Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / TSR Version of Olive Garden Lemon Cream Cake by Todd Wilbur Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    TSR Version of Olive Garden Lemon Cream Cake by Todd Wilbur

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on May 29, 2012

      I always make a BIG meal for my mom on Mother's Day & after having this cake at The Olive Garden a few times I just knew it had to be part of the feast this year. My original plan was to just buy a whole cake from The Olive Garden. But (with tax) it came out to almost $50, it IS indeed good, but NOT $50 GOOD! So I started looking around online & found a few copycat recipes, thought i'd give it a try. The original recipe is cool, I guess. But I found that the lemony flavor was NOT as strong as it should be. So, I flavored my cream with a little more powdered sugar, lemon zest & lemon extract along with the lemon juice. After whipping it up, my daughter also brought to my attention that it tastes like lemon, but lemons aren't white (lol). So, I squeezed a few drops of yellow food coloring in to give it a SLIGHT hint of color. I didn't find my Duncan Hines mix to be lacking moisture in any way, it was extremely moist! I also squeezed lemon juice onto the 2 layers of cake (I baked in 8 inch aluminum pans) before I spread the cream onto them. As for the crumble, I intended on putting it on top of the cake batter so it could bake into the top & be sorta strudel-like. But I forgot & didn't think about it until it was too late. I then tried the cold butter stuff, but the thought of topping a cake with RAW cold butter disturbed me. So, I put on my thinking cap for an alternative topping & then it came to me... CRUMBLED VANILLA WAFERS!

      I stored my cakes and the bowl of cream in the freezer overnight because it seemed kinda too wet to handle properly. Also served steaight out of the refrigerator. Everything seemed easier to manage once it was firm.

      When it was all said & done the cake was DELICIOUS! My mom (along with EVERYONE else) LOVED it, so it was a TOTAL success!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      Wonderful recipe. I too used Pillsbury cake mix, and baked it in 2 nine inch pans. Also added additional lemon juice to the filling. It came out fantastic. I omitted the crumb topping, and everyone said they liked it better that way. It does taste sort of like Olive Garden dessert, but this is definitely moister and lemony. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      Fabulous! Every time I make it I get compliments and am asked for the recipe. I changed the lemon juice to 1/4 cup for more flavor. The brand of cake mix does make a difference- Pillsbury is the softest, moistest cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2012

      I've never had OG's version of this cake but my family fought over this one. Too good! It was Mother's Day and I didn't feel like fussing with layers, so I poured the batter in a 10x14 inch pan and bake it for about 30 minutes. The amount of filling and topping were perfect, I was worried it might not cover the whole cake, but it worked well. YUMMY!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2012

      Although I am not a box cake fan, this was very good! I agree Pillsbury is very moist and worked great. I also added a bit more lemon juice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2011

      this cake is amazing!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2011

      thought this was pretty good. not a huge fan of box cake mixes though. i did add extra lemon juice as many did and also squeezed fresh lemon juice on top of each cake layer before adding the filling. i think if i did it again i would try it with a cake from scratch.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2011

      i just recently started liking lemon flavored desserts. Everyone in my family really liked this cake. I did add more lemon then the recipe called for and brushed on straight lemon juice to the layers with a pastry brush b/4 frosting and that really made a difference. The layer I forgot to brush on the lemon tasted very plain. Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      Awesome! I made this using french vanilla cake mix instead of white b/c of recent trip to olive garden cake in picture looked b/w a white and a yellow to me. I haven't actually ever had theirs. I added more lemon juice(2 Tbsp).Everyone loved. Icing is to die for.Definitely worth the work. Thanks for great recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

      I have tried many recipes that state they taste just like the Lemon Cream Cake and none of them have come close. I tried this recipe and it is wonderful!! it was almost like being there! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      This is completely amazing. It tastes as good as a professional cake. I baked the cake in 2 eight inch pans according to the box directions. I put less frosting in the middle than the recipe says and more on the top and edges. For the crumb topping, I mixed the butter in with my hands, and then cut it like pie dough. Last, I added sliced almonds to the top because I had them on hand.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2009

      I prepared this cake for my grandfather's 79th birthday. It must have been REALLY good because there wasn't any left! Very easy to put together. My crumb topping was not very crumbly, so I think there was too much butter. Sorry I didn't get a picture, but I will next time!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      Ive never had O.G.Lemon cream cake..This was okay but lacked lemon flavor..If I were to make this again I would do a thin layer of lemon curd then the filling..It was a pretty cake and bakery light..Thank You for thre recipe though...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2008

      This is the BEST cake. I've made it several times with rave reviews. Takes a bit of work, but it's an imprressive dessert.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2013

      did not like it all very bland will not keep this receipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2008

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for TSR Version of Olive Garden Lemon Cream Cake by Todd Wilbur

    Serving Size: 1 (161 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 527.7
     
    Calories from Fat 256
    48%
    Total Fat 28.5 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 12.1 g
    60%
    Cholesterol 58.1 mg
    19%
    Sodium 405.7 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 64.5 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 48.9 g
    195%
    Protein 4.9 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites