144 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent dish. Easy to make and very tasty. Added a little more water to make it more saucy. Next time I might just make it with 2 cans of V-8. Whole family loved it.

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharlene~W February 16, 2002

A very hearty soup. Great flavor and presentation the whole family liked it! Great for a wintery day!

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brenda Horn January 31, 2002

I tried this recipe even though I wasn't sure I liked pasta fagioli and I LOVED it! My husband and other adult family loved it as well but the kids weren't crazy about it (the beans). I can't wait to make (eat) it again!

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen Willson February 17, 2002

Dynamite!! I eat at the Olive Garden all the time my favorite meal is the Pasta e Fagioli soup, salad, and breadsticks. Not only did I find the soup recipe on Recipezaar, I found the house dressing recipe. All I needed was Dean Martin singing in the background. This recipe is a lot heavier than their soup so I, like others used 2 cans V8, I used a couple of cans of Knorr chicken broth and reseasoned the soup. I agree that the cooked pasta sould be added to the bowl right before serving. I also added a little of my favorite hot sauce. Thank you Diane.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joan Brekken September 02, 2002

I added a little more pasta and a little more beef which makes it hearty. This is better than Olive Garden's.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heidi75 February 27, 2002

I thought it was very good. But I also wish I would have added a little more tomato juice or water. It got a little thick the longer it sat. But my family did like it a lot. I could not find the ditali pasta so I substituted another pasta instead.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PAM JOHANEK February 22, 2002

Oh my yummy goodness!!! This was awesome last night and I'm actually eating some right now for lunch. Next time I will add another can of V-8. I also added some hot pepper sauce. This is wonderful! Thanks.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zobeed April 08, 2003

Tasted great. The only thing I did different was add a little water because of all the reviews that said it was too thick. Glad I did because there wasn't much liquid to make it soupy. I think next time I will add another V-8 and water and more seasonings becuase the leftovers have no liquid. I guess the pasta soaked it all up. Definitely will be making again. Thanks

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sdowney March 03, 2003

Delicious! I have never had The Olive Garden's version, but I thought I would give it a try because of all the rave reviews. I added an exra can of V8 per the suggestion of a few people, and I think it was thick like a good chili. Maybe next time I will cut down on the simmer time by 10 minutes. I will definitely make this again. Thanks!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChipotleChick January 09, 2003

Diana, this is an excellent, hearty and filling soup! I wouldn't change a thing. It is very much, if not exactly like the Pasta e Fagioli served at Olive Garden. Very easy to prepare. I served it with tossed green salad and Italian bread. I will be keeping this recipe close at hand! Thanks so much for sharing this, Diana!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev October 17, 2002
TSR Version of Olive Garden Pasta E Fagioli by Todd Wilbur