21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I received an email today with this information posted (I thought it could help someone!): --Tony Roma's Baby Back Ribs-- Begin the day before, by preheating the oven to 500 degrees (that's right). I normally use two racks of baby back pork ribs (they may be dry-rubbed or just use salt and pepper). Take a 2-piece broiling pan, pour about 1/2 inch of water in the lower portion and put the upper half, the part with the drain holes, in place. Now, lay the two racks of ribs side by side on top. Avoid overlapping them or hanging them off the edge of the pan. Form a tent and seal tightly around the perimeter of the broiler with extra heavy-duty aluminum foil. You may need to fold two sheets together to get enough width. It is crucial that the seal is tight! If the water evaporates, the end product will suffer (not to mention you and your guests). Also, make sure that the foil does not lay on the ribs. Bake for one hour, exactly. This essentially steams the ribs at high temp. Cool the ribs, still covered, remove them from the pan, then wrap tighly and chill overnight in the fridge. This step is important. The ribs must be cold for the next phase. You can reserve the liquid, which is basically rib stock, reduce/strain and add to the barbecue sauce if you like. It adds a unique, meaty flavor. Start your grill. I prefer charcoal, you may prefer wood or gas. You want a hot grill for this and you'll need to be attentive because timing is of the essence here. Place the racks on the grill and when they reach a golden, bubbly stage (3-4 min.), turn them and coat with a good barbecue sauce. Bullseye original works well, but I've found that any quality sauce will do fine, so use your favorite. After the other side has browned, turn and coat it. Cook the sauce into the ribs for a couple of minutes on each side, then remove, slice and serve. A word of caution: The ribs will be so tender that the meat will literally fall off the bone when you try to turn the racks on the grill. It is helpful to have two sets of large tongs and be very, very gentle.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
senseicheryl November 10, 2008

I used to work at a Tony Roma's. Ribs were dunked in a large container of liquid smoke, drained, put in large pans, covered tightly with foil and baked at relatively low temp 300-325 for an hour. Then cooled and kept in walk-in til needed, grilled up and sauced at the end to create that nice char flavor. Very simple method, not exactly a Pit master's dream but they do have good flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jjamend58_8136859 November 06, 2012

This recipe was created by Todd Wilbur for his book "Top Secret Restaurant Recipes" (Penguin/Putnam) www.TopSecretRecipes.com

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tsrweb March 28, 2011

These were awesome!!! Best ribs we've ever had! I took the advice of a couple of reviews. After saucing I let them sit in the fridge for a couple hours, then sauced them again and put them in the oven at 275 for 3 hours. The meat was so tender it was almost falling off the bone. We sauced them again and transfered to the BBQ grill to caramelize the sauce. Yummm!!! Another thing...it didn't specify what vinegar to use, so I used Apple Cider Vinegar instead of plain white and it was awesome just the way it was. Happy cooking!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelley.arcticgirl January 25, 2008

This was good and so easy to fix. My DH doesn't like barbeque sauce, but loved this. My DD also loved it. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie Lea April 26, 2010

I have never eaten at Tony Roma's so cannot comment on the taste, however the sauce was OK but the ribs were semi moist to dry, if that makes sense. Other than cooking a 2 1/2 pound rack, I followed the recipe to the letter and baked for 2 hours and 15 minutes. Sorry this didn't work for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Papa D 1946-2012 February 11, 2010

Awesome recipe. The meat was falling off the bone tender and very juicy. It has been so long since I have been at Tony Roma's that I really can't compare. I will make them again. No complaints at this table. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaylaV December 13, 2009

Wow these are wonderful and if I remember correctly, very close to the real deal!!! I made this for one rack of baby back ribs, so cut the sauce in half. I followed as written, except I cooked the ribs in a foil pan, which I covered with foil, and added water, maybe 1/4 inch, to help keep the ribs moist. Then after cooking 2 hours I took them out and placed them on the grill for final saucing and caramelizing!! Thanks for sharing the recipe!! Made for Adopt A Tag 09 Event!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 September 06, 2009

These were so good! The howmemade BBQ is just perfect with these ribs. After removing from the oven, we put these on the grill and coated with sauce again to give it a good BBQ taste. The meat was so tender and practically falling off the bones.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginny Sue August 22, 2009

Excellent. At first I thought the sauce was going to be too vinegary, but it turned out perfect just as written. I didn't cover these in the oven and the sauce caramelized very nicely. Baked at 275 degrees F for 3 hours turning half way through and applying more sauce and they were very moist and fall off the bone tender. Thanks Swede16tc for sharing. Made for Iron Chef Tag Game. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ August 16, 2009
TSR Version of Tony Roma's Baby Back Ribs by Todd Wilbur