Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / TSR Version of El Pollo Loco Avocado Sauce by Todd Wilbur Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    TSR Version of El Pollo Loco Avocado Sauce by Todd Wilbur

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on September 06, 2007

      awesome. if you're worried about it being too watery, start out with 1/2 cup and then add more if you want. i ended up adding about 2/3 cup water and it is still pretty thick. thanks, this sauce is great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2007

      Loved this! It was definitely thin, but was great on tacos & fajitas!! I was scared by a whole jalapeno the first time I made it, but got brave the second time and it wasn't that bad!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2013

      Super delicious and super easy! I've eaten at Pollo Loco dozens of times (if not more) and this salsa is at least as good as the salsa they serve.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2013

      Made half a recipe to top nachos and use as dip. Loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2013

      Excellent! Just what I was hoping for and perfect for dipping taquitos. Thanks so much for sharing, I'll be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2012

    • on August 15, 2011

      When I moved to Idaho I had to leave El Pollo Loco behind : ( I loved the Avacodo Sauce, loved it!!! I tried this recipe and it was JUST like the one they have. Thank you~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2011

      This recipe was created by Todd Wilbur for his book "Top Secret Recipes Unlocked" (Penguin/Putnam 2009)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      Interesting avocado sauce that is a lot like the one EPL serves. I used the full cup of water (adding a little at a time as I blended) and the consistency seemed about right.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

    • on September 29, 2008

      Very close! Very good! I just gobbled it up with tortilla chips. Next time I'll make it for tacos!! Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2008

      I LOVE the avacado salsa from El Pollo Loco! I was so happy to find this and even happier after making it and finding that it tastes just like theirs. I added a habanero pepper to give it a little more heat. I used the whole cup of water. Just so everyone knows it is a thin sauce at the restaurant, so the recipe is acurate. I used it as a dressing over a chicken and caesar salad. It is low-fat and delicious, thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2007

      I made this for PAC Fall 2007. It was quite tasty, though I will admit I think I prefer thick, chunky guacamole. We used this to pour on Baja Fish Tacos, and it was perfect for that. I also couldn't resist adding a little bit of fresh garlic -- can't help it, I love garlic in almost everything. Thanks, Deja A, for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2006

      Made the chunkier version, used it as a topping for Tex-Mex Rice #100898, and decided to use less water, salt and vinegar. It was perfect, Deja A.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for TSR Version of El Pollo Loco Avocado Sauce by Todd Wilbur

    Serving Size: 1 (61 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 56.2
     
    Calories from Fat 44
    78%
    Total Fat 4.9 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 294.7 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.3 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 0.7 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes