18 Reviews

I worked at Chi-Chi's from 1985-1991 and I always loved these nachos. Just a couple corrections to make them more authentic...at Chi-Chi's we put the jalapenos on the nachos after cooking them, not before. Also - we would build and cook the nachos on the whole 6" round fried corn tortillas and cut them with a pizza cutter after cooking them.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
doug68 January 28, 2011

I've never had Chi Chi's nachos, so I'm not sure how they should've tasted, but these were great!! I left out the beans just becuase I don't care for them and added onion to the beef while it was cooking. I garnished with tomatoes and black olives, and omitted jalepeno's because the salsa I used had plenty of them in it. This was a quick, filling dinner and would make it again. Thanks Annacia!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimboleyanne January 01, 2011

Very yummy. I used ground turkey, less salt and cheese, and more beans and water. The two of us ate this as our meal, and it was really satisfying!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito February 18, 2011

5 Stars! I've never had ChiChi's Nachos, but wherever they come from, these are excellent! They are a bit time-consuming....normally I just spread the tortillas out and sprinkle away, but this made every individual chip an absolute treasure. Originally planned to make this Superbowl Sunday, but alas, I ended up with too much food and made these the next day. I used ground sirloin to reduce the greasiness, but otherwise made as posted. So, so good!!! Made for Best of Tag 2010....thanks for posting this wonderful recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom February 07, 2011

I used to go to Chi-Chi's all the time before they closed. I love nachos and these were delicious!!! I did do things different, in that, I cooked the meat and seasoned it, moved it to one side, added the beans to the other side to heat up. I also used green onion and didn't have the jalapeno pepper. Served with some salsa and sour cream!! Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for Stars Tag game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 June 23, 2010

I agree with TeresaS. To make assembly a bit easier I mixed the beef and beans together and put a dollop on each tortilla. I used more water than the recipe called for because I thought it was a little dry. Just my preference. The only addition I made in regard to spices was to add some cumin, a must for me with Tex-Mex food. I served the nachos with sliced jalapenos (from a jar), green onions, sour cream, salsa and olives. Very good recipe. Thanks!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smithduke December 31, 2008

Great easy meal on a hot day. Made fresh chips, Yum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound July 18, 2013

These were good, thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelly in TO July 16, 2013

I made this exactly as written for our Super Bowl night. Thank you for this great game day meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour February 07, 2012
TSR Version of Chi-Chi's Beef Nachos Grande by Todd Wilbur