31 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent recipe. Very easy to make, they were fluffy and light and browned beautifully. I should have made a double batch.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bogey'sMom January 03, 2003

O my goodness. A while back I was looking for the best biscuit recipe. Now I have found it. These are so good. Very buttery. I did not have any buttermilk, so I used all milk. This will for now on be my biscuit recipe. I will not have to search no longer. Thanks.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CrystalA February 18, 2003

Nice flavor biscuits. Very easy to make. If you only have salted butter like me, cut the salt to 3/4 teaspoon otherwise it will be salty. I only needed 18 minutes in the oven and they were a bit too brown already. So, watch your baking time.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB July 26, 2009

DELICIOUS! Made these to go with a big bowl of beef stew. Ultimate comfort food. Scrumptious melt in your mouth biscuits. I mixed the dry ingred in food processor and then put in the cubed cold butter and just jogged it til the big chunks were broken a bit. I was careful not to overmix though and still have small bits of butter showing. Put it in a bowl...made a well and poured in the buttermilk/milk mixture. Folded it together til it was mostly a dough and finished off with my fingers.... Really great biscuits. Don't overwork your dough!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jopalis November 06, 2010

Just made these and love them. Changes I made though were using White Lily Self Rising flour and adding an extra teaspoon of baking powder (oh, 1/3 extra teaspoon actually. I made a triple batch.) and using all buttermilk and no regular milk. I also added about a cup and a half of sharp cheddar cheese to the dry ingredients along with about 2 teaspoons of dill weed and a teaspoon of onion powder to make Cheddar Dill Biscuits. They are wonderful savory biscuits; much more tender and flaky than my old recipe. Thanks for posting!! :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanetB-KY August 16, 2009

I'm a Southerner living abroad and after months without, I had to have my biscuit fix. Although I'm not sure I'd call it a Popeye's copycat, the taste and texture of these was right on the money for what I wanted of a homemade buttermilk biscuit. The only thing I'll change next time I make them is that I won't roll the dough to 1/2 inch because the finished biscuits were not much taller than that. I did pat out a small second batch at a little more than an inch thick, and they baked up perfectly with just about 1-2 minutes more in the oven. Super yummy; thanks for posting this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LightEra June 22, 2008

Excellent--I doubled the batch so that we'd have enough for tomorrow. But they were so good that there STILL aren't any left!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lightly Toasted July 20, 2003

These are tasty. I mixed in the food processor. I rolled them too thin, but they were yummy anyway! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amanda Beth October 11, 2012

I tried it and these are delicious. I didn't think they tasted like Popeyes but very tasty nonetheless. I used salted butter so I took the advice of the reviewers and used 3/4 tspn of salt. I used my food processor to mix all the ingredients. The dry got a few pulses then when I added the butter I did a few pulses then when adding the wet ingredients (both buttermilk and milk) a few pulses just until the moment the dough came together in a ball. I gently patted it out to a little more than an inch and patted very gently; folded the dough and patted very gently; I did this 5 times. The end result: a 5 star biscuit that was light yet moist and delicious. Thank you for posting. This is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ITRIEDIT January 03, 2012

I loved these biscuits! They are very tasty. They do not rise, so cut them thick. My yield was only 7 biscuits. They were done in about 17-18 minutes, so check early!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nmj April 13, 2011
TSR Version of Popeyes Buttermilk Biscuits by Todd Wilbur