Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / TSR Version of Mimi's Cafe Carrot Raisin Bread by Todd Wilbur Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    TSR Version of Mimi's Cafe Carrot Raisin Bread by Todd Wilbur

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on January 10, 2003

      Everyone who tries this loves it. I like to make muffins instead. If you make loaves be careful not to over cook, with the molasses this can pick up a burnt taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      This bread is absolutely delicious and tasted exactly like Mimi's Cafe. I used 4 mini loaf pans so I did not have the fall in the middle problem. I also did not grease my pans like the recipe stated, but I took them out of the pan immediately while still hot. Had to wedge them out just a little with a knife, but they taste better cooked without greasing the pans.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2013

      This recipe clone is from Top Secret Restaurant Recipes 2 by Todd Wilbur: topsecretrecipes.com

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2009

      I agreed with the comment about the crater. I think it needs to bake at a lower temperature. It rises too fast and the middle is done before it has risen. I will try 250 for 30 min., then 300 till done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2008

      Taste was fantastic. However, following directions completely and trying the recipe twice I ran into the same issue. The bread collapse leaving a "crater" in the center of the loaves about 1 and 1/2 inches deep. There is no "bad" just the good and the ugly. Has anyone else experienced this?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2006

      Crazy delicious ! it's the same ! i can now enjoy this bread while i'm in France, and share it with my family. Very moist, i love the texture, the taste, everything ! Thank you very much. I took some pictures too ! we had it for breakfast, then for diner, we spread some "foie gras" on it, and that's fabolous ! try it !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2006

      This was good but didn't really taste like the one at Mimi's. I think next time I will use a mixer for the wet and dry ingredients and then stir in the carrots and raisins. It didn't seem as moist as Mimi's but I think this recipe is a good start.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2006

      I should have searched better for the other recipe. This is not like the Mimi's version, their's has more texture and mine turned out dry. The molasses in this one overpowered the other flavors. Plus I should have used vegetable cooking spray to help release the loaves both of which stuck. I will try Mille's recipe for Mimi's spice muffins though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2004

      This recipe was created by Todd Wilbur. It was published as a Limited Time Only recipe on www.topsecretrecipes.com

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2003

      This bread is definitely moist and dark, but the molasses flavor is very prominent-too much so for my taste. I've never eaten Mimi's version, but this wasn't what I expected from a carrot bread. You can't see the carrots, and you can't really taste them either. I substituted applesauce for part of the oil, but I don't think that would affect the overall taste very much-it doesn't in other quick bread recipes I have. I would agree with the previous review about cooking time. I checked the loaves at 45 minutes, and they only needed about 5 minutes more to be done. Also, possibly due to the applesauce, I had trouble getting the loaves out of the pans in one piece, even though I had lightly spritzed the pans with nonstick spray. I would be leery of using ungreased pans, even with the full complement of oil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for TSR Version of Mimi's Cafe Carrot Raisin Bread by Todd Wilbur

    Serving Size: 1 (65 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 331.3
     
    Calories from Fat 169
    51%
    Total Fat 18.8 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 34.8 mg
    11%
    Sodium 269.3 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.2 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 25.8 g
    103%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites