Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tuna Burgers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tuna Burgers

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on September 12, 2002

      I made these the other night for my daughter who will eat tuna and very little else. I wasn't sure how these would hold together when frying but mine did very well. The chili sauce gave them a nice flavor. Thanks!! Family and I enjoyed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2008

      This was the perfect recipe I was looking for for a quick and easy supper. I didn't add the chili sause though. We are not fans of spicey foods. Being tuna lovers, this was a definite winner for something different.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2011

      I have been making these for many years. I just love these burgers! I put them over mixed greens with a sprinkle of lemon on top of all.
      The one thing I do differently than the recipe calls for is that I saute onions, celery, carrots and green peppers, prior to adding to the mix. I do let that mixture cool down before adding to the egg and mayo mix.
      Oh, and a little tobasco sauce is a little pick me up in the mix as well!
      Thank you for posting this super recipe!
      This is one of my favorites!!! Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2011

      I instructed my 16 year old verbally through the recipe. Recently I hung in my kitchen a sign, "Your Mother Doesn't Work Here--Do It Yourself." A future chef and mother in the making.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2010

      Made these using the ingredients listed. I doubled the recipe. I did cut back on the crumbs a bit. My grandchildren and daughter loved these. I just thought they were OK. But I will make again as I love any recipe that these kids will eat. I just think they are a bit bland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2008

      I was so intrigued by this recipe, that I had to try it as soon as I read a review. I only used 1/4 cup mayo, and while they were still pretty "wet", the consistency after cooking was perfect. I believe I like them better cold with fruit for a light lunch. I, too, would not want to hide them in a bun!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2008

      What a great way to use tuna!! My DH isn't crazy about fish but loves these burgers. In fact, he requests them regularly. The only change that I have made to the recipe is that I use cayenne pepper instead of the chili sauce and I sometimes use a little less mayo depending on the texture. They are easy to form and cook especially if they sit for a bit. We enjoy them alone with a veggie or pasta salad or in a bun with all the fixings. Thanks for a great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2007

      These are delicious hot or cold. I used one drained 425 gram can of tuna (in springwater) and the other quantities as per the recipe, and the patties held together well during cooking. I didn't have any chilli sauce, so substituted one heaped teaspoon of chopped chillis along with a dollop of tomato ketchup. We had the patties as is, without the bun, and found them to be moist and tasty enough to not need any topping. We loved the combination of chilli and mayo, and the celery and onion (I used red onion) added a lovely flavour and texture. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2007

      I enjoyed these over salad greens, though I made a couple of changes. First, I added 1/3 cup each of red and green pepper (always looking for a way to add more veggies to my meals). Second, I omitted the egg and added 1 tsp. of lemon juice. Finally, I concocted my own "chili sauce" with a combination of ketchup and Chipotle Tabasco sauce, as I don't keep chili sauce on hand. I let the patties sit in the refrigerator for about 45 minutes to firm up a bit before cooking them on the stove, and didn't have a problem with them falling apart. Thanks NurseDi for another winner of a recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2005

      Fantastic flavor combination! My DH & I loved them. There are 2 things I would do differently however. I felt like there was way too much mayo which caused the consitancy to be too wet. I had a problem even turning them over on the pan because they kept wanting to fall apart. Try 1/8 cup mayo intead and an extra egg. I wouldn't change anything else at all except more bread crumbs if you desire. I melted a slice of baby swiss cheese over one and that was nice also. I will love to keep making this recipe with the 2 minor alterations. As little as it makes 1/3 cup mayo in the mixture is too much. Don't skip trying it for that problem, the flavors are FANTASTIC!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2005

      I made these for supper tonight. I can't say that I liked them or disliked them. They just didn't do anything for me, I thought that there was something missing. I may try these again and experiment some. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2005

      Both my husband and I loved these. I processed the celery and onions mid-fine instead of chopping due to the fact that I didn't have the time to chop. The end result was a very (to borrow another reviewer's word) delicate tasting patty that had an excellent texture. A little bit of crispy in every bite. I did have to add about 1/3 cup more breadcrumbs because my mixture was just too soupy. In the end, I decided just to spoon the mix into the pan and shape it into a circle while still wet. They flipped well when I let the cook the 4 minutes stated on one side first. We ate ours on buns, but next time I probably will just eat them as they are. No need to hide such good tasting stuff under a bun. Very nice recipe and thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2005

      These were VERY tasty....I loved the flvor of the carmelized onions and celery on the edges. I did however prefer it served on a lettuce leaf with veggies on the side. I felt the bun hid the delicate flavor of the burger. I added a generous dash of garlic owder and some parsley. I will make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2004

      Followed the recipe as written but did add some hot sauce. Easy to make and good to eat. Glad you posted this NurseDi.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2004

      This recipe makes very nice tuna burgers. The celery, mayonnaise and chili sauce add so much to the overall flavor and texture. We enjoyed them very much. Thank you for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2004

      Very easy and good! I added 1/2 tsp. dillweed and 1/4 cup chopped red pepper. Delicious and healthy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2002

      Just fixed these for lunch and they are really good. Kids love them and even my picky husband thought they were good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tuna Burgers

    Serving Size: 1 (169 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 394.4
     
    Calories from Fat 163
    41%
    Total Fat 18.2 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 6.1 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 83.0 mg
    27%
    Sodium 653.5 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.7 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 6.3 g
    25%
    Protein 18.0 g
    36%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites