Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / TSR Version of Popeyes Buttermilk Biscuits by Todd Wilbur Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    TSR Version of Popeyes Buttermilk Biscuits by Todd Wilbur

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on January 03, 2003

      Excellent recipe. Very easy to make, they were fluffy and light and browned beautifully. I should have made a double batch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2003

      O my goodness. A while back I was looking for the best biscuit recipe. Now I have found it. These are so good. Very buttery. I did not have any buttermilk, so I used all milk. This will for now on be my biscuit recipe. I will not have to search no longer. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2009

      Nice flavor biscuits. Very easy to make. If you only have salted butter like me, cut the salt to 3/4 teaspoon otherwise it will be salty. I only needed 18 minutes in the oven and they were a bit too brown already. So, watch your baking time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2010

      DELICIOUS! Made these to go with a big bowl of beef stew. Ultimate comfort food. Scrumptious melt in your mouth biscuits. I mixed the dry ingred in food processor and then put in the cubed cold butter and just jogged it til the big chunks were broken a bit. I was careful not to overmix though and still have small bits of butter showing. Put it in a bowl...made a well and poured in the buttermilk/milk mixture. Folded it together til it was mostly a dough and finished off with my fingers.... Really great biscuits. Don't overwork your dough!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2009

      Just made these and love them. Changes I made though were using White Lily Self Rising flour and adding an extra teaspoon of baking powder (oh, 1/3 extra teaspoon actually. I made a triple batch.) and using all buttermilk and no regular milk. I also added about a cup and a half of sharp cheddar cheese to the dry ingredients along with about 2 teaspoons of dill weed and a teaspoon of onion powder to make Cheddar Dill Biscuits. They are wonderful savory biscuits; much more tender and flaky than my old recipe. Thanks for posting!! :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      I'm a Southerner living abroad and after months without, I had to have my biscuit fix. Although I'm not sure I'd call it a Popeye's copycat, the taste and texture of these was right on the money for what I wanted of a homemade buttermilk biscuit. The only thing I'll change next time I make them is that I won't roll the dough to 1/2 inch because the finished biscuits were not much taller than that. I did pat out a small second batch at a little more than an inch thick, and they baked up perfectly with just about 1-2 minutes more in the oven. Super yummy; thanks for posting this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2003

      Excellent--I doubled the batch so that we'd have enough for tomorrow. But they were so good that there STILL aren't any left!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2012

      These are tasty. I mixed in the food processor. I rolled them too thin, but they were yummy anyway! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2012

      I tried it and these are delicious. I didn't think they tasted like Popeyes but very tasty nonetheless. I used salted butter so I took the advice of the reviewers and used 3/4 tspn of salt. I used my food processor to mix all the ingredients. The dry got a few pulses then when I added the butter I did a few pulses then when adding the wet ingredients (both buttermilk and milk) a few pulses just until the moment the dough came together in a ball. I gently patted it out to a little more than an inch and patted very gently; folded the dough and patted very gently; I did this 5 times. The end result: a 5 star biscuit that was light yet moist and delicious. Thank you for posting. This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2011

      I loved these biscuits! They are very tasty. They do not rise, so cut them thick. My yield was only 7 biscuits. They were done in about 17-18 minutes, so check early!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2011

      This recipe was created by Todd Wilbur for his book entitled "The Best Of Top Secret Recipes" (Penguin/Putnam 2003)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2011

      Delish! Eliminated the sugar. Used 1 cup unbleached flour and 1 cup whole wheat and all buttermilk. Light, fluffy and delicious. This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2010

      The flavor of these were good but mine were very flat and dry. I'm not rating since I'm pretty sure it was my fault since this was my first time trying to make homemade biscuits. I'll try it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      excellent recipe- these biscuits were wonderful. i followed the directions exactly and i found that it made 18 biscuits ( must of made mine abit too small) The directions are exceelnt ( I have ruined many biscuits before i made these.) thanks spatchcock for this recipe- I will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2008

      These were delicious. I ONLY use salted butter so I reduced the salt to 3/4 tsp and it was the perfect amount for us. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2008

      These were easy, quick and tasted great. Will make again, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2008

      These were wonderful, thanks for sharing this recipe. These are perfect in the morning with a bit of butter or margarine. I was weary of using buttermilk but am glad I did. They're quick, easy and most importantly: TASTY! I

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2008

      these were good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2007

      I'm have a supersized biscuit right now! I patted the dough a little too much and added up with rather flat biscuit. But when I tried to split it into 2 lengthwise, it was like cutting cold butter with a hot knife! Flaky, moist and delish! I spread some strawberry jam and had it with a cup of ice cold milk. Keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2007

      SOOO GOOD! I made exactly as posted, except they took only 13 minutes to bake up light golden brown. I brushed them with butter and they were awesome! Soft, buttery and delicious. Thanks for the recipe, I'll be making this often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for TSR Version of Popeyes Buttermilk Biscuits by Todd Wilbur

    Serving Size: 1 (578 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 186.4
     
    Calories from Fat 88
    47%
    Total Fat 9.7 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 6.0 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 25.7 mg
    8%
    Sodium 483.8 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.3 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 3.2 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites