Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / TSR Version of Kraft Shake'n Bake (Original) by Todd Wilbur Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    TSR Version of Kraft Shake'n Bake (Original) by Todd Wilbur

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on March 06, 2014

      Nice and crunchy, had just enough coating for 4 large bone-in skin-on chicken thighs. Growing up, whenever we had chicken it was Shake 'n Bake, so I vowed never to buy a box of overpriced spices and crumbs. With this recipe I kept my vow but also enjoyed this great weeknight. I used Kellogg's cornflake crumbs so I could be sure how fine or coarse the crumb should be (1/2 cup plus 1 Tbsp. is 2.5 oz. or 70 g, in case I plan to pulverize corn flakes myself). For my first time, I dipped the chicken in water, then pressed the chicken against the crumb mixture in a plastic bag to apply as much coating as possible. After over 45 years, I cannot say whether this tasted just like Shake 'n Bake, although I suspect it would taste closer had I dipped the chicken in vegetable oil instead of water. We eat a LOT of chicken, so I am happy to add this to my bag of tricks. Served with Caribbean Yellow Rice and steamed broccoli. Made for Name That Ingredient Tag, QI = all-purpose flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2013

      I love this recipe! After I made it as the recipe stated and it is good just the way it is, my son wanted different other spices so I added those into the mix also. That really kicked it up a notch and my whole family loved it even more! Instead of buying crumbs I took a whole box of corn flakes and grounded them in my food processor and now have a container of crumbs ready to go. Thanks for posting this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2013

      Trying this recipe out tonight. One thing I didn't see mentioned is how much to use per piece (as it stated 'per the box'.. But I didn't have the box. lol I did do up the mix as stated, however I added 1/8th tsp gr. blk pepper. (personal pref.) I ended up coating 6 drums/thighs bone in with about 1/3 cup of the mix. (Had a bit left over that would probably cover sparingly two more small chicken pieces.) Will rate after we try it. Update: After trying this Recipe, it gets 5 stars. I have a picky meat eater in the family and even he wanted seconds! A keeper for this house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2012

      This was very good. A big plus is that it sounds forgiving if you don't have one spice you can add another. I too used the all ready crushed flakes which makes this easier. We did bone in pork chops and loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2011

      I am sooooo looking forward to making this! Similar to another reviewer, you always need a little more Shake 'n Bake than the one package (I thought it was only me). Finally, no waste. I may even add a little dried parsley to mine :0) Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2011

      This recipe was created by Todd Wilbur for his book entitled "Even More Top Secret Recipes" (Penguin/Putnam 2002)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2011

      Great recipe! I have to thank a previous reviewer for mentioning Kellogg's Cornflake Crumbs as I didn't know this product existed previously and it made this recipe super simple and super fast to throw together. I had a single really large chicken breast which I cut into three smaller tenders and used about 1/4 of this recipe to coat them. Baked at 400F for 20 minutes and it was perfect. Served with homemade honey mustard sauce (#393641). Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2009

    • on January 01, 2009

      Wow! I learned a long time ago to be skeptical whenever a recipe was touted as "just like" or promised that I wouldn't be able to tell the difference between that and_______. But I tried this once and I'm hooked. While I didn't have onion powder, I threw some onion flakes into the food processor with the rest and it was fine. My problem with the Kraft packets was not so much the cost, but the quantity. I always seemed to need "just a bit more" and was always loathe to open (and waste most of) a new packet. The only thing I'll do differently next time is to keep better track of exactly what measurement of loose corn flakes it takes to make the 1/2 cup+ I want of corn flake crumbs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2008

      I tried this on my husband, a bonifide Shake 'n Bake connoisseur and he could NOT tell the difference!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2008

      Loved it. I used my baby food blender/chopper to crush it up and it worked perfectly. I'm making it again tonight and plan to make extra to store in freezer. Also, I plan to add Parmesan cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2008

      This is the only recipe I use for chicken and pork chops. It is excellent! I use the Kellogg's Cornflake Crumbs in the box instead of crushing them myself, saves time. This recipe tastes much better and fresher than Kraft's Shake'n Bake. I love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2007

      Very very good. I am trying to do a lot homemade so this one is a plus for me and my family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2006

      This was really good! I took the other reviewers advice and crushed the cornflakes in the food processor. I will use this from now on instead of the boxed Shake-n-Bake since I can control the sodium and always have these ingredients in the pantry its cheaper. A keeper! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2006

      This is quick, simple and very tasty! I used my food processor to crush the flakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for TSR Version of Kraft Shake'n Bake (Original) by Todd Wilbur

    Serving Size: 1 (7 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 21.3
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    53%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 610.1 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.9 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.7 g
    2%
    Protein 0.4 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites