20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good- with a couple tweeks. I first made them for my boyfriend after the holiday season ended and Starbucks stopped carrying them. I have been making them for him ever since, he doesnt even want the ones from Starbucks anymore. I made some tweeks to the frosting, I used 8oz of cream cheese and 1 1/2 cups of powdered sugar, everything else I kept the same.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lisalouk01 May 16, 2010

I started making this same recipe a couple of years ago and have made it about 6 or 7 times now. I now make a few adjustments after having compared it to the actual Starbuck's version several times. This recipe is great exactly the way it is posted as well! I will just mention the changes in case it can benefit someone else: I cut down the cranberries in the cake to 1/2 a cup and I add about 1/3 cup of finely chopped candied ginger. It punches up the ginger flavour a bit. I use a small cookie sheet (10 X 15) so they come out not quite as high - more like a bar. Someone had mentioned the frosting being sweet. You can cut the icing sugar by about half a cup and added some grated lemon rind - works great. The only other thing I changed was to drizzle melted white chocolate (Lindt) on top instead of icing, which is what you'll find on a Starbuck's bar. This is a delicious and visually appealing recipe and is a hit every time!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just Call Me Martha February 03, 2007

I really, really wanted to like these because I LOVE the cranberry bliss bars at Starbucks. Unfortunately, they were so sweet I couldn't even finish one. The frosting is definitely off. I think the original tastes like it has a lot more cream cheese or something. I would definitely use less powdered sugar next time. But, for now, I think I'll stick with Starbucks. Oh well, it was worth a try!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky Clover November 26, 2011

After reading the reviews, these are my tweaks. These are outstanding!! I used 1 tsp orange oil instead of extract. Used 1 c white chips, and 1/4 cup chopped crystalized ginger, and no powdered ginger. I also added the 1 1/2 tsp baking powder that I saw in Todd Wilbur's recipe. Used a little chopped ginger in the frosting also, along with the orange oil. These are great!!!! Making my second batch for Christmas gifts. If I kept them around, I'd eat the whole pan!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cm107 December 22, 2010

These were tasty. As suggested by other reviewers, I baked them in a larger pan (10x15) and let them get pretty golden brown on top before removing from oven. They were still pretty cakey, but very good. I used the white chips and they worked fine, did not melt in. Just used the melted white chocolate for the top and then sprinkled with the cranberries but they didn't stick too well, so I will do that differently next time. Very pretty and a nice flavor, will make again. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Messy44 December 06, 2009

Honestly, these are not that close too the Starbucks version. They are OK, but both the cake/bar part and the frosting are different. I don't think I will make them again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
clevine November 29, 2009

We just bought Cranberry Bliss from Starbuck's and we compared it side-by-side with this recipe which we baked two days ago. The cake portion tastes EXACTLY like the Starbuck's version, but this recipe's frosting is much sweeter and not as cream cheese flavored as the Starbuck's version. Even the Starbuck's frosting is textured almost like cream cheese, not sugary. So I would recommend trying about 1 cup of powdered sugar with 8 ounces of cream cheese, and perhaps a little vanilla extract. We like the less sweeter, original Starbuck's version better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Califroses January 02, 2009

THRILLED to have found this recipe!! We have loved picking them up at Starbucks but you can only find them during the holiday season. Now we can make them year round! I made them for a New Years Day dinner and they were a big hit! I used white chocolate chips and you definitely knew they were in there! I used the orange extract instead of vanilla and lemon juice which gave it a very unique 'behind the scenes' flavor! Yummy recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gleebird January 02, 2008

I just had to try these and was not disappointed. They got rave reviews by everyone who tried them. I will definately make these again. I used melted white chocolate for the icing, but did the rest of the recipe as written. Thanks NcMysteryShopper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SisterGoldenHair January 02, 2008

I started making these last year, having found the recipe in a Todd Wilbur cookbook. After making them 5 times now, always with great success, I decided to post them, but of course they were already here! I just love these. In our opinion, they are better than Starbucks. They are always a hit at holiday gatherings. They are my new Christmas tradition. Thanks for saving me the trouble of posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bricookie55 December 02, 2007
TSR Version of Starbucks Cranberry Bliss Bars by Todd Wilbur