27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The daycare kids really liked this, the 2&1/2-year old just keep saying, "Mmm". I used an 8 oz bag of noodles, and the peas I only boiled for half the time as we like them crunchy. I added 1/2 tsp salt and some pepper. This also reheated nicely in the microwave. Thank you Dorothy, for another keeper.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J March 08, 2002

Great tasting tuna casserole. We have tuna and either pasta rice or noodles quite a lot. This mix is delicious, and the added cheese is a winner. Another quick, easy and tasty meal. Thanks Dorothy!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* July 23, 2002

I used broccoli instead as we are not big pea fans. I added the Ritz before baking. It was quick and delicious.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dragonbaby February 11, 2003

I had a craving for tuna casserole and this one hit the spot. I reheated some for lunch the next day and it was just as good a day later. I did crumble some Ritz crackers on top after I had a serving on my plate. I like a little crunch and that worked nicely.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kannwilson November 14, 2002

Easy, easy to make and tasted great.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ImBecca February 08, 2004

For something so quick and simple.. it tasted pretty good! I used cream of mushroom soup. I also sauteed up one small onion, and that was also a very nice addition. I make this all the time for my toddler and I.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u February 24, 2012

Enjoyed this for today's lunch, but I used egg dumpling noodles (7-oz.) in place of the medium noodles. I thawed the peas under warm water, drained them, and placed them on paper towels to blot dry, then mixed the peas in the casserole dish at the very end, before baking in the oven. I subbed a can of cream of mushroom soup for the cream of celery, and I used 1/3 cup of milk, and 2 tablespoons of sour cream, plus I added 2 tablesponns of diced onion, and 2 medium cloves of garlic (minced) and added some freshly cracked black pepper. I baked this (covered) in a 375 degree oven for 30 minutes. I look forward to making this again, but next time I may top the casserole with some French fried onions at least 4-5 minutes before baking time is up, and w/o covering the casserole, to give the casserole a bit of crunch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Domestic Goddess February 26, 2011

Best tuna casserole I've made. Inexpensive comfort food that really "hit the spot." Easy and I had everything in the house. Well, I left out the peas and used cream of mushroom and penne, but this is the type of recipe that allows those types of substitutions. I also had albacore tuna. Serve with lots of freshly ground pepper and salt at the table. Seems odd to give 5 stars to a casserole, but I really couldn't ask more from a tuna casserole. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jackieblue September 24, 2009

Yummy comfort food. I made this as directed except that I used farfalle pasta since that's what I had on hand. I usually make this with cream of mushroom soup so it was a nice variation to use the cream of celery. Thanks Derf. Made for I Recommend tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme October 15, 2008

I made this mostly as directed. I added a few dashes of onion powder, salt and pepper. I also topped it with about 2 T of crushed potato chips. it was yummy and it's all gone. Thanks for posting! Made for I Recommend Tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Color Guard Mom August 17, 2008
Tuna Casserole