Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Slow-Cooker Favorites

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    52 Low-and-Slow Meals
    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    Try Potatoes, Pizza or Cake
    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Effortless One-Pot Treats
    You are in: Home / Recipes / TSR Version of T.G.I. Friday's Black Bean Soup by Todd Wilbur Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    TSR Version of T.G.I. Friday's Black Bean Soup by Todd Wilbur

    Average Rating:

    250 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 250

    Sort by:

    • on April 24, 2010

      This turned out great. I did things a little different then the recipe. I used 1lb of dry beans that I simmered for 2 hours then used just like canned beans. I also added 1 lb of cooked chicken breast. Very nice recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2011

      YUM YUM YUM!!!! Did a few things a little different but overall kept the recipe as is. I added more veggie's (I love the chunks of vegetables!), added lime juice to the pureed black bean mixture and added one can of petite diced tomatoes. My roommate and I absolutely loved this! It will be a new staple in our house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2010

      I did make several changes based on what we like/what I had on hand, but we really enjoyed this. I did not have celery or carrot, so I omitted them and used extra onion and green pepper. I used vegetable broth to keep it vegetarian, and I have never used liquid smoke so did not have any, but I added extra cumin. It was a very thick soup, but had great flavor and I will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2011

      Oh Man was this good! I've never had the TGI Friday's version of this, so this is my standard. Didn't stray from the recipe one ingredient. I went the crockpot way and Only thing I added were tortilla strips. Crock-pot is just to easy. Outstanding dish! I can impress with the dish. Definitely will be making again! P'rciate cha!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2012

      Whole family enjoyed this. I simmered in the crockpot for at least 2 hours. It was really watery when I removed the lid so I turned up the heat and simmered a bit longer, without the lid. It was a perfect consistency. I served it over white rice and offered chopped onion (didn't have green onion but the regular tasted great with it), grated cheese and sour cream as condiments. Thank you for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2011

      Yummy! I made this as written, but only pureed about 2/3 of the beans. This has great flavor. Don't skip the cider vinegar or the hickory smoke flavor. They are key ingredients. Thanx for sharing !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2011

      I only made half a recipe but wish I made the whole thing. Very warm and comforting on a dreary,
      rainy, winter day. I'm trying to save the leftovers to take to work tomorrow but the bowl in the fridge is calling my name! Thanks for a great recipe Little Bee.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      delish! you do not need to cook vegetables in oil though...lighten it up....just soften them in chicken broth.......2 percent or fat free cheese and light or fat free sour cream....excellent recipe, thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2012

      After making this soup, I wanted to make it a bit heartier, plus I thought the soup didn't have enough whole black beans. With that being said, I also noticed I ran out of canned black beans, so I ended up adding a can of pinto and a can of soy beans, plus I added 2 cups of frozen corn kernels. Since I added the corn and more beans, I found I only needed to simmer the soup for 30 minutes for it to thicken up. I did want to mention... when saute'ing the vegetables in oil, I did use 2-1/2 tablespoons, plus I added a bit more carrots (2/3's cup). I saute'd the vegetables for 9 minutes before adding the garlic, and after adding the garlic, I only saute'd it for 1 more minute. I enjoyed this soup topped with shredded sharp cheddar cheese and sour cream. I do think by adding the hickory flavored liquid smoke, it gave the soup lots of flavor. My husband and I enjoyed this soup, and I will make this again, but with the modifications I made. Little Bee, thanks for sharing the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2012

      I bought the Todd Wilbur Top Secret Restaurant Recipes book for this recipe alone! My wife and I love this soup and were very sad to see the last time we went to Friday's that it was no longer on the menu :( (Good thing we have this recipe!) Have made many times and wouldn't change a thing. Hands down the best black bean soup recipe and one of our top 5 soups of all time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2011

      I made this recipe on the stovetop & actually skipped the whole pureeing step altogether. I did not have liquid smoke, but did have a smoked ham hock. I debated back and forth about adding it to the pot and I'm glad that I finally did put it in. Wow, everyone raved about it. The baby ate it, my 6 year old loved it and my hubby said to save the recipe! We finished it with a bit of sour cream which really complimented it nicely. My 6 year old also "scooped" hers with corn chips. The only other addition to the original recipe is that I added a leftover mashed up baked sweet potato & 1/2 cup quick cooking barley to the pot about 10 minutes before it was ready to serve and I simmered it for at least an hour prior to that. (I mostly did this because I only had 2 cans of black beans and 1 can dark kidney beans, this made up for at least one can of beans). Thanks for sharing, it was a great one dish meal on a cold night, served with cornbread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2011

      Left out the celery for personal preference and replaced 1 can of the black beans with a can of pintos with jalapeno peppers. Used 1 mini orange and 1 mini yellow bell peppers in place of the green bells and did not measure the onion, just chopped one up in the mini processor, along with the bell peppers. Great flavor. Next time, may roast the onion, garlic and bells instead of sweating, just for fun. Have tasted and love the flavor; now, if it just thickens a bit. . . Update: did not get as thick as we like, so cooked and added some brown lentils. Seriously yummy stuff here; served with the Oatmeal and Brown Sugar Bread found on this site.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2011

      I love this recipe! The only thing different is to sub. with veg stock to make it vegetarian.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2011

      This is very good. I made exactly as stated. There are not many recipes I can try to recreate that I can say that As my sense of taste is diminished I usually have to compensate by changing a recipe. and when I rate it I have to use my changes as otherwise it is not fare to the creator as sometimes I want to give a low rating when hundreds of others loved I know it is just my taste buds speaking and not fair to the cook. But this one is exceptional.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2012

      TERRIFIC is all we can say,
      Remember TGIF's...this soup MADE MY DAY!
      Quick, delicious, healthy too!
      HIGHLY recommended to you too!
      For those in Australia, found black beans at Asian Grocery, TRUE!...vacuumed packed or dry, is up to YOU!
      UPDATE: Made this again today! Got the WHOO HOO again is what I can say!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2012

      Yum! Even my pick 9 year old loved this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2012

      I usually never cook with black beans but bought one tin just to try it once.

      Well, one can was not enough for this soup and I added one can of chick peas but otherwise followed the recipe.

      The taste was super and I will make it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2012

      Delicious soup! I love all the added veggies in the background and the black beans were great (should eat them more often.) I subbed Knorr's Homestyle Stock for the chicken stock (as I was out) and just made up the rest with some leftover beef stock in the fridge. The cayenne proved too much for my youngest (7yo), but that was somewhat expected. I maybe could have decreased the cayenne by a tiny amount, but not by much as I found it great as is. I forgot that I had the green onions and sour cream, but honestly, it wasn't missed and was great with a sprinkling of cheese alone. Oh, and it was absolutely fantastic for lunch the next day, served over rice! Thanks so much for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2011

      Wow..so good...I followed the recipe exactly...However, I didn't have any sour cream but it is still soooooo delicious..thanks for posting it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2011

      Super delicious, I used the crock pot method. I followed the directions exactly. The only thing was I had to add 2 TBS. cornstarch/water to thicken it. Otherwise, it was delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 13

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for TSR Version of T.G.I. Friday's Black Bean Soup by Todd Wilbur

    Serving Size: 1 (428 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 392.4
     
    Calories from Fat 70
    17%
    Total Fat 7.8 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 4.8 mg
    1%
    Sodium 458.9 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 59.3 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 19.1 g
    76%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 22.9 g
    45%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    hickory liquid smoke

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes