Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Copycat Restaurant Recipes

    Top 20 Restaurant Clones

    Top 20 Restaurant Clones

    From Cheesecake Factory to IHOP
    Red Lobster Remakes

    Red Lobster Remakes

    Make Your Own Cheddar Bay Biscuits
    15 Best Starbucks Copycats

    15 Best Starbucks Copycats

    Skip the Morning Coffee Run
    You are in: Home / Recipes / TSR Version of Chili's Southwestern Egg Rolls by Todd Wilbur Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    TSR Version of Chili's Southwestern Egg Rolls by Todd Wilbur

    Average Rating:

    84 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 84

    Sort by:

    • on May 23, 2010

      I made these for my daughters 18th birthday party and they were a hit. It took a little bit of time but worth it. I quadrupled the recipe and didn't use the toothpicks to close them. Instead I mixed 1/4 cup hot water with a heaping tablespoon on flour and made a thick paste and when rolling them up put the paste on inside edge and then put them on a wax paper lined cookie sheet seam side down. then when they were all rolled covered the top with another peace of wax paper( some people had problems with them sticking to plates and such) then covered the whole cookie sheet with plastic and popped them in the freezer overnight. Not only did they not stick to anything but the "paste " thing really worked! No tooth picks to contend with and the frying was a breeze. they were beautiful. My daughter even thought I bought them! I also want to note the flour water paste did not effect the taste. I figured the tortilla is pretty much mostly flour and water anyway. Also, not one of the 30 egg rolls i fried came undone! Great recipe and I will definitely make them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2010

      These were great! At first I was a little taken by the long list of directions, but I already had cooked chicken in the fridge and all the other steps went by quickly. It was much less time consuming than I expected. I skipped freezing these and also opted not to deep fry them. Instead I layed them out on a baking sheet, brushed them with canola oil, and baked them at 350 for 20 mins. They came out crispy and delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2010

      OMG!! I have been looking for a recipe similar to chili's. This one definetely hit the spot. My family could barely tell the difference. I did use eggroll wrappers for mine, only b/c they are easier to work with. They just come out a little crispier, not much difference,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2010

      I am in love with this recipe now. I used the same ingredients, but adjusted the amounts and ended up with about 20 egg rolls. I also chose to bake them instead of frying. I did have problems with the texture of the dipping sauce, but I'm going to blame the avocados for now. The taste was spot on! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      I've made these and they are deliciouso. I used Mexican blend cheese, doubled the recipe and I baked them at 450 degrees instead of frying. First spray them with cooking spray and they crisp up just fine. I liked the sauce but I added jalepanos to kick it up a notch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2007

      Well, I have been making these for a while now and wanted to thank you for posting this recipe! My husband and I went to Chili's a few weeks ago and he ordered these eggrolls...this is what he said to me 'i can't believe that the ones you make at home taste exactly like the ones in the restaurant' he loves these eggrolls AND the dipping sauce! DELICIOUS!!! Thank you! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2011

      I found this recipe on Top Secret Recipes years ago and everybody absolutely loves them! Although it's a lot of work, these eggrolls are so worth it. I usually make 5 or 6 batches at once and freeze some for another day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

      This was delicious. I used egg roll wrappers instead of tortillas, but otherwise, I followed the recipe. Well, I did put the cooked chicken into the food processor to mince/shred it instead of cutting it by hand. We didn't make the sauce but we're definitely going to be having the egg rolls again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2010

      I usually quadruple this recipe because we like them so much. We use egg roll wrappers, no jalapeno peppers and regular milk instead of buttermilk in the dressing. Even my kids like these and my Dh practically salivates at the mention of them. We also never freeze them I think using the egg roll wrappers makes that unnecessary. The dip is great too. I think they are better than the original. MMMmmmm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2013

      This recipe is excellent! SO much better than Chili's! I followed the recipe pretty much to spec, but I used egg roll wraps instead of tortillas. Also, I took someone else's advice on here and double wrapped them. Bad idea. They were too flaky. Much better only wrapped once. Also, the sauce didn't look green enough for me. So, I used 2 avocados. DELICIOUS!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2012

      I order this appetizer whenever we go to chilies. I think about them before walking into the restaurant and how much I am looking forward to them when I get there. The great thing is they always taste the same. They never disappoint. The sauce is just as important as the egg rolls. Anyway, I couldn't wait to try out this recipe. I made them last night and froze them. I fried them tonight. They are exactly like the appetizers at chilies. The dipping sauce tastes identical too. Please don't use egg roll wrappers. If you want them to be authentic, you have to use flour tortillas, and you have to deep fry them. If you don't have a fryer it's time you bought one. I didn't cheat on making the chicken breast either. I started a fire with charcoal and grilled them off. Make sure you dice the chicken into very small pieces like they do. With theirs, you hardly can see the chicken in them. I dissected an egg roll at chillies once until I finally spotted where the chicken was because it's THAT CHOPPED UP!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2011

      I just finished making these and they are wonderful! If you like Chili's Southwest Egg Rolls you will love these!! I pretty much doubled the chili powder and cumin that was called for in the recipe and honestly I think the recipe could use more and a tad bit of more salt because I thought it was a little on the bland side. I also used egg roll wrappers and I doubled the wrappers since they are so thin and they fried up perfectly. I didn't take the time to make the sauce, so I just got some ranch dressing and mixed it with some salsa and it really went well together. I will definitely be making these for my next get together.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2010

      Great egg rolls. I made as written and we loved them. I made the sauce ahead of time and chilled but it was not as thick when I took it out of the frig. Not sure if it was because I used low fat mayo, sour cream and milk. Loved this and will have many times again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2007

      These taste just like the Eggrolls at Chili's! Thank you so much Mysterygirl! You Rock!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2005

      Im reviewing these for a second time.. My first review for these was in July 2003. Since then I have made these several times. I made these a couple of nights ago for a dinner party, and everyone was impressed by them; they thought they made for great presentation and the flavors were fabulous!! I used a pungent red chile powder instead of the cayenne, for a bit more heat and flavor enhancement... they loved them!! Thanks again for this fabulous recipe :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2014

      Made this with Thai egg roll wraps. I didn't have toothpick for tortilla, taste as good. Plus u can freeze them for later. Delicious recipe highly recommend to serve this as an appetizer on gamedays.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2013

      These were amazing, even my picky husband loved them. I followed the recipe exactly. They are quite time consuming but so worth it. Thank you Mystergirl for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2013

      OMG, these were amazing!!! Even better than Chili's. Now the sauce, it was good but mine did not look like the one they served. Will play around with it but this is a must must must recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2013

      I always ask for this in the Chili's menu and know that I know the recipe, I will enjoy it more often. I made it for my husband and he said that the taste was very much similar, I love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2013

      These little gems were a huge hit at our Christmas Eve meal. We served appys with our soup and these were amoungst the favorites. DD thought they sounded "weird" and not too appetizing, BUT, she loved them. And then dipped in the dip, delicious. Thank you for sharing with us a new favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for TSR Version of Chili's Southwestern Egg Rolls by Todd Wilbur

    Serving Size: 1 (160 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 299.4
     
    Calories from Fat 162
    54%
    Total Fat 18.0 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 6.3 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 24.2 mg
    8%
    Sodium 1176.0 mg
    49%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.7 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    12%
    Protein 9.0 g
    18%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chicken breast fillets


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes