363 Reviews

Family loved it..............

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
poolmomof2kids April 17, 2014

My daughter and I were also having a tuna casserole "Jones". :) I found this recipe (having never made one) and with it's ratings and the way the recipe read, thought we'd give it a try. It is now on our family rotation! There are two things I did differently, just for my family...I used half and half instead of evaporated milk, and I drained the tuna (because my husband is not a big fish eater and I thought it would keep the casserole from being too fishy tasting, and it was delicious. Oh, I did add peas. This is the type of recipe I love! You can "tweak" it in different ways and it is still delicious. That is the mark of a great recipe! Thank you Tara, for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lanesbaby January 30, 2014

I never cared for the tuna casserole I grew up with. I was reluctant to make my own, but this blew my mom's old recipe out of the water! I did make a few changes, but that's what makes this recipe a winner. It's easy to adapt. I used cream of mushroom soup instead of cream of celery. I also added 1/2 tsp black pepper, 1/2 tsp garlic powder, and about 1/4 to 1/2 tsp. salt, about 1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese and maybe 1/4 cup parmesan cheese to the mix. And I used elbow macaroni instead of egg noodles. I think it would be hard to mess this one up!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heidi T. December 31, 2013

Omg!! By far the best ever!! I have been trying to make a tuna casserole forever. Always dry and this one was absolutely perfect. My can of cream of celery had expired in 2010 so I used cream of mushroom. I did use fresh mushrooms and a shallot instead of the onion. I sautéed mushrooms, celery and shallot before adding. I also added a bit more cheese. Did not measure just covered the top. Like one reviewer said u can't just have one helping. I could have had 3-4 :)<br/>Tyty for this recipe!! Fantastic!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beenee. November 16, 2013

We LOVE this recipe. I used two cans of tuna and added about 1/3-1/2 cup of half and half since we like our casseroles "saucy". Thanks Tara!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
irisbobbie2004 November 10, 2013

This was absolutely delicious and a big hit with my family! Definitely a keeper recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LindaPulley619 October 12, 2013

I enjoyed this ccasserole. I received compliements on it but I believe it is missing something to give it that extra kick. I will use this recipe again and do recommend it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angelashliey222002 August 11, 2013

This was so easy even a dummy like me can make it with little effort.loving the rich and cheddar cheese sauce. I sauteed the onions and mushrooms in a little olive oil because that is how I roll. Even my tuna hating family was all like ooooh whats that?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yeahyeahyeah June 30, 2013

So, so, good. I have had so many recipes for tuna casserole that turn out dry AND flavorless, and this one is very creamy and delicious. I used Country Pasta brand homemade style egg pasta, which I really recommend; I also added a 1/2 cup of frozen mixed vegetables and I had to make my own recipe of condensed cream of celery soup since I didn't have any (found the recipe on southernfood.about.com)--can you tell I was determined to make this today? It turned out better than I expected and the flavor was wonderful. Thanks to you, Tara, I have conquered tuna caserole! Thanks! PS Next time I will add a crunchy topping, I really did miss it.<br/>Update: Whoa! For a whole new level of deliciousness try adding equal parts plain panko bread crumbs and ground French's French Fried Onions to the top of the casserole during the last 5 or so minutes of baking!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aHardDaysNight June 26, 2013

Awesome!! My kids were arguing about who got the last serving so next time I will double the recipe :) the only thing I will change next time is sauté the veg before hand, and I used cream of chicken and left out mushrooms because I have non mushroom eaters, but all in all this was fabulous!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Neani May 21, 2013
Tuna Casserole