Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / TSR Version of Girl Scout Thin Mints Recipe by Todd Wilbur
    Lost? Site Map

    TSR Version of Girl Scout Thin Mints Recipe by Todd Wilbur

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on August 19, 2011

      FABULOUS. Easy as pie too - well, I didn't do all the rolling and refrigerating. I just made dough into little balls with my hands, flattened with my fingers onto the cookie sheet (covered in parchment paper) to make thin cookies and called it good. Cooked 10 minutes, cooled. While cooling on a rack, I made up the chocolate, and dipped after the cookies had cooled - 10 minutes. Put whole batch into fridge. SO GOOD. Made bigger cookies and got about 4 dozen. I will definitely make these again. UPDATE: I made this a second time and used Moist Deluxe Dark Chocolate Cake Mix(Copycat-Duncan Hines) Moist Deluxe Dark Chocolate Cake Mix(Copycat-Duncan Hines) in place of the boxed cake mix, and it was excellent. Just make the copycat boxed part - don't include the "add" ingredients to actually make the cake. It was not quite as quick, but definitely a good alternative if you don't want all the chemicals / preservatives of the mix. UPDATE: I've made these since for a bake sale making really big cookies, and they FLEW out the door. One guy kept coming back for more and more! Pretty funny. Also every time I do these, I run out of chocolate for dipping - so maybe make a little extra.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2002

      Hi! I did make these last week and they are REALLY just like the GS thin mints. I tended to make the wafers too thin, so don't be tempted to roll them too much. As a result of my making them too thin, I burned a batch, but with that mint-chocolate coating you could hardly tell! Another goodie from TSR! Anyway, just thought i would let everyone know I did try this and this is what they're like! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2011

      I used Andes chocolates instead of the peppermint mixture. Easier and turns out amazing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2004

      These were delicious! The only thing I did differently was instead of rolling dough, I used a small cookie scoop to make dough balls and then flattened them before baking. It made larger cookies than the traditional thin mint, but it made it easier I thought.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2011

      Wow! I'm not a chocolate fan but, I love thin mints! I used a shot glass to cut=perfect size!!! unfortunately, I made them too thick, oh well...I'll do it again ;) Made them again due to 2 requests. Rolled thinner and got 7 doz. I used only 2 bags of choc. chips each time. Thinner=more like the scouts',crispier. liked them better thicker because they were more tender.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      holy cow, these were SO GOOD!! I replaced the shortening with oil and used ghiradelli chocolate coating instead of choc chips. And I've always hated doing cut out cookies and waiting for dough to chill, so I altered the steps a bit. Once the dough was mixed I lightly floured my hands (re-flouring about every 6 cookies or so) and rolled the dough into little balls. Once all of the balls were on the cookie sheet, I then pressed them down to desired thickness with the flat-bottomed glass jar. They all had flour on them so the glass didn't stick, but you could also dip the bottom of the jar into the flour before pressing down on the dough. Worked like a charm and got the cookies in our tummies faster!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      This recipe was great! Everyone loved it! I added a bit more peppermint extract for an extra minty flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2007

      These really need 12 or maybe 27 stars, not just 5! They are so amazing - just like the girl scout ones. At first glance, I couldn't see how the dough would make 100 cookies, but it just kept going and going! For half I used milk chocolate to make the coating, then the other half I used white chocolate...and holy crap, they were awesome! I should've taken pictures, because they were gorgeous...I drizzled the opposite chocolate over each color and took them to a cookie swap - no one believed that I made them! I'm wondering if I used 3 tablespoons of coffee instead of water in the wafers, if it would come out like a minty mocha chocolate flavor...I will definately try that next...like the starbucks coffee...yum.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2004

      These are fabulous. They are very much like the Girl Scout Thin Mints...only better! And they taste great frozen too. This recipe is a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2014

      Double dog dare any thin mint fan to do a side-by-side taste test. We just did and move over girl scouts--no comparison...these are the best!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2013

    • on November 27, 2012

      I made these ages ago, but apparently I never reviewed them. I really love making these, and I think they taste BETTER than the real thing! Thank you for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2012

      Fantastic but time consuming. I would roll out half cookie dough at a time as it spreads quite a bit. Only bake 10 min b/c they can burn easily being so thin. Thinking might put a toothpick hole in each cookie so I can string through to dip in melted chocolate. Used 2-3 times more peppermint extract to get that minty taste. Big hit with my husband and he thought better than Girl Scout ones!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2012

      Great cookies...I would recommend keeping them in the freezer; that adds a nice crisp bite to the cookies. Big hit at my house

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2011

      Better than the ones in the store! Taste just like the GS cookies. Says my husband. He loved them!!! We used Ghirardelli dipping chocolate. The only problem we had is they did not dry very sleek, there were bubbles and chocolate coat was not entirely smooth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2011

      Excellent!!! I made these today everyone love them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2010

      I made these for my fiance because he is addicted to Thin Mints. They tasted amazing!! I added about 1/2 teaspoon more peppermint extract and they turned out perfect! Awesome Recipe!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2010

      DH loved these! The hint of mint was perfect. The quality of chocolate chips makes a big difference in taste, we found. We'll stick to name brand form here out. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      If I could rate this recipe higher, I would. These were great! Everyone that tried these actually preferred them over the originals. I liked the fact that the mint flavor was a bit more subtle. Thanks!! :0)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2009

      These cookies turned out perfect! Just what I was hoping for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for TSR Version of Girl Scout Thin Mints Recipe by Todd Wilbur

    Serving Size: 1 (1820 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 78.4
     
    Calories from Fat 42
    53%
    Total Fat 4.7 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 1.7 mg
    0%
    Sodium 41.3 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.0 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 7.0 g
    28%
    Protein 0.7 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites