96 Reviews

The other reviews say it all. I used Kirkland (Costco brand) dish soap and it turned out amazing. If you are reading this and haven't tried it I ask you "What are you waiting for??"
I originally read this "recipe" a few weeks ago and finally just got around to trying it out tonight. I wish I hadn't waited. This stuff is awesome and the faint vinegar smell is refreshing. I'm 30 weeks pregnant and I was sooo happy to finally be able to get my shower clean they way I used to (I won't use harsh chemicals now).

You must try this!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lunabelle April 18, 2012

This stuff is amazing! "Tub & Shower Cleaner" has been the 'one' cleaner that I haven't been able to replace with a homemade version since I couldn't seem to find one that worked as well as the harsh commercial one I use. I'm so excited to have finally found a DIY formula that actually works on my shower walls/doors! Thank you for sharing this! :)

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsBeckaroo November 30, 2011

Took the scum off the sides of our shower. I just let it sit for about 30 minutes. Now we always have some on hand!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tonythurston51 September 11, 2011

I found this on Pinterest. This stuff is great! I used green palmolive (ultra original) instead, and it works great, the smell was wonderful couldnt tell that it had vinegar at all. My tub is pretty clean, so easy to scrub. I give it a 10.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mhadar March 22, 2012

This is a great recipe! This really worked well on soap scum on my glass shower doors. I'll use this a lot. Thanks Bobbin for sharing. Made for I Recommend Tag.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme May 13, 2011

I found this on Pinterest and used it just yesterday...I will never be without this mixture again! Everything in my shower (glass doors, grout, scummy drain) looks sparkling new. I love that the smell isn't overpowering and all I had to do was wipe and rinse. Thank you!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MRSKB January 05, 2012

Yep, this is amazing stuff, it works wonderfully on my glass shower door. Yay! Unfortunately, it worked a little too hard on my sink's drain. What was once a nice antiqued looking oil rubbed bronze finish now has areas of bright shiny copper here and there. It's like some of the finish just melted off. Thank goodness I hadn't applied it to the handles and faucet.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LauraLeeBella May 23, 2012

Now I don't know how I could screw up a recipe this simple but it literally did NOTHING to clean my bathtub and shower stall. I did use Dawn dish detergent and I heated the vinegar. Nothing. My shower/tub isn't new but it isn't ancient either. I'll keep looking.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HisPixie April 11, 2012

To the gal who asked about using a different dishsoap: I used Joy ultra. My result was a cleaner that was more trouble than it was worth. It would not "soak" in as others have suggested but instead kinda gummed up on the shower wall and was a pain to get off. On the faucets, yes, it did remove lime build up but not water spots. If you use joy, you will have better luck with 1 cup of vinegar, 1/2 cup of water, 1/2 cup joy. It's just too thick. Remember that many of our detergents today are concentrated and that is a detail not mentioned in any post thusfar. I will post again when I have tried it with Dawn and will write a more comprehensive review.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momn8r January 30, 2012

Has anyone tried this with something other than Dawn?

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShawnCPA January 23, 2012
Tub and Shower Magic