Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / TSR Version of Jack-In-The-Box Tacos by Todd Wilbur Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    TSR Version of Jack-In-The-Box Tacos by Todd Wilbur

    Average Rating:

    51 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 51

    Sort by:

    • on August 27, 2010

      My DH claims these tacos tasted just like JIB. He took one bite and smiled saying..."Mmmmm memories..." Only change that was made was putting the meat and all seasonings with the refried beans in the food processer for a little while...it gave the meat and beans the perfect texture! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe! This was a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2011

      OK...I am not one that would normally change a recipe. The closest Jack in the Box to NY is in South Carolina and I've been craving these for years! I tried this recipe. The cosistency of the meat was great but the flavor was not as spicy. I played around and think I have it mastered! You be the judge! Instead of regular refried beans I used the Old El Paso (Green Chiles) Refried Beans. Additionally, instead of using chili powder I used the Old El Paso (Hot & Spicy) Taco seasoning Mix. They are incredible! Does anyone have any ideas as to how to keep the shells from splitting when folded? I tried warming them....it helps somewhat but doesn't elimiate the problem completely.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2010

      To all of you that are complaining because the ingredients aren't the same as JITB tacos, listen up. This is a recipe created by Todd Wilbur, known for his Top Secret Recipes cookbooks. He explains in his books that even if he got the exact recipe, it would be useless because it contains ingredients that the home cook can't get. So what he does is CLONES the dish. He uses easy to find ingredients and gets as close as possible to the real thing. Ok?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2011

      We love Jack in the Box tacos! Also, wanted to let "blocky" know a trick to getting the tortillas warm enough so they won't split... Warm them up on a griddle, (like you would cook pancakes on) at about 375ยบ; cooking the tortilla on one side until it starts to steam, then flip it over and steam on other side until tortilla is soft/pliable. Don't keep them on too long or they'll start to get crisp. Then fill them as directed in the recipe. Another way to do it is to heat a bit of vegetable oil in a pan and "fry" them a bit to get them soft. But, the griddle way should work fine and you won't have twice the oil. Good luck!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2014

      Also works with the premade shells. Heat the empty shells in the oven for about 10 minutes then add the cheese and meat/bean mixture and bake for 10-20 minutes. I always ask for extra extra packets of sauce from JIB for occasions like this. It is less greasy, but still tastes good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2014

      The secret is to use Libby's Canned Corned Beef, NOT Ground Beef, and follow the recipe as printed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2014

      Not quite yet folks. I have keen taste buds, and after making this I remembered their sauce had a sweet bent to it. If you'll mix your taco salsa half Pace (or your fav brand) and half Howards Sweet pepper relish you'll have the exact flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2013

      I made these for DH's birthday as he loved these tacos. They turned out perfect and he was in heaven. Thank you for sharing with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2013

      Although fattening and greasy, these are delicious! My husband could only eat 3, so I had a lot leftover which is perfect for lunches. He said these were the best 'fast food' style tacos he's ever had :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2012

      A new favorite! I had a little ground turkey left over from another recipe and wanted to stretch it out in order to make tacos. I'm so glad I found this recipe. Adding the refried beans not only made the meat go further, it help keep it in the tacos. I hate when I take a bite of a taco and half the meat falls on the plate. The seasoning was right on. I used La Victoria green taco sauce. I made my tacos as usual, not using American cheese, but I'll have t give that a try someday. This will the only way I make taco filling from now on. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2012

      I've never eaten at Jack-in-the box. They don't have them where I live. But these tasted good. My DH called them "little morsels of love" I did add some taco seasoning to the beef mixture, added lettuce, sourcream, and drizzled hot sauce on them. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2012

      I just made the meat portion of this and used regular taco shells. I ran everything through the food processor to get a smooth texture. Turned out great! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2012

      J n B Tacos don't contain any meat so these might be close...they use soy bean so are vegetarian.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2011

      These were really good. It has been a long time since I had a Jack in the box taco so I can't say how similar they are but they were good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2011

      Although I myself found these to just be "greasy", the rest of the family ate ALOT of them. I know I'll be getting requests to make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2011

      These tacos are very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2011

      This recipe was created by Todd Wilbur for his book "Top Secret Recipes" (Penguin/Putnam 1993)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2010

      These were very good, but didn't really taste like the ones we got at JITB. The filling in the originals didn't have beans. (I know because I checked online to see what the ingredients were in the tacos. They are basically made with beef, soy and grits). I don't know how this recipe came about, but it's a good one, and I am glad to have found it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      LOVE IT!! They were as close to JIB as I have found. I am from Texas & 4 years ago we moved to GA. There are NO JIB's in GA. We have actually driven to SC (2 1/2 hours away) to get JIB tacos. Thanks for this. My kids & I LOVE it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for TSR Version of Jack-In-The-Box Tacos by Todd Wilbur

    Serving Size: 1 (1978 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 656.1
     
    Calories from Fat 566
    86%
    Total Fat 62.9 g
    96%
    Saturated Fat 10.5 g
    52%
    Cholesterol 30.2 mg
    10%
    Sodium 227.5 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.3 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 10.9 g
    21%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    mild taco sauce

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes