Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / TSR Version of Olive Garden Italian Salad Dressingby Todd Wilbur Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    TSR Version of Olive Garden Italian Salad Dressingby Todd Wilbur

    Average Rating:

    55 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 55

    Sort by:

    • on December 02, 2009

      Okay, so I went into making this recipe with a very pessimistic view. I've heard non-stop negative reviews for attempts to make the Olive Garden dressing. First, I purchased the original bottle at Olive Garden. Wayyy too expensive, there's hardly any dressing, and you're paying for a heavy glass bottle! I was running low, so I wanted to try a few recipes. Thank god I tried this one first... I followed it to par, using light corn syrup and everything else as listed. I let it chill for 3 hours while I ran errands, came back, and sampled each dressing on a plate. Yes, it was very tart, and I'd have to agree, it wasn't quite Olive Garden's dressing. It needed more garlic powder in addition to the fresh garlic. I added probably about 1 1/2 tsp of garlic powder and voila! PERFECT, if not BETTER... The bottled one tastes more bland, and that's probably because of preservatives. This recipe is brighter in taste than the bottled Olive Garden one. Definitely my favorite now...And seriously, side by side, they look almost identical. This recipe turned out a little more yellow than the bottled Olive Garden one, and a little more rustic and chunky than the bottled one, but over all wayyyy better than Olive Garden's own!!! Totally a keeper. Just add more garlic powder at the end. :) Yay! THANK YOU SO MUCH for posting it!!!!!! <3

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2010

      We LOVED this. My only recommendation is to let it chill longer than an hour. A day, if possible. We ate it after 2-3 hours of chilling, and it was semi-bland with an after taste of the olive garden dressing. However, the next day, the flavors had married together and the dressing was PERFECT. Absolutely great!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2010

      We loved this dressing. Left ouf the pectin and not sure how it would have changed flavor more but this was delicious. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2010

      Very good. However, the first time I made it, the white wine vinegar was overpowering and gave a strong vinegar taste and it was much too tart. I made it a second time, used seasoned rice vinegar and it was surpurb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2010

      While we didn't feel it was an exact duplicate of Olive Garden it does make an acceptable substitute an is closer in texture than anything else I've tried. It is pleasantly tart, slightly sweet, and creamy. It held well several days. Thank you for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2010

      I made this for a family gathering at Christmas time and everyone loved it. It does taste better after sitting in the fridge overnight, but I don't think it was bad before that either. The only modifications I made was to add more cheese, and thats just because we all love cheese. Thank you for the recipe! It is definately one that I will continue to use, especially since my husband has already requested that I make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      Great dressing! The closest Olive Garden is 2 hours away so I can't just run out and pick some up< thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2009

      There are enough good reviews that I must have done something wrong. Runny, wet and flavorless. The pectin didnt seem to help with the consistency at all. I threw out one batch and made another. I left in in the fridge overnight thinking that maybe the problem was that it needed to sit for a while. I served this the next day on a green salad and the family hated it. It was like cloudy water with a little seasoning in it. This was the worst result I have ever had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2009

      you can buy the dressing from Olive Garden for 4.50

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2009

      Great Italian dressing-just a bit acidic, but it is Italian, not supposed to be sugary sweet. Prepared exactly as recipe was written. For those who didn't like it-I'm guessing that they didn't allow enough time for the flavors to meld together, I tried some directly afterwards-UGH-tasted like vinegar. This recipe is a keeper for sure. I can't say that this tastes like Olive Garden, since we don't have that in our neck of the woods, but was an excellent dressing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2008

      I have to say this is the closest you will ever get to the Olive Garden Italian Dressing. For the people that didnt like it, well thats what you get for substuting stuff. Yes it will be a little tangy if you put too much in one bowl for one serving, I recomend putting in a big bowl and tossing the salad with the dressing over it. This is by far the closest thing you will get to their dressing. A+++++

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2008

      Awesome!!! I loved this dressing! So much that after I made the first batch... I doubled it and made more. Doubling the recipe made exactly 1000mL. I did wonder Kroger for some time looking for Pectin. Asking if anyone knew where it was. I've never used it before. Finally someone knew what I was talking about, and told me it was boxed and labeled Sure-Gell and then I was pointed in the area of the gars and containers. I hope no one else has as much trouble finding pectin now... Sure-Gel worked out great. Thanks Princess for the recipe :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2007

      A very very close copycat of this delicious dressing. I have been using this recipe for years now, but with just a slight difference in technique of putting it together. I add the vinegar, lemon juice, egg and blend that in my mini processor for 10 seconds. I let that rest for 10 minutes before adding the remaining ingredients and blending for 30 seconds on low. I chill for at least 1 hr before using to make sure all the flavors are blended. It is a little thin if you don't use the eggs or pectin, but still so yummy. Some people say when you add the eggs with the vinegar and lemon juice, it will kill any Salmonella that may be present. Or you could just use a pasteurized egg product. I think this is a closer recipe than others that contain mayonnaise... Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2014

      Turned out great to go with our Angel Chicken Pasta.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2013

      Yum! I keep going to "test" it, by the spoonful. I am the only one that does not belong to some Ranch Dressing cult so I omitted the pectin and egg stuff as I am not that adventurous in the grocery stores and I am the only one that will notice. Just the same....delicious. OG or not, I don't care! I have a tendency to make my Italian too vinegar"ish" but this one is perfect. I did add some dried basil as everything in life tastes better with basil. Dang! I forgot to add the salt and pepper. I better go adjust and taste again! This recipe is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2010

    • on September 27, 2009

      Made this for my daughters Pasta dinner for the Field Hockey team. This has now become the favorite salad for the team. Followed the recipe exactly and it came out great. Thanks this is a keeper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2009

      It's wonderful. I use Klamatta olives, cause they're the best. I don't care for romano so use parmesan. Yum, yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2009

      Excellent. A little on the tart side, but we like it like that. I used extra virgin olive oil instead of the vegetable oil and rice wine vinegar (what I had on hand) and it was perfect. Served this on Olive Garden Salad Mix. Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2008

      I don't think it tastes exactly like Olive Garden's, but this is good. I didn't add any egg.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for TSR Version of Olive Garden Italian Salad Dressingby Todd Wilbur

    Serving Size: 1 (42 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 152.4
     
    Calories from Fat 114
    74%
    Total Fat 12.7 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 2.3 mg
    0%
    Sodium 511.9 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.0 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 0.7 g
    1%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    white wine vinegar

    dry pectin

    Egg Beaters egg substitute

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites