill! But so good after you do! Thanks, Mirj.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2008

      Instead of curry powder I added garlic powder. This is good. I sed osme of it on a toasted bagel for a sandwich for work. the problem no one in the house likes it but me. I will be eating it for awhile

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2007

      The curry gave this an interesting flavor and color. Something different and certainly easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2006

      Although I made some changes this is excellent! As I'm trying to cut down on fat, I used low fat cheese and mayo. I also forgot to get the green onions, so I used a bit of finely chopped red pepper instead...worked out very well, probably would have benefited from the onion though! Edited to say...this worked very well in a panini, made in a George Foreman.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2006

      This is a great recipe! I made it up in like 10 minutes let it sit over night and took it to a friends the next day to have with rice crackers. Absolute winner!! Thanks for sharing :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2006

      Tasted great! I put some pepper sauce to give it a little more flavour, but it definitely tasted even better the next day! Leaving it to sit so that the flavours can blend is a good idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2006

      Yummy. I made this one evening and brought to work for lunches. If you like the flavor of the curry powder, try my Seaside Salad, Seaside Salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2005

      Anyone else use two cans of tuna? I did. Also, with so many types of currys, which one did you use? Since I was not sure, I only used a seasoned salt blend. This was very good and will make it again, but would like to try a curry the next time. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2005

      Great stuff, Mirj! I kept the calorie content down by using fat-free cream cheese and light mayo. It was fantastic on celery, but I liked it even better on crackers. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2005

      MMMM! This was really good! Even my 3 yr old liked it. Confession though, I am not low carbing (tho I should be) and ate this on white bread which defeats the purpose of being healthy but oh well!:) I still enjoyed it! Thanks Mirj! (upped to 5 stars after it sat overnite and had leftovers for lunch today!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2004

      WOW! Can't believe this is healthy! I didn't have the onions, but it tasted great anyway. I put in in tortillas and it was awesome. Even my husband liked it - Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2004

      I really liked this. The curry is a great touch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2004

      This is great. I'm sitting here typing with a bowl of the dip and celery in front of me. I didn't use the same seasonings but once you've combined the tuna, cream cheese, mayo, and green onion I think the other spices are all to taste. YUMMY. And LOW CARB!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tuna Cheese Spread

    Serving Size: 1 (123 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 307.5
     
    Calories from Fat 229
    74%
    Total Fat 25.4 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 12.0 g
    60%
    Cholesterol 82.8 mg
    27%
    Sodium 318.8 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.8 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    11%
    Protein 14.4 g
    28%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes