Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / TSR Version of Red Lobster Cheddar Bay Biscuits by Todd Wilbur Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    TSR Version of Red Lobster Cheddar Bay Biscuits by Todd Wilbur

    Average Rating:

    158 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 158

    Sort by:

    • on July 10, 2012

      I have been making cheddar bay biscuits for a few years now, but this is absolutely THE best I have ever used! The cold butter really does the trick, making for fluffy, soft biscuits. I freeze the half stick before chopping, and leave it in the freezer even after chopped, until i've mixed the cheese with the garlic powder andd bisquick. I try to chop it into thin slices and then slice those for very small pieces of frozen butter. I mix them in just before the milk, making sure not too many are sticking together. I find that this helps even out the consistency of the moisture pockets the butter provides, making for the perfect texture. Everyone loves these and they hardly last long at all when I make them. I am always asked for the recipe and this is the one I provide.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2011

      EXCELLENT!! My family thought they were better than Red Lobster's biscuits and I have to agree. I used slightly more butter by mistake and they couldn't have been better. So easy! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2011

      This is definitely the best of the dozens of attempts I've tried to copy this recipe. I couldn't even get the recipe from a very close friend who worked in the RL kitchen... This has helped my baked goods repertoire considerably, and even finally made my pastry-challenged cooking ability understand the subtle intricacies of the Southern biscuit. I also lightly froze the cheddar which kept it more visually distinct. Oh, and a wee bit over on the butter and cheese never hurt anyone... :) Tip: make sure your Bisquick is fresh.. I used the last of a 2-year-old imperial ton-sized box I'd bought from Sam's; the leavening does lose its punch over time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2011

      Awesome recipe! These are delicious. I usually have terrible luck with biscuits, but these are fool-proof. This recipe is a keeper for me. Thanks Heather'sKitchen for a great recipe. Made for Let's P-A-R-T-Y! ~~2011~~ tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2013

      OUTSTANDING! You did it! These are better than Red Lobster's. Thank you Heather. Simple and easy using good ole Bisquick, they couldn't be faster. <br/> I followed the recipe exactly and have made them over a dozen times over the past 2 months as my 26 year old well-educated handsome single son is 'addicted' to these and will happily devour half of them just out of the oven when he drops by. <br/>I do have 2 small suggestions, <br/>1) I would suggest to watch the biscuits carefully so that they do not over bake and over brown on either the top or bottom - it makes a huge difference. And I also find that spacing them very closely together on the bake sheet makes them even more tender. <br/>2) If y'all are a nice young woman looking to impress a suitor Southern style, just bake these up Honey. You just may get a proposal outta him....... ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2013

      Adding butter to the batter makes this recipe the best of the copycat recipes for these biscuits. They are richer and far more tender than the recipe that omits the butter. I use a good scoop so that they are uniform in size and they brown beautifully. We love garlic, so I use a full teaspoon instead of a 1/4 tsp. in mine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2013

      Just made these and they turned out great! I had to use 1% milk but they tasted exactly like Red Lobster ones!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2011

      What a great copycat! And also as being new to cooking, the trick of putting COLD butter in biscuits is a great little secret I'm glad to have! I've begun doing this in any biscuits I make and even cookies! It really does make anything more rich, fluffy and flavorful! Thank you very much for your post!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2013

      I read this yesterday and tried it that night it yielded about 15 biscuits and my family ate them all even the neighbor! Things I thought of were to oil my hands since it is easier to form the biscuits when using bisquick and also I may try them in cupcake pan for easy forming. The receipe is fantastic! Will be doing this for christmas dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2013

      This is a keeper. I just baked my first batch, and it came out great. I looked at the comments and followed their helpful hints. Didn't use salt. I added 1/4 teaspoon sugar, used 1 cup milk, baked the biscuits for about 13 minutes. Loved the way it turned out. Moist, fluffy, fantastic. Thanks for sharing this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2013

      These were spot on! Made as written except I used Jiffy mix as that was all I had DH loved them and could not believe how light they were.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2013

      These are ridiculously good! I told my husband I was rating these 5 stars and he said "give them 6". These are very buttery, and good. I am lazy, so threw all the dry ingredients in my kitchen aid, and then folded in the butter by hand, then added the milk mixed it until combined. I should add, I used the make your own Bisquick recipe on food.com. It's way cheaper and better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2013

      Can I just say I went to heaven and back!!!! Absolutely amazing....only recommendation double the brush on recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2012

      I wouldn't have bought the book if I knew the recipe is on this site, however I made some modifications to the way I make it. I add 1/2 cup more grated cheddar to the recipe. I take 3 to 4 large garlic cloves and blend them with the milk in the blender before adding to the recipe.

      I also use two cloves of freshly grated garlic in the butter smear. Sometimes I will add herbs like parsely or chives to the dough. They are always a crowd pleaser.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2011

      Of course, I love a good copycat. Ladies and Gentlemen, this is a GOOD COPYCAT. I've made it with regular milk and once with buttermilk ('cause that's all I had). Every time I make these bad boys, they don't last the day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      Extremely delicious! Followed the recipe to a T, but I did need to add a little bit more milk and I added the parsley to the dough mix instead of sprinkling on top. They baked up nicely and were so flavorful! Even refrigerated and warmed up in the microwave the next day (about 25-30 seconds) they are super moist still. This is a keeper and next time I make them I will see about experimenting with different types of cheeses (perhaps pepperjack or colby) and with whole wheat flour. Didn't have Bisquick around so I made my own from scratch. hehe (Super easy to do, all you need is baking powder, a little salt, and shortening, if you have that about.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2013

      Based on other reviews, I froze the butter, upped the garlic powder to 1tsp and added 1 tsp of Old Bay. Still, the garlicky flavor was very mild. Other than a little bit of spreading in the oven, the consistency was spot on - they were fluffy and delicious. They probably won't join the regular rotation only because I didn't feel very good about serving my loved ones the trans fats.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2013

      Very good recipe, but it really can't be considered a copycat. The original has Old Bay seasoning in it, hence the "Bay" in the name.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2013

      Well, this was rather unfortunate!!! This first time I decided to make these biscuits. I thought that it would be smart to make these biscuits as sort of a dry run, priorto making soup. Alright, I was home alone initially. After the biscuits were cooling, I started in on the soup.... I had no biscuits to speak of once the soup was ready!!!! The family had gobbled them up and had the audacity to ask, when was the next batch of biscuits going to be done..... I give up! Wonderful recipe. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2012

      This recipe NAILS it. Hands down, the best recreation of the biscuits I've ever made -- they taste darn near identical! Quintupled the recipe for my hubby's work potluck, which yielded about 4 dozen. They were the first thing to go, and 3 people asked for the recipe. Also, he didn't even need to tell anyone what they were; everyone who had been to Red Lobster said they tasted the same. I will never use another copycat recipe, this one is the best!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for TSR Version of Red Lobster Cheddar Bay Biscuits by Todd Wilbur

    Serving Size: 1 (704 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 283.9
     
    Calories from Fat 161
    56%
    Total Fat 17.9 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 9.3 g
    46%
    Cholesterol 36.2 mg
    12%
    Sodium 531.5 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.8 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 5.2 g
    21%
    Protein 6.7 g
    13%

    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites