136 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

For anyone who has had a Starbucks scone lately, it is a travesty that this recipe tries to associate itself with it. At Starbucks, I end up with dry, tasteless scones. This was flavorful and tender.

I followed the suggestions of many others and only made the spice glaze (adding vanilla to it) and doubled the spices in the scone recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sh1mm3r November 07, 2010

I'm not sure, but I needed a LOT more flour than 2 cups. I could just tell it was too soft to be able to work with, so, I kept adding flour (chose self-rising flour when I had to add more) in the bowl, then also I kneeded a bit more flour while it was on the cutting board.

I also took one of the suggestions to add pumpkin to the spice glaze. I replaced a tablespoon of milk with a tablespoon of pumpkin for the spice glaze.

Then... it all came out great... yummy scones! You just have to go with your instinct with the dough if you need to add more flour or not.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jazzywyvern October 29, 2010

I actually like these MORE than Starbucks and I love their pumpkin scones! I was missing a few ingredients so I had to substitute vanilla soy milk for the half and half and pumpkin pie filling for the pumpkin puree and all of the spices. I decreased the sugar from 7 Tbsp. to 4 Tbsp. to allow for the sugar in the pumpkin pie filling and they turned out great! Like another reviewer, I used 1 Tbsp. of pumpkin pie filling in the spiced icing to make up for the fact that I had no spices. This icing was so tasty I used it as the over all glaze and drizzled the plain white glaze on top. Next time I am looking forward to being more prepared and following the recipe exactly! Two thumbs WAY up!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jengun1 October 29, 2010

I just made these for the first time and they were WONDERFUL. The dough and frosting were the perfect consistancy and the flavor was OUTSTANDING!!! This receipe will become a part of our family fall traditions for years to come!!! Thanks so much for sharing!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andy&Lacey October 28, 2010

I followed the recipe perfectly but when I went to shape them they were very sticky and gummy...I had to throw the dough away!!! From now on, I'll buy these scones from Starbucks and save the disaster for someone else!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
acucuzza October 23, 2010

These were amazing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 October 23, 2010

I love these. Quick, easy recipe. The results turn out even better than Starbucks, according to the roommate and the boyfriend. I used both glazes and I used Coffee-Mate Italian Sweet Cream instead of milk for both the scones and the glaze and it turned out awesome. I also whisked about a tsp of pumpkin into the spice glaze for color and flavor. Mmmm!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cynna October 17, 2010

Delicious! Moist and flavorful with just the right amount of spice and sweetness. I omitted the white glaze and just did a spice glaze immediately after the scones came out of the oven-it coated the tops of the scones just enough and hardened into a delicious glaze. I will definitely make these again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ceg8908 October 09, 2010

I'm happy to say I won't be going to Starbucks for pumpkin spice scones anymore. Quite a breeze to make, I made some changes but they still tasted like Starbucks. YUMMY
http://cooksbookshelf.blogspot.com/

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
julestim23 September 25, 2010

I have to give this recipe 5 stars!!! They were fantastic, great flavor and pretty easy recipe to do. My mom-in-law and I made them together, we wanted ours to have a stronger pumpkin flavor, so we added another 1/2 cup of pumpkin, then needed to add another 1/2 cup of flour and another 1/4 cup of sugar. We also made our spiced glaze a LOT stronger too, to our liking ;) Great recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Liehr Family Leader September 14, 2010
TSR Version of Starbucks Pumpkin Scones by Todd Wilbur