Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / TSR Version of Popeyes Red Beans & Rice by Todd Wilbur Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    TSR Version of Popeyes Red Beans & Rice by Todd Wilbur

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on May 15, 2012

      A Popeye's is new in our town and I find every excuse to go get the rice and beans! So I found this recipe and immediately set out to make it. Well, I didn't have a 30 oz can of kidney beans, but I did have 15 1/2 oz cans of pink and black beans. Without delay I made the recipe with the pink and black; and I used smokey paprika because that is what I had. I LOVED THEM!!! I have since prepared them with kidney and used different pepper and fat combinations. My favorite is the pink/black bean combo, smokey paprika and the recipe exactly as written. Thank you so much!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2010

      yum!! I loved this....I will make again and again. very satisfying. Thanks for sharing Stacky5!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      I love Popeye's Red Beans and Rice so I thought I would give this recipe a try. It was very good, easy to make, and inexpensive. I will definitely make this one again. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      Very very very good! Very easy and best of all CHEAP to make! I made the beans from dry, not canned, and made this in the crockpot. Thanks for this great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2013

      Taste was great! Whole family knocked the whole serving down and some. Good stuff.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2013

    • on March 22, 2011

      This recipe was created by Todd Wilbur for his book entitled "More Top Secret Recipes" (Penguin/Putnam 1994)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2011

      NOT even close, my friends. I am a very experienced cook and an experienced PRB&R eater, and can tell you: the result of this recipe is not what you're seeking. Too peppery, not "smokY" enough, inadequate mouthfeel.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2010

      Tried this tonight... it was perfect! So yummy and very close to the original.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      Was good, but not Popeyes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2009

      Absolutely dusgusting recipe. Not even close to the real thing. I wasted two cans of beans and rice and spices on this. Stay away!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2009

      I made this dish along with Popeyes biscuit copycat recipe... This was very very good! I (who typically hates red beans and rice) ate a bowl myself! I browned some diced turkey sausage and put over rice and beans. Made as stated, but I added 1/2 tsp Accent and used 1 tsp black pepper. Wouldn't change anything.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2009

      I love this recipe! I could eat this every night. Seriously. I don't put white pepper, but black instead...I'm not a fan of the white pepper. Everything else is perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2008

      My husband absolutely loves Popeye's red beans and rice so I decided to make him some to go with his dinner tonight. He thought they tasted really good, and very close to Popeye's. He did say that I didn't mash up enough of the beans, though. Next time I will mash up at least half. I used the quick cooking rice as stated, but next time I will use regular rice as I don't think the quick cooking is nearly as good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      Made this for lunch today and it is awesome. I just luv popeye's red beans and rice and bless you stacy.Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe with us. This was made to honor our dear friend stacy and this recipe is highly recommended. Luv and miss you friend.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2008

      This red beans and rice dish was so good! I subbed regular rice for converted, decreased white pepper to 1/2 teaspoon ( 1 1/2 teaspoons sounds like a typo to me), increased paprika to scant 1/2 teaspoon. I don't know if this is close to Popeye's version as I've never eaten there. Regardless, with cornbread and my posted chard with bacon dressing the dish hit the spot. I want to mention that in Step #4 I stirred the beans on medium heat to avoid burning. I did not understand the directions in Step #5, but it didn't effect the outcome. Will be preparing again soon! In Memory of Stacky.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2008

    • on August 03, 2008

      As an Aussie I rely on this site to quench my Texan other halfs cravings and this one proved a real hit. I used the exact amounts stated and then added a little more zip to suit our tastes. The only thing I did differently was to cook rice in the rice cooker whist the beans were brewing instead of using the quick rice and then mixed the rice and beans together before serving as that is how Mr Manymanyplums wanted it. A very easy tasty side dish - thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2008

      I loved this and would have made it 5 stars, but 1 1/2 tsp. of white pepper was way too much. I like a little kick, but I would start with maybe 1/2 tsp. and go from there. Otherwise, I thought it was pretty close to Popeye's and was a great dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2007

      Not hard to make, tastes awesome, it was a little more spicy than popeyes- but it was the best I've ever had! UMMM will be making again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for TSR Version of Popeyes Red Beans & Rice by Todd Wilbur

    Serving Size: 1 (360 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 471.7
     
    Calories from Fat 165
    35%
    Total Fat 18.4 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 11.1 g
    55%
    Cholesterol 45.8 mg
    15%
    Sodium 707.4 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 63.5 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 12.5 g
    50%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 14.3 g
    28%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites