Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / TSR Version of Popeyes Famous Cajun Gravy by Todd Wilbur Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    TSR Version of Popeyes Famous Cajun Gravy by Todd Wilbur

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on May 06, 2013

      This was the closest clone recipe I have ever attempted. The person that rated this as bland must have made a mistake. <br/><br/>I made this exactly as the recipe directed. I then purchased some mashed potatoes and gravy from Popeye's and did a taste test. Extremely close. So close that without a side-by-side comparison you can't tell the difference. <br/><br/>Some suggestions to make it even closer. <br/><br/>Taste - this is slightly saltier, hotter and has less chicken flavor than Popeye's. I suggest using low sodium broth and salting to taste. Use ever so slightly less cayenne. Also add one or two tablespoons chicken base to up the chicken flavor.<br/><br/>Consistency - Popeye's gravy is thin. This recipe is even thinner as directed. I chose to up the simmer time in future attempts to get the desired consistency. <br/><br/>Wildcard - There is a subtle flavor in the original that I can't copy. I originally thought it was a shellfish base but I added some clam juice to a recipe and it wasn't that. I finally gave up without success.<br/><br/>Except for the wildcard flavor this is a fantastic recipe. I make extra and use it as my gravy with all chicken recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2011

      Really enjoyed this since had to so many gizzards made a big pot bagged

      it an froze it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2011

      I don't know if this is popeyes gravy but it was a good recipe. I had to add extra seasoning and salt to mines. I think I can go without the gizzards next time. I had a strong taste to it that I didn't like too much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      First off, this was not bland, but full of flavor and tasted like Popeyes gravy. Excellent over mashed potatoes. Glad to be able to make this wonderful gravy at home.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2009

      Bland.. I had to double the spices & green bell pepper, add 1/2 tsp white pepper, add 1/2 tsp cumin and add about 1/4 tsp chicken better than bullion to get this tasting somewhat close to the chain recipe. I'm pretty please with end result, but this recipe as is isn't the real deal even though I followed it to the T.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2008

      This gravy tasted exactly like that of Popeyes. I don't have potato masher but after simmering for 30 minutes, the meat are soft enough to be smashed with a fork. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2007

      I love Popeye's gravy and this copycat was right on the money. I followed the recipe precisely and got identical to resturant results. Instead of a using a potato masher to make the bits of meat very tiny, I removed the meat after browning and used a small tap chopper. It worked perfectly. Since I had to buy a whole package of chicken gizzards and pound of ground pork anyways, I made several more batches to freeze. I was able to double the quantities with no problems. In case you are not aware, Popeyes gravy is a bit on the thin side. My wife like a thicker gravy, so I used corn starch to thicken up a smaller portion. It was a very good variation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2007

      I LOVE Popeye's chicken and mashed potatoes, and was so happy to come across this recipe. This was pretty close to what I buy at the restaurant! I really liked that the seasonings weren't overwhelming, and everything balanced out really well. I didn't have any ground beef/pork thawed, so I left that out. I think that would contribute to give the recipe the depth of flavor that it seemed to be lacking- and the only reason this got 4 stars instead of 5. I will definitely make this again with the beef and pork combo, and may substitute additional beef or chicken broth for the water and adjust the salt accordingly. I didn't have the time for homemade mashed potatoes, and only had generic boxed mix on hand- I think that also had soemthing to do with it. Made this with some oven-fried chicken thighs that I sprinkled with Popeye's Cajun Sparkle Recipe #1806882 and some herbed corn on the cob. Made a great meal-thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for TSR Version of Popeyes Famous Cajun Gravy by Todd Wilbur

    Serving Size: 1 (1126 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 202.7
     
    Calories from Fat 98
    48%
    Total Fat 10.9 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 136.2 mg
    45%
    Sodium 1305.9 mg
    54%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.5 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 1.6 g
    6%
    Protein 15.6 g
    31%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ground pork

    ground pork

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes