Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / TSr Version of Wienerschnitzel Chili Sauce by Todd Wilbur Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    TSr Version of Wienerschnitzel Chili Sauce by Todd Wilbur

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on August 05, 2002

      found problems in the cooking time. 30 minutes was not enough time to cook in the dried onion flakes or for the chili powder to cook into the sauce. Suggestion is to add the chili powder into the beef after it is brown and let simmer a minute or two. the oils will help to make the chili power blend better into the sauce. Also I boosted up the beef flavor by adding a teaspoon of "BETTER THAN BOUILLION" paste. I simmered the sauce for an hour and let set overnight to marry the flavors. It is pretty close, but now that I have an idea I will try again. I know that I like the wienerschnitzel chili dogs and when in an area where there is a stand I have a couple for lunch of snack. In our area there is none to stop at. Tomorrow will try the sauce with dogs on my friends and get a real taste test. Robert from the Land Of Enchantment.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2003

      I have been making this chili sauce long before I even knew about ZAAR. I doen't know how close it is to the original recipe they were trying to clone....but to be honest....myself and the friends I have given this recipe to (at their request) doen't really care! It is just one great chili sauce and especially so the next day after it was made...!!! This definitely deserves a high rating.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2013

      My family enjoyed this with hotdogs and I tossed in a can of chili beans and enjoyed it for lunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2011

      A very good recipe that helped me perfect my own version of Weinerschnitzel chili. I found this one a little acidic and vinegary, due to the amount of tomato paste and vinegar. I submitted my own version of this recipe to the site, so check it out. Thank you Mysterygirl for putting me in the right direction.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2011

      Just made this and it's darn close to the real deal. I made it exactly like the recipe and it did not disappoint. Just one note and that's to cut the salt by half. Other than that yummy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2010

      Good start to something great! Went with 1 lb of hamberger and 3/4 lb sausage. Used chicken broth since I didn't have beef. Mustard instead of vinegar. Next time I'll brown the meat and add to broth then cut down the liquid, starch and flour about half. Not a bad beginning!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2010

      5 stars for ease and taste. I did alter the recipe a bit incorporating everyone's tips: added 1 1/2 tsp cumin, dash of cayenne, onion flakes and chili powder to the browned beef then simmered for a few minutes before continuing. Sub'd 1 T yellow mustard for vinegar and used 4 cups of water instead 6, adjusting the thickeners accordingly. I also tossed in a boullion cube for extra flavor. It came together in less than 30 minutes, was absolutely delicious. Thanks to many for the recipe and all of the suggestions!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2010

      I read all the reviews on this chili and decided to try it using the changes recommended by the reviewers. I add the 1 1/2 tsps of cumin and the pinch (1/4 tsp) of Cayenne. Also increased the salt to 1 1/2 tablespoons. My wife was cooking at the same time and I grabbed the 1/4 cup measure for the chili powder and added it to the dry ingredients and stirred them up only to discover I had used a third of a cup measure. I made the chili anyway and thanks to whoever entered this, I no longer need to worry about getting to DER wienerschnitzel.----PJ

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2009

      really good chili, but not Wienerschnitzel. I also tried them side by side. Something is missing. It's a real prominent flavor that goes right up the nose when you smell it. But I can't figure out what it is. Wish someone could! Also agree that more salt and cumin is better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2009

      Made exactly as written, I can only give this three stars. It really didn't taste much like Wienerschnitzel's chili sauce to me. In particular, it had a very strong vinegary bite to it and not enough of a spice bite. It did improve a bit after being refrigerated overnight, but was still too vinegary and still not "Wienerschnitzel." So today, after sitting in the frig two nights, I pulled it out, put it back on the stove and added 1-1/2 teaspoons of cumin and a pinch of cayenne. NOW we're talking. Still not "exact" but really, really close.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2008

      Not 100% the same ( i get the sauce here in Denver) but pretty DARN close enough! I freeze this in smaller portions for chili dog nights or even over fries........ Mmmm Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      Very Close To The Real Deal Chili Sauce At Wienerschnitzel.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2007

      We made this and it was so delicous! I made it with turkey breast instead and served it on wheat buns with fat free american cheese and it was still amazing! Yummy recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2005

      excellent, had to thin mine slightly. but simply put the best coney sauce yet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2005

      They put mustard in the sauce, how much and what form I dont know, Im trying it now to test.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2005

      Pretty impressed myself. I was a bit skeptical before making it, but I'm eating it right now and it's pretty close. It's not quite exact, but it's close enough that it's definately worth making. I agree w/ the post above by Cam, in that the 2 tablespoons of salt is golden. The longer you let it simmer, the better as well. Definately a good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2005

      Good sauce but it did not taste like Wienerschnitzel at all. Not sure what can be done to fix it but I hope I figure it out because I really miss having it since I left Sacramento.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2004

      Let me tell you, I'm probably the biggest Wienerschnitzel fan in Oregon and I about flipped when they put one in Portland last year. Anyways, I got this recipe last night and made it today. I was very skeptical about it because I was raised on Wienerschnitzel chili dogs (my favorite food of all times). To my suprise it smelled, looked, and had the cosistancy of the chili (I worked there in high school just for the food). The only thing I found to make it exact is instead of 1 tablespoon salt, use 2. Then, I think it would rivel the Wienerschnitzel CEO. Too bad the rating scale here only goes up to five because, as a clone (or even the original) this is most certainly a big fat 10!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for TSr Version of Wienerschnitzel Chili Sauce by Todd Wilbur

    Serving Size: 1 (2187 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 239.8
     
    Calories from Fat 120
    50%
    Total Fat 13.4 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 4.9 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 52.1 mg
    17%
    Sodium 1533.2 mg
    63%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.9 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    12%
    Sugars 5.2 g
    21%
    Protein 15.8 g
    31%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Wondra Flour

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes