Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / TSR Version of Outback Ranch Dressing by Todd Wilbur Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    TSR Version of Outback Ranch Dressing by Todd Wilbur

    Average Rating:

    99 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 99

    Sort by:

    • on September 12, 2003

      I doubled this recipe and when I first tasted it, right after making it, I thought too mayonnaisy, just blah. I put it in a quart jar and stuck it in the fridge and after a few hours - WOW! When my husband tasted it, he went truffling through my kitchen, looking for stuff to dip in it. He actually, no kidding, started dipping bread in the jar. He put it on his hotdogs that night. We love this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2011

      This recipe was created by Todd Wilbur for his book "Top Secret Restaurant Recipes 2" (Penguin/Putnam)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2011

      LOVE this. DO NOT try it before you refrigerate it or it will taste like mayo. I like it spicy, so i doubled the cayenne and garlic. This is not the exact taste of Outback ranch BUT pretty darn close.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2012

      This was very bland to me (and I refrigerated as stated). I didn't think that it tasted anything like the dressing at Outback.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2011

      This recipe is great!!!! A few adjustments I made--(1) I cut the mayo in half and substituted sour cream for the missing half (helped get rid of the mayonnaise-y flavor), (2) I added finely chopped fresh chives and parsley to it, (3) I used more of the ranch seasoning mix, and (4) I cut the mixture with additional buttermilk until I got the consistency I wanted. You have the let it sit OVERNIGHT in the frig to get the FULL EFFECT. Trust me--you can't go wrong if you do it this way. Sorry, I didn't include specific measurements of what I added--I'm one of those cooks that just adds and tastes, adds and tastes, and I eyeballed the chives and parsley until I got what I want. The seasonings really take effect overnight. I will NEVER buy bottled store-bought dressing again--unless of course it's for someone else, with their money paying for it :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2011

      I have this same recipe, but instead of using paprika I use cayenne pepper, much better. My family loves it. I never buy any ranch dressing, I always make my own.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2010

      Thank God for this recipe!!! This recipe has become a staple in my house this is the only Ranch dressing that we will touch!!! I have emptied a large 40oz container or HV ranch and replaced it with this one and we keep it on "tap" all the time.....I have made some modulations to suite my taste by doubling (sometime tripling the spices) and leaving the mayo and milk the same...also teh "Brand" of mayo that you use makes a huge difference Helmans is too sweet generics are blah I use Kraft it has worked best for me......again this is an awesome recipe.......

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2010

      Discuss the taste, how difficult it was to make, any adaptations you made or menu suggestions. If you did not like it, please explain why or provide constructive criticism. I posted an earlier review stating how great it is. This is the only dressing that my eldest Ds wants on his salad. I purchased a small container of Hidden Valley Ranch dressing to go with his salad, he didn't care for it., he wanted 'this' recipe. I love my DS so of course as a Mom, and to promote healthy eating...Unfortunately I couldn't figure out how to give my DS a salad with dressing, since it would be soggy. I place the croutons and cheese in seperate snack bags, salad is already assembled. The dressing is in a snack bag, and I send in a pair of 'child safety scissors for him to cut a corner so he can dress his salad himself. Of course, the scissors are washed prior and afterwards.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      I thought this was ok. Outback ranch is my all time fave so I hoped to be able to make my own. Following the directions exactly, it tastes very mayonaise-heavy to me. Easily solved by adding a little extra milk but you may want to adjust your proportions before you start. Even when it tasted more balanced it still seemed like it was missing something. Not bad overall though.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2010

      We go to Outback all the time and we love the ranch with the fries. I made this recipe and both my 6 year old son and husband insisted on eating the ranch with something as soon as they tried it. Great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2010

      Very good! I have made this recipe many times but have always forgotten to leave my review! I don't go to Outback very often, but this is very good dressing. It gives the dressing a little extra depth of flavor! I use buttermilk just for the tang, just a personal preference. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      This is now my husband's base recipe for his ranch dressing. We both agree, however, that it is similar but not the same as Outback ranch. Still an awesome taste, and one that we use over and over again. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2007

      Used a zesty hiden valley ranch mix and it came out great

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2005

      Wanted to make Kittencal's ranch ham macaroni salad, but didn't have ranch dressing on hand. Tried this, but it tasted so good, we ate it quickly, and then there wasn't enough for the other recipe! Next time... Now I know where to go for good ranch dressing, though.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2004

      Absolutely delicious. I didn't do a thing to it....made it just as recipe says to. Served it with a lettuce, tom & cuke salad and it tasted wonderful. Thanks Brooke

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2003

      This is delicious! It's great on salad or with veggies. My husband does not like mayo and doesn't even care for 'white stuff' but even he loved it. Make sure you let it chill for at least the recommended time to get the best flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2003

      My family and I really enjoyed this recipe and it will become our standard dressing recipe from now on. Just a few simple changes, but well worth the end result. Thank you Brooke for the fantastic recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2014

      Sorry, I haven't reviewed this yet. Not that it needs another raving review to credit it, but I figure I'll throw my hat in the ring too. This is very good, and I've been making it for a while. I think I prefer it as a dressing, but it can work as dip also. If you're in a pinch and need to serve it right away, that's okay. I think it tastes fine up front, but it does get better after sitting for a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2013

      LOVED IT!!!! My teenage daughter asked to make "our own" ranch dressing, so I started with this recipe as a base, read the reviews and made some minor tweaks based on our preferences. I cannot compare this to Outback's, but I can say it is a great ranch dressing. I tripled the recipe and put into mason jars the day before (yes, you must wait as the flavors will build). Instead of using all mayo as the recipe calls for, I used a blend of half fat free mayo and half fat free sour cream. I also used fresh ground assorted color peppercorns which added a nice flavor. I also added, based on other reviews, fresh dill, fresh chives, paprika (I wonder if smoked paprika would taste good?? hmmm) and a touch of cayenne. Fabulous flavors. No more store bought dressings for this family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2012

      Made this for our salad tonight at supper then I ate the rest with a spoon when everyone went to bed. Outstanding!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for TSR Version of Outback Ranch Dressing by Todd Wilbur

    Serving Size: 1 (358 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 646.0
     
    Calories from Fat 477
    73%
    Total Fat 53.0 g
    81%
    Saturated Fat 8.1 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 44.0 mg
    14%
    Sodium 1200.0 mg
    50%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.8 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 13.9 g
    55%
    Protein 4.2 g
    8%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    hidden valley ranch dressing mix

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes