Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / TSR Version of Chi Chi's Sweet Corn Cake by Todd Wilbur Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    TSR Version of Chi Chi's Sweet Corn Cake by Todd Wilbur

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on May 10, 2009

      Excellent recipe. I was a little worried after mixing that the texture would be poor, but after baking it came out almost exactly like the sweet corn cake at El Torito. I had to make some substitutions and it still came out well. I finely ground cornmeal to replace the masa harina, used milk instead of cream and canned corn instead of frozen corn. I would recommend it for any Mexican-food meal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2012

      This was delicious! I made two changes: I used masa harina instead of the cornmeal and I added one egg to the recipe (I had a surplus of eggs and wanted to get rid of one). We enjoyed it with a bowl of spicy chili!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2012

      pretty good. I do like it a little crispy on the edges which it won't do in a steam bath. Eat when it is hot because if you allow to cool and try to reheat, it becomes dry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2012

    • on November 12, 2011

      I have been making this for years. It is awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2011

      This is now my favorite corn bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2011

      We tried this same recipe as found on AllRecipes (posted by Lee Ann Clarke). ONLY difference was to combine the cornmeal with the sugar/cream, etc. No matter. This was GREAT! My DS loves the tomalito at Chevy's and he thought this nailed it. I also love that it was made in the oven, as Chevy's does, not steamed on stovetop. I really thought there couldn't be enough liquid, and double checked the recipe, but it was right, and the results were great. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

      Excellent recipe! I love sweet corn cake and this tasted fabulous! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      This is exactly how I remember the sweet corncake from there. I used to work there and the corncake was the best dang thing on the menu.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      This is a great recipe! I used fresh corn and all cornmeal, as that's what I had on hand. It didn't take quite as long to cook as stated and the only thing I would change going forward is to cut down on the sugar, as mine turned out too sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2009

      I am so glad that I could find this recipe online! Thank you so much. Just in case anyone cannot find "masa harina", the bag I found at my grocery store is called Maseca "instant corn flour" and my guess is harina means flour as this tasted EXACTLY like Chi Chi's recipe. We love it, thank you so much, I'd give it 100 stars if I could!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      I love sweet corn cake and am thrilled I can now make restaurant-quality corn cakes at home! The only substitution I made was since I had no heavy cream, I used milk. The cakes had a tendency to fall apart, which I'm sure had something to do with that. The flavor was sweet, rich and decadent ... just what you want when you're serving them alongside spicy Mexican food! The only caution: double or triple the recipe! You'll find these hard to resist!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2008

      I made this for my family tonight. I doubled the recipe (as I have to do with everything I make) and it was all gone. The only changes I made were, adding all cornmeal because I did not have any masa harina, and I was out of half and half, so I used evaporated milk. it turned out awesome! Tasted just like the real thing. Thanks for this recipe! I will be making it over and over again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2008

      Very delicious and my 3 kids loved it. I would definitely double this recipe if you have more than 4 people to feed as by my standards, this only serves 4-6. Maybe we all just liked it so much, we were eating more than we needed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2008

      I've been wanting to make this recipe forever. I finally bought some masa harina to make tamales, and I made this tonight. This was amazing. If I could give it 10 stars, I would. The only change I made was to use fresh sweet corn rather than frozen, as it was what I had on hand. Two ears steamed in the microwave made the 1 1/2 cups. The sweet corn really was a great substitution. This was the best recipe on Chi Chi's menu, and now I can have it at home! Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2008

      Made it for my mom for mother's day. My parents loved it and said it tasted just like Chi-chi's

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2007

      I am sorry, but I just didn't like the way this one turned out. It smelled great and had the correct texture, but it seemed to be lacking in flavor. All I could taste was butter and a "raw cornmeal" taste. Comment from my son: "too much butter" Comment from my husband: "not as good as the ones we get from Don Pablos" No comment from my two-year old, she just didn't eat it. I am sorry, but this one just wasn't for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2007

      Delicious! I bought a huge bag of masa harina so that I could make this recipe (it was the only size of bag they had at the store), so I was really hoping I'd like this one. It's a little bit time-consuming to make, but not too bad, and the results really are outstanding. This made 6 1/4 cup servings for us. Thank you so much for posting this; I'm sure I'll be using up the rest of my masa harina on this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2007

      I love this recipe. I have been making this for several years, and it is to die for. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2006

      This was fantastic! I always order this at the restaurant, now I can make this at home!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for TSR Version of Chi Chi's Sweet Corn Cake by Todd Wilbur

    Serving Size: 1 (59 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 205.3
     
    Calories from Fat 121
    58%
    Total Fat 13.4 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 8.2 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 35.6 mg
    11%
    Sodium 200.8 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.5 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 8.3 g
    33%
    Protein 1.8 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes