Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / TSR Version of Olive Garden Lemon Cream Cake by Todd Wilbur Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    TSR Version of Olive Garden Lemon Cream Cake by Todd Wilbur

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on April 03, 2010

      Not even close! This recipe is tasty, don't get me wrong, but it's nowhere close to Olive Garden's in terms of flavor or texture. I made it about 3 hours ahead of time and it ended up tasting like boxed cake mix with rich frosting. It was sickeningly sweet. There is hope though! I altered the recipe & got it pretty darn close! First of all, there is nowhere near enough lemon in this recipe. I added 2 tsp lemon juice & the zest of one lemon to the cake mix. Then I add 2 TBSP lemon juice to the filling-- it's sickeningly sweet otherwise. Additionally, after I cut the cake in 1/2, I drizzled about 2 tsp of lemon juice on the dry cake. This does not make it overly lemony or sour. It brings it up to par with Olive Garden's. Tip1: Double the filling if you want it to spread over the entire outside of the cake as well as between layers. The recipe does not call for enough. Tip2: Mix the crumb topping in a food processor, add a tsp lemon juice, then use your hands to mash it into big crumbles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2007

      Sooo maybe it does, maybe it doesn't taste like Olive Gardens'-I've never had theirs, but this IS fantastic. I used my own white cake recipe, I drenched the layers with juice from the lemons and loved it-ESPECIALLY the "crumb" topping. It's so easy and I always have these ingredients. Thank you for such a great recipe, I will make this over and over.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2011

      Super good! Made this for a group of gals I scrapbook with and every one of them wanted the recipe! Even the gals who aren't big dessert lovers liked this cake! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2010

      I used the tips from bluemidnighttt_10971509 about adding more lemon to this recipe and it came out FANTASTIC! My fiance loves lemon cake and every year I try and find a new recipe, but I know from now on that this is the one we will be having!!! i didn't add anything extra t the cake mix itself because honestly I forgot, but I did add extra lemon the icing and it was so good. I didn't have a single piece left over! Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2009

      Very good!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      I was so dissapointed. This recipe didn't even come close to the Olive Garden cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2008

      Good, refreshing cake (I used a Lemon cake mix) but NOTHING like OliveGarden's. Help! The real recipe must be somewhere.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2008

      This was an easy cake to make & overall tasted great! We did not think it tasted like the Olive Garden cake. It was only slightly lemon tasting. If you want a lemon flavored cake, definitely doctor the recipe. I have been trying different cakes claiming to be like the Olive Garden cake. I have found others that were more like it. But, if you just want a great tasting cake, this would be it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2008

      This is a great recipe! I haven't tried the Olive Garden version, but I really enjoyed eating this cake! The only thing I changed was I used the zest of a whole lemon in the frosting and the juice of a whole lemon-- most of the juice I put in the frosting, and the other part I drizzled over the bottom layer of the cake before frosting it. It still had a very subtle lemony flavor. Yum! Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2007

      I have not had the Cream Cake from Olive Garden, but I have had a similar one from Cheesecake Factory. I modified the recipe a bit, but not too much to repost a recipe. Next time I would decrease the amount of powdered sugar in the lemon cream, and increase the lemon -- perhaps adding a layer of lemon curd. Very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2007

      My husband and I love the cake from the olive garden and were both very pleased that this helped us cope with those lemon cream cake cravings!! The secret to the perfect filling consistency is to do what the professionals do and chill the cake in the freezer. The filling set perfectly and with just a few minutes thaw matched very well to the original. Definitely worth it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2007

      I was very happy to find this recipe posted here as I am a huge fan of both the Olive Garden's Lemon Cream Cake and Top Secret Recipes (TSR). Unfortunately, while the cake was good, my husband and I did not find it to be similar to the Olive Garden's cake. The filling was too soft and it had a distinct tang from the cream cheese. The crumb topping while tasty, was also not similar to that which is on the real Lemon Cream Cake. There is nothing wrong with the recipe itself; the cake just doesn't taste like the real thing. Thanks anyway!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2006

      This was a good cake. But the filling was a little runny. It actually made a lot for just a 2-layer cake. So next time I will add another layer or two. Above all it was very delicious even though not an exact clone of Olive Gardens Lemon Cream Cake. Still looking for that recipe..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2006

      This is even better then the Olive Garden version. The cake/filling melts in your mouth. The amount of lemon flavor is perfect, it is not overpowering but is enough to be refreshing. This is a perfect dish for a hot summer day or for a light dessert any time! I highly recommend it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2006

      I never order dessert at Olive Garden so I don't know what their cake taste like but this cake was very good. The only thing I would do different next time is to add more lemon juice or zest for a more lemony taste. Thanks Missus Jones. Bullwinkle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2006

      Not quite Olive Garden, but very good. I used a more lemon juice, as I love lemon flavor, and it was a more tart (the way I like it!). Good recipe. I enjoyed making it. I also liked the crumb topping. It was subtle and didn't overpower the lemon flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2006

      i never eat at the olive garden. this cake is wonderful, you can not tell that it started with a cake mix. the different layers really complient each other and the lemon flavor is delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for TSR Version of Olive Garden Lemon Cream Cake by Todd Wilbur

    Serving Size: 1 (157 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 527.0
     
    Calories from Fat 256
    48%
    Total Fat 28.5 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 12.1 g
    60%
    Cholesterol 58.1 mg
    19%
    Sodium 405.6 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 64.3 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 48.9 g
    195%
    Protein 4.9 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites