11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My husband does not like tuna so I made these with a can of white chunk chicken breast and flaked it like you would tuna. I also left out the Old Bay and substituted with 1/2 tsp poultry seasoning. I also added garlic powder and onion powder as well as some red pepper flakes..just a tad. I followed the directions. But, as stated in another review, they didn't set well and were a little musy like mashed potato patties. I browned the heck out of them on both sides and then poured some mushroom gravy over them and stuck them in the oven for about 40 minutes. They turned out fairly well and my husband liked the flavor and the texture after they came out of the oven. Some of the other tuna cake recipes have eggs in them and I think they would hold together better that way. I will experiment with them and see if we can fix the texture so that we won't have to put them in the oven after browning. Thanks for posting the recipe because it is a very good idea to start with. When tweaked a bit, it can make a very good tuna or chicken cake!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OceanLuvinGranny May 29, 2011

Sorry, I'm going to be the odd person out and give this a poor rating. I made exactly as directed, but thought they were way to mushy and not very tasty. The parts that did brown were the best, but I would never make these again. Out of 4 the only one who liked them was my 18 month old son.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
akmama April 25, 2011

I really liked this recipe, but had to change the stuffing to seasoned breadcrumbs (so I omitted the water). Next time I will follow the recipe, but the breadcrumbs worked out perfectly. I loved the cheese in these tuna cakes. Thank you for posting this great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JOY1998 May 15, 2010

I saw this in the Kraft Magazine, it is so easy and so good. I didn't have relish so I just finely diced up sweet pickles with a little juice!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rollin in the Dough! May 03, 2010

Awesome taste, easy to make. I recommend this to everyone. Thank for the great recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angela H. September 21, 2009

These were very easy to make. I used fat free mayo in making mine. Note, you may want to give the mixture another stir before making them into patties. I might try a little onion the next time I make this. Made during * Zaar World Tour 5* 2009 game for team *Genies of Gourmet*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J May 20, 2009

made these for a future dinner but had to have one.... very good! thanks! i will definitely do often

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jellyko May 13, 2009

I used Pepperidge Farm Herbed Stuffing and used half milk/half water to plump the stuffing up. These were super tasty! I also used about 1/2 tsp Old Bay. The trick with tuna cakes is to not make them too large or they will not cook evenly. I think I made mine about 3/4" thick and about 3" across...no larger. It worked very well! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tropical Texan March 25, 2009

I made this once before and it is easy. I'm new at cooking and I was able to make this with out any problems. I just don't know how much old bay seasoning to add. Can you tell me??

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
894511 July 17, 2008

I made these for dinner last night and they were really good. I omitted the carrot and used light mayo. We really enjoyed these tuna cakes and it was nice to have something different. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lil Sis May 14, 2008
Tuna Cakes