15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Nice and crunchy, had just enough coating for 4 large bone-in skin-on chicken thighs. Growing up, whenever we had chicken it was Shake 'n Bake, so I vowed never to buy a box of overpriced spices and crumbs. With this recipe I kept my vow but also enjoyed this great weeknight. I used Kellogg's cornflake crumbs so I could be sure how fine or coarse the crumb should be (1/2 cup plus 1 Tbsp. is 2.5 oz. or 70 g, in case I plan to pulverize corn flakes myself). For my first time, I dipped the chicken in water, then pressed the chicken against the crumb mixture in a plastic bag to apply as much coating as possible. After over 45 years, I cannot say whether this tasted just like Shake 'n Bake, although I suspect it would taste closer had I dipped the chicken in vegetable oil instead of water. We eat a LOT of chicken, so I am happy to add this to my bag of tricks. Served with Caribbean Yellow Rice and steamed broccoli. Made for Name That Ingredient Tag, QI = all-purpose flour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KateL March 06, 2014

I love this recipe! After I made it as the recipe stated and it is good just the way it is, my son wanted different other spices so I added those into the mix also. That really kicked it up a notch and my whole family loved it even more! Instead of buying crumbs I took a whole box of corn flakes and grounded them in my food processor and now have a container of crumbs ready to go. Thanks for posting this great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mavis S. August 16, 2013

Trying this recipe out tonight. One thing I didn't see mentioned is how much to use per piece (as it stated 'per the box'.. But I didn't have the box. lol I did do up the mix as stated, however I added 1/8th tsp gr. blk pepper. (personal pref.) I ended up coating 6 drums/thighs bone in with about 1/3 cup of the mix. (Had a bit left over that would probably cover sparingly two more small chicken pieces.) Will rate after we try it. Update: After trying this Recipe, it gets 5 stars. I have a picky meat eater in the family and even he wanted seconds! A keeper for this house!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sandesnow January 17, 2013

This was very good. A big plus is that it sounds forgiving if you don't have one spice you can add another. I too used the all ready crushed flakes which makes this easier. We did bone in pork chops and loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DPar November 02, 2012

I am sooooo looking forward to making this! Similar to another reviewer, you always need a little more Shake 'n Bake than the one package (I thought it was only me). Finally, no waste. I may even add a little dried parsley to mine :0) Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue's Kitchen May 21, 2011

This recipe was created by Todd Wilbur for his book entitled "Even More Top Secret Recipes" (Penguin/Putnam 2002)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tsrweb March 22, 2011

Great recipe! I have to thank a previous reviewer for mentioning Kellogg's Cornflake Crumbs as I didn't know this product existed previously and it made this recipe super simple and super fast to throw together. I had a single really large chicken breast which I cut into three smaller tenders and used about 1/4 of this recipe to coat them. Baked at 400F for 20 minutes and it was perfect. Served with homemade honey mustard sauce (#393641). Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flower7 March 11, 2011

Wow! I learned a long time ago to be skeptical whenever a recipe was touted as "just like" or promised that I wouldn't be able to tell the difference between that and_______. But I tried this once and I'm hooked. While I didn't have onion powder, I threw some onion flakes into the food processor with the rest and it was fine. My problem with the Kraft packets was not so much the cost, but the quantity. I always seemed to need "just a bit more" and was always loathe to open (and waste most of) a new packet. The only thing I'll do differently next time is to keep better track of exactly what measurement of loose corn flakes it takes to make the 1/2 cup+ I want of corn flake crumbs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cpnich January 01, 2009

I tried this on my husband, a bonifide Shake 'n Bake connoisseur and he could NOT tell the difference!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanTink October 21, 2008
TSR Version of Kraft Shake'n Bake (Original) by Todd Wilbur