Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tub and Shower Magic Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tub and Shower Magic

    Average Rating:

    90 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 90

    Sort by:

    • on January 30, 2012

      If by chance there are too many suds when rinsing out...sprinkle a bit of salt on them. They will dissappear immediately.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2011

      I found this on Pinterest. This stuff is AMAZING! I used a little less Dawn because there was just too many suds. Leave it sit for a few minutes and no scrubbing is required. My tub is so clean and sparkly now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2011

      This is surprisingly super for removing soap scum off of faucets and bathtubs. It helped shine the faucets and got rid of the stuff that I normally have to scrub and scrub from the corners of the tub. I love how it makes the bathroom smell fresh and clean too and not like chemicals. Definitely a keeper for my cleaning routine from now on. Found in the I Recommend tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2012

      I just recently started using this and find it is awesome! I own a cleaning service and I am always looking for inexpensive cleaning products that do their job. Here is a tip that I do with this. I purchased a small 4.5 qt size handheld garden sprayer. After heating the vinegar, I pour it into the sprayer bottle and add the Dawn. Then pump up the bottle and you have a continuous spray instead of constantly pumping a trigger. I have some arthritis and this is so much easier plus you get that light steady mist that covers evenly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2011

      This stuff IS magic- it is AMAZING!! I have an older bathtub and usually have to scrub and scrub to remove the deposits. But with this I literally wipe away dirt and soap scum with nothing more than a wash cloth. And the blue color lets you know exactly what you still have left to clean. This will save me hours of cleaning. Thank you Bobbin! [Made for the All You Can Cook special]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2011

      I really like this...as other reviewers stated, the scent is so much easier to take than yucky-chemically stuff...as I get older I tend to get rash and woozy from harsh household cleaning products &I had just about completely decided to give up on cleaning altogether-lol- this recipe may just make me have to take up the past-time again ;)- I jest a bit...it really does a great job on cleaning ( I use it for sink, tub and potty too & in the kitchen and laundry sinks- great "scum" remover), is a bit healthier and a $ saver too!!! thanks for the share- I passed the idea to my sis and mom...reviewed for "I Recommend..."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2011

      Love it! I used 7th Generation dish soap and it worked great.I still have some soap scum left ao I am going to try it again with the Dawn to see if there is a defference. Either way it worked so much better than me scrubbing for hours with a magic eraser! Oh, it left the fixtures extra shiney!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2012

      Was surprised how well this worked. My glass shower doors are horrible and we've tried everything including the most caustic cleaners and elbow grease. While they're not pristine after one use, I can see a definite improvement and hope over time and use it will improve. I went to town on a couple of test spots with a scrub brush and can see a difference, that's never happened with other cleaners. Doesnt take much to be effective. Smell isn't bad, slight vinegar odor but not like commercial chemicals that eat away your nasal passages. One note for people finding this difficult to rinse: I assume this calls for classic Dawn, not the newer ultra concentrated versions. I found a 14oz bottle at Walmart for 98 cents. This does make the shower floor very slippery so be careful. Loved this on my granite kitchen sink as well. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2011

      This stuff is amazing! "Tub & Shower Cleaner" has been the 'one' cleaner that I haven't been able to replace with a homemade version since I couldn't seem to find one that worked as well as the harsh commercial one I use. I'm so excited to have finally found a DIY formula that actually works on my shower walls/doors! Thank you for sharing this! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2011

      Took the scum off the sides of our shower. I just let it sit for about 30 minutes. Now we always have some on hand!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2012

      The other reviews say it all. I used Kirkland (Costco brand) dish soap and it turned out amazing. If you are reading this and haven't tried it I ask you "What are you waiting for??"
      I originally read this "recipe" a few weeks ago and finally just got around to trying it out tonight. I wish I hadn't waited. This stuff is awesome and the faint vinegar smell is refreshing. I'm 30 weeks pregnant and I was sooo happy to finally be able to get my shower clean they way I used to (I won't use harsh chemicals now).

      You must try this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2012

      I found this on Pinterest. This stuff is great! I used green palmolive (ultra original) instead, and it works great, the smell was wonderful couldnt tell that it had vinegar at all. My tub is pretty clean, so easy to scrub. I give it a 10.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2011

      This is a great recipe! This really worked well on soap scum on my glass shower doors. I'll use this a lot. Thanks Bobbin for sharing. Made for I Recommend Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2011

      This works great on getting rid of soap scum! I have ceramic tile bathtubs....yes they are made of pieces of tile with grout! The whole tub, not just the walls! This didn't get rid of stains on the grout, but it did work wonderfully on getting rid of the soap scum. I also saw this in the Everyday Cheapskate newsletter, and had totally forgotten about it. Thanks for posting it to remind me of a good thing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2012

      Because this has been asked many, many times in Q & A, I want to say that you only heat this to mix it, you do NOT heat it every time you use it! Hope it works for you ; )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2012

      I found this on Pinterest and used it just yesterday...I will never be without this mixture again! Everything in my shower (glass doors, grout, scummy drain) looks sparkling new. I love that the smell isn't overpowering and all I had to do was wipe and rinse. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2012

      Now I don't know how I could screw up a recipe this simple but it literally did NOTHING to clean my bathtub and shower stall. I did use Dawn dish detergent and I heated the vinegar. Nothing. My shower/tub isn't new but it isn't ancient either. I'll keep looking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2012

      To the gal who asked about using a different dishsoap: I used Joy ultra. My result was a cleaner that was more trouble than it was worth. It would not "soak" in as others have suggested but instead kinda gummed up on the shower wall and was a pain to get off. On the faucets, yes, it did remove lime build up but not water spots. If you use joy, you will have better luck with 1 cup of vinegar, 1/2 cup of water, 1/2 cup joy. It's just too thick. Remember that many of our detergents today are concentrated and that is a detail not mentioned in any post thusfar. I will post again when I have tried it with Dawn and will write a more comprehensive review.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2012

      Has anyone tried this with something other than Dawn?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2012

      Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe. So affordable and it actually works. I can cut down on the myriad of cleaning products that live under my sink.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tub and Shower Magic

    Serving Size: 1 (358 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 75.1
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 17.8 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.3 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    liquid

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites