13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yummy. I made the basic recipe and liked it better than Starbucks because it was not as sweet as theirs (although adding the syrups for the snickers version would certainly add sweetness). It tastes quite a bit like what my Grandma used to stir up for us on her stove top many years ago. She always added a pinch of salt to enhance the flavor. The microwave instructions make it quick and easy. I'll be teaching my teens to stir this together. That will save us from some of the chemicals in those pre-packaged cocoa drinks and from the high prices at Starbucks. Thanks JPerez.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Acerast January 14, 2009

Great hot chocolate! Better than Starbucks because I can make it at home!!!! Love it! I used Soy Milk (Lactose intolerant) and Splenda. It was still delicious! Made for Comfort Cafe 09.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kittycatmom January 06, 2009

Very good...sometimes I melt a dark chocolate square and stir in...nice and rich!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ethan's Mom December 29, 2007

I made these as a treat for my family. I didn't have 1/2and1/2 so I used the milk in my fridge. I'm not a fan of ginger so I used more nutmeg and cinnamon, and I subbed out half the white sugar for brown. I normally hate cake scones these however rocked!!! Very very moist tons of flavor without being over powering. Oh and for our family this recipe makes 12 scones. I will be making these time and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChelleBell07 May 12, 2015

This recipe was created by Todd Wilbur for his book "Top Secret Recipes Unlocked" www.TopSecretRecipes.com

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
M.Baca September 30, 2013

Love this! thanks for a great,easy,and cheap hot chocolate recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
taratee January 23, 2011

Easy, chocolaty, delicious; the vanilla and whipped cream make it. A warming bedtime treat for a winter evening. Made for Comfort Cafe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn January 15, 2010

I go back to this recipe all the time. Love it- Simple and delicious with ingredients I can find in the cupboard any time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary Ellen #3 November 12, 2009

Hi JPerez! First, I would like to thank you for your great review of my Baked Beans Don't Get Any Better Than This. I am so glad you enjoyed them. To show my appreciation, I decided to make one of YOUR recipes. WOW...am I glad I did. We absolutely LOVED this hot chocolate. It has been pretty cold here and it really hit the spot. Quick and easy too. Will be making this over and over again,. Thanks for sharing it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Merlot October 01, 2009

Tastes just like Starbucks! Now I don't have to pay their high prices. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aaebrh December 03, 2008
TSR Version of Starbucks Hot Chocolate by Todd Wilbur