136 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I had these when my SIL made them, and tonight I made them on my own. I did make them smaller in size, added an extra teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice to the mix, and used plain icing with a little bit of pumpkin pie spice for the second icing. I was being lazy, but it worked! I love these, and I will make them often during the fall. The hardest part for me was dealing with the dough, but the out come is worth the trouble.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginny Ax October 22, 2011

These were absolutely delicious, made exactly as the ingrediants stated. The only change I made was to the size. I made two 9 inch rectangles then cut them, so basically they were half the size, which were the perfect size.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DelaineLovesFood October 15, 2011

Just wonderful. Family loved them! Only one tweak to the recipe, I didn't have half and half on hand so I use flavored coffee creamer. Awesome.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cbozflorida October 08, 2011

These scones have a great "fall" taste - be sure to use quality spices, though, because they will make or break that great flavor! Also made sure not to over-mix the dough (which I have a predisposition to do) so that the scones would remain flaky. I made the recipe exactly as written; although I did cut each scone into two before baking (without fully separating) to make "mini" scones. After I took them out of the oven, I ran my knife through the cut scone once more to fully separate them while cooling. The frosting and drizzle make them truly decadent! Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Owned by a Westie October 01, 2011

Your in for a real treat when you make these. They are delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wholelottagall September 06, 2011

I doubled the spices, and they were absolutely awesome. We are big fans of the Starbucks pumpkin scones, and they as close as it gets to the real thing. My husband tried them and asked if I had made sure to get multiple copies, so as not to loose it. He even suggested putting it in a vault.They are definitely going in my favorites cookbook.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marthavila July 14, 2011

Wonderful on a cold spring day in Mn, they were perfect, thought of making Blueberry Lemon scones then seen this recipe...wish I would have doubled it...they are moist, and delicious...I did use 1/2 tsp of Pumpkin pie spice, about 1/4 tsp of ginger...and of course 1 tsp cinnamon instead of the called for spices.....made a maple flavored glaze with pd sugar, maple flavoring, and cream...so can not comment on the glaze...perfect will use this recipe again especially for a fall tea...thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hearthopejoy April 14, 2011

This is a very easy to throw together recipe!! I used the food processor for the dry ingredients (adding butter was a breeze) then I used the KA with the dough hook to incorporate the wet and dry. Very quick! These are treats to take to work this morning, Thank you for posting! (I doubled the recipe and make small triangles..at least 2 dozen great for a crowd!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katie in the UP April 08, 2011

Not good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baking Girl March 04, 2011

Wow!! Really, really delicious! My kids were worried when they saw me making these instead of pancakes, but they all loved them too. Great, light, fluffy, biscuity texture! One of my daughters called them, "decadent". Perfect amount of non-sweet bread to sweet glaze. I had some leftover pumpkin in the freezer from when I made pumpkin bread earlier in the season, and this was perfect to use it up. I don't usually change recipes, but because I didn't have cloves (and I wanted them TODAY), I used 1 tsp. of pumpkin pie spice, and added 1/4 tsp. cinnamon, and 1/4 tsp. nutmeg to that. In the end, I don't know if that means I was doubling the spices (like some people suggested) or not, but the flavor was lovely. As others suggested, I didn't make the white glaze. Even the spice glaze tasted too powdered sugary to me on its own, so I added a little vanilla and melted butter (to taste) just to give it some more dimension. Turned out delicious. Thanks so much for this yummy recipe. I've only had the Starbuck's version once, so I didn't have much to go by. But I'd be proud to serve these to anyone.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gexfamily_11397016 January 05, 2011
TSR Version of Starbucks Pumpkin Scones by Todd Wilbur