Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tub and Shower Magic Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tub and Shower Magic

    Average Rating:

    91 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 91

    Sort by:

    • on January 27, 2013

      I'm going to start by saying that I have been trying for the last 2 1/2 years to get the showers in my house to a state where I wasn't embarressed by them after we moved in.
      I've used a ton of different cleaners and the only thing that somewhat worked were magic erasers. But it took so long and so much effort.
      I only had about 3 ounces of blue dawn left, but I made it equal parts just to try it out.
      HOLY MOLY!!!!!
      This stuff is the bees knees!! Seriously, I sprayed it on there, let it sit for 10 minutes, and it just washed EVERYTHING right off.
      Those showers have never looked so good! Haha.
      Our soap scum is like super scum due to my boyfriend being a mechanic and coming home covered in grease.
      This got ALL of that off no hard scrubbing required.
      I will never use anything else for sure.
      TRY THIS STUFF!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2012

      Hey I just wanted to let you know that I saw this on pinterest and i took it a step further. I have also added a link to your post on my blog. Thanks for this! It's awesome! kakiemurray.blogspot.com

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2012

      I just made this up & used it in my shower!!! It worked absolutely GREAT!!!! I will always use this for the bathroom. I think it can use just a little less Dawn (but that's just my opinion!). This is a wonderful recipe. Thanks so much for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2012

      Tried this today on both bathroom glass shower doors. It worked! One application removed all of the soap scum off the shower doors. Thanks for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2012

      I absolutely love this stuff! Not only does it work beautifully, leaving my tub, sink and faucets clean and sparkling, but the fumes (what little there is) are very tolerable. Where hard water deposits settle around my faucets, all I need do is spray them with this, let it sit for a few minutes, then brush with an old toothbrush and they look like new. I really can't say enough good things about this wonderful cleaner. It's perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2012

      Woohooo......worked great! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2012

      I tried this some time ago, after a friend e-mailed the recipe. I agree...no more harsh chemical stuff for me. Not only does this work better, I don't have to keep my toddler away from the bathroom after I clean (to keep her away from the fumes). I was skeptical at first, but now I'm sold!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2012

      If I had more recipes like this, my husband would think I'd hired a maid! Works great!! My home is new, floor is textured, and let me tell ya'll soap scum loves us. Age on plumbing doesn't discriminate. This was the best thing I'd ever used in this house and will be the only thing from now on. I need something now for ceramic tile on my floors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2012

      This cleaner works well, but the vinegar stink is overwhelming!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2012

      I was wondering if there have been different results for people living in hard water or soft water areas?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2012

      Great recipe...thanks for sharing.... I just tried my own home made cleaning products. I have tried to clean shower and tub with using vinegar add 2 tbsp lemon juice, add 1 tbsp laundry detergent just apply and scrub it nicely and wash with clean water. http://www.emergencycleaningservicechicago.com/ | emergency air duct cleaning in chicago

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2012

      This stuff is as magical as a genie in a bottle!!! Wait a minute...genies supposedly grant three wishes, don't they? Then I wouldn't be bending over a grimy tub to begin with...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2012

      I have been using this for 4 months, I have lung problems and this has helped so much. I still use the vent on while cleaning, you can smell the vinegar however product works better than commercial brands and super easy to make! Definitely love this product!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2012

      This is the greatest. I have well water, so cleaning the tub requires some effort. With this, spray it on, wait and wipe it off and the scum is gone. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2012

      I've been looking for a GOOD shower cleaner. I think I've found it. Just mixed up a bottle. Tub and shower are sparkling. Smells a little of vinegar when you start but that goes away and I'd rather smell like a pickle, LOL, than a toxic waste dump. Mixed up fine , not too thick, rinses very easily. Everything shines....Very happy :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2012

      There a cottage that is used by extended family members that we use for one week every summer. During this year's visit I was horrified at the condition of the tub & showers. It looked like no one had even attempted to clean them since we were there last year! YUK! The well water is very hard & together with the soap scum had turned the surfaces a gross rusty orange color. No conventional tub & shower cleaner could even cut through this scummy stuff. I searched for a remedy on Pinterest & discovered this recipe. I mixed up a batch & sprayed down the tub & showers & let them sit for 15-20 min. With a minimal amount of scrubbing it ALL came off! They haven't looked this clean & shiny since they were new, which was more than 20 years ago! Thanks Bobbin! You saved the day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2012

      This recipe totally exceeded my expectations. I love what it does for the kiddie pools and I've tried a lot of different products. The bonus is that you don't have to worry about chemical exposure to your grass, on your skin and in the shower.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2012

      Sorry, but I don't see what all the hype is about. I would not describe this product as amazing! The smell is very strong, I would not recommend using this product if you suffer from asthma. I had to open my bathroom windows and the fumes gave me a headache. It did clean the surfaces, but did not work any better than products I have purchased at the store. Was very thick and sudsy, quite a pain in the behind to work with if you consider the amount of rinsing needed. I did follow the mixing directions and recipe exactly as stated. Dissapointed and sorry I wasted the ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2012

      saw this on pinterest as well as someone stating that the longer it sits, the better it works. well I let it sit overnight and by the next day it had dried so much that it was nearly impossible to get off...the gel-like liquid had completely hardened. Since I like to give "recipes" the benefit of the doubt, I tried this again about a week later and let it sit about an hour. I dont really see how people can just "wipe it off" because it's SO thick. I had to put in quite a bit of work to wipe it off and continually had to clean and re-wet the sponge I was using. even with all the work, I wasnt very impressed. my tub wasnt that dirty but I just wanted a "sparkling" look to it, but it really looked pretty much the same. oh, and the blue soap dried in the tile grout and wouldnt even come out when I used a toothbrush to scrub it :( really wanted this to work but was really disappointed. I would consider using it again because its cheap and nontoxic but the issue with it drying and sticking in the grout makes it not worth it. It seems like a lot of people with glass showers seemed to have the best luck with it, so maybe thats the key

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2012

      We moved into a house one year ago, and there was soap scum on the glass shower door. I have tried everything under the sun to get it off. Decided to give this a try...nothing. I heated the white vinegar, added the Dawn and mixed. Sprayed it on. Left for about 10 minutes and wiped off with a microfiber cloth and rinsed well. Looks absolutely no different now than it did before. This obviously worked for others, but didn't touch the soap scum in our shower. Oh, and the vinegar smell is really strong.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tub and Shower Magic

    Serving Size: 1 (358 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 75.1
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 17.8 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.3 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    liquid

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites