9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Nice mix. I might try this on chicken. I've been told by someone that works there that they sprinkle a cajun seasoning on it, they dip it in a wet batter, they flour it, then they fry it. I might try this seasoning mix before I wet batter it

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sonic98 November 17, 2008

A bit too salty for me, but living in Sweden where there are no Popeye's, I can't really tell if they're close to the original. As for my own preference, I think I will take less salt and more cayenne or some other chile pepper next time. But a clear 4/5 from me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Thoorbear May 25, 2011

This recipe was created by Todd Wilbur for his book "Top Secret Recipes Unlocked" (Penguin/Putnam)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tsrweb March 23, 2011

Todd Wilbur is so great! Don't you love him? This is so close to the real deal!! I am going to start making jar fulls of this. I have no Popeye's near me anymore so now I have my "crack" back. This stuff is a drug..... I used to grab handfuls of it at the Popeye's at a rest stop somewhere near New Jersey off I95 and take it home and open all those packets put into a jar and use for frying chicken..... Now I can just make as much as I want without all the work. Thanks for posting here. Love it!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shawn C June 28, 2010

I have always loved popeyes cajun sparkle! This recipe is fantastic and my whole family loves it! We use it on lots of stuff. Give it a try!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
edchu89 February 01, 2010

We love Popeye Chicken and can't get it here so had to give this a try and was not disappointed. I doubled the recipe so we'd have it on hand and used on Ww Sticky Chicken (5 Points), yum, perfect. Thanks so much for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 May 12, 2008

This will dress up a lot of different food items, french fries, cheese sticks, chicken, fish, you name it. Try it on anything and see what I mean.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spiralchef June 27, 2007

DH is a sucker for Popeye's Cajun fries, so I figured I'd give this a try on our Oven French Fries (Oven French Fries) last night. We were in heaven! Very tasty, really zinged-up the fries. Was so good that we were swiping some fish and chicken nuggets through the seasoning. Thanks for posting a great recipe- we will definitely be using this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eknecht April 14, 2007

...I am so honored to be the very 1st to review this recipe.. the past few days I've been on a spice/seasoning hunt I hate paying so much money for so little taste and stuff in that I have no clue as what it isthat said this is a wonderful spice mix I tripled it and put it back in the Mc Cormick jar I had finished up making this spice mix(3.12 ounces) filled it nicely too.... I've never eaten at popeyes but if their food is as good as this spice is well maybe I should try and find one.. ANYWAY wonderful spice mix...I have it on some chicken breast I've had in the fridge for a few hours now..and plan on also seasoning my flour with some to before frying..I'll return with a update after supper ..but I have no worries as to how good it will be oh & I upped the cayene also as I like spicy and that is the beauty of makeing your own spice mixes you CAN adjust to your taste..SMELLS WONDERFUL too thank you for sharing UPDATE Oct..25th The chicken breast were wonderful with this spice mix..& I did decide to fry them.. I added a couple really good shakes into the flour I rolled them into before frying..it smelled so darn good my poor old tummy was growling and my mouth could hardly wait... glad I found this recipe for the spice mix a real 10 star...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gruntlady October 25, 2006
TSR Version of Popeyes Cajun Sparkle by Todd Wilbur