164 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I can't believe I haven't rated these before. These are fantastic! My daughter loves them, wants them breakfast lunch and dinner! I usually make a double or triple batch and then freeze them. Take the out and microwave them for a few seconds on each side.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
911spatcher June 01, 2010

These pancakes hit the spot! I dunno if they taste like IHOP's, but nevertheless, they taste great. My family especially enjoys having these pancakes when we have breakfast for dinner. I never have buttermilk in the fridge, so I always use Buttermilk Substitution for Baking which works like a charm. Thanks.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jug O'Mud March 13, 2012

I printed this recipe awhile ago & just made them this morning. These were great! I've used buttermilk before in waffles. These are light & fluffy just like everyone says.I actually use Buttermilk powder with water. There's only 2 of us and I don't use up the real buttermilk quick enough. Really easy to make too so I'm not buying pancake mix anymore.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smartblonde #2 October 03, 2010

These didn't taste like Ihop pancakes but they were delicious! I only used 1 tbsp of sugar because I'm not a fan of sweet pancakes. I only added a tsp of vanilla extract. Thanks for the recipe! Will defintely make again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baking Girl July 24, 2011

Too sweet. Batter too "egg-y" making it difficulty to work with. I tried them in my cast iron pans and moved to non-stick. Poor results in both. I will not be making these again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SMH January 03, 2014

Yum!! We followed the recipe exactly and these made for such a wonderful breakfast! I agree with everyone-they're very light and fluffy and the taste is fantastic! Thanks for the great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookieMonster2323 May 05, 2013

I live in Brazil, and here it's difficult to find buttermilk. So I made a homemade recipe: stir 1 cup of low fat milk and juice of 1/2 lemon, and let rest for 10 minutes. The taste was great, very close to IHOP's.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karenkoritiak February 15, 2013

To make the best pancakes (or any food) it all begins with a great mood and love you put into the making of it do not cook in a bad or unpositive or unsure mood. The better you feel about it the better it will be. We modified this recipe as we didn't have enough milk and what I knew from memory of being a breakfast cook in high school years ago. We used half milk the other half was half n half cream (ran out of milk) then we used melted butter a little more than called for cinnamon about a pinch or two and about six drops of pure vanilla extract the rest stayed the same. We mixed it and allowed to rest for ten to twenty mins then we cooked in a cast iron pan with oil (vegetable,crisco,or coconut oils work best for us). Cast iron skillets make the best pancakes in my opinion (remember the 1st cake never comes out well) cooking is not an exact science of ingredients but an art of love and ingredients so if you mess up a little here or there it does not matter as long as you put in lots of LOVE and good feelings it will come out awesome. This is why grandmothers cook great food as the amount of love they put in is huge. Good luck and God bless. Unlock your inner chef with positive beliefs

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sumerian January 05, 2013

Excellent! Next time I would probably decrease the sugar by 1/2. I used these as the foundation for a breakfast for dinner sandwich with egg, ham and cheese and it was absolutely delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4_6 August 11, 2012

I made these 2 weeks ago and my family loved them.Then I lost the recipe and printed 3 copys so I will always have 1 lol.I also added a teaspoon more of baking powder for a lighter pancake.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ann1172003 June 03, 2012
TSR Version of IHOP Buttermilk Pancakes by Todd Wilbur