Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / TSR Version of Cheesecake Factory Chicken Madeira by Todd Wilbur Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    TSR Version of Cheesecake Factory Chicken Madeira by Todd Wilbur

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on October 13, 2011

      I have not made this yet, but loved it at The Cheesecake Factory. I will say that after reading all of the reviews/comments on this recipe, everyone is saying the same thing "the sauce/gravy is to thin". When I had this at Cheesecake Factory the sauce was not very thick. If you want your sauce thick and don't want the taste of cornstarch of flour, turn up the heat a little bit and let it reduce a bit longer. I am in Culinary school right now and have been told that sometimes things will take a bit longer to reduce, this will also help cook off the alcohol taste. Will try this when I make it myself. Good luck everyone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      fantastic recipe. folks who are getting a weird taste are probably not cooking their gravy enough. here's how i fixed mine. after step #8 (sauteeing mushrooms), i poured in the madeira to deglaze the pan. bring to a boil and stir, scraping all bits off. eventually the pan should look clean (except the liquid in it, of course). add butter and 1 c. of stock to pan and simmer. while that's simmering, take remaining 1 c. of stock, add 3 T. of flour and stir well (you can even put in a jar and shake really hard) to make a slurry. raise heat to med-high and slowly stir in slurry. cook for another 10-15 mins or so, stirring often. check for taste (salt, pepper, etc.) and if it still tastes to strongly of alcohol for your liking, try cooking a little more. the sauce is excellent and worth the trouble!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2013

      This is definitely the best thing i have ever made and one of the best meals i have ever had. As the cheese, i have substituted havarti - wonderful!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2011

      Excellent!!!!! Almost like the CCFactory...and the reason why I say Almost..probably cause I couldn't find Madeira Wine..so I used Port wine...but still VERY good!!! And yes, like the original, the sauce was not very thick....So happy I found this recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2011

      One thing to know when using cornstarch in most recipes is that it could be added to COLD liquids only...do not add it to hot mixtures, as it will clump!

      Secondly, I have a lot of food allergies and found out during a visit to the Cheesecake Factory that they use veal stock in their recipe, which may contribute to the difference in the flavor for some. They also flour the chicken before pan frying it as some have suggested. No egg though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2010

      Pretty good. Too salty (and I only used one builion cube and a dab of beef demiglaze to give more depth of flavor). I also think the cheescake recipe is probably breaded or flowered or something

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2010

      This is not even close to the real thing. Your missing one key compenet. The Chicken has a egg batter and has been dipped in eggs before cooking.

      I would love to have the real recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2010

      Absolutely 5 stars or more! This is the best company dish for both appearance and taste! I have had multiple requests for doing it again. I have served it with garlic mashed potatoes, but think it would go great with rice or pasta. Like everyone says, well worth the effort for the sauce, and if you don't find madeira, there's marsala wine...guess it would be chicken marsala then, but in any case, it is so tasty! One of my favorite recipes on zaar and that's saying a LOT! Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2010

      I cooked this for my family and they loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2010

      I absolutely love this dish at the cheesecake factory and this recipe lives up to the real thing! It is almost spot on to the real thing! Im sure if you had the same brand wine they use, it would be exactly like it! I used a cheap $4 Taylor madeira wine and the sauce came out slightly sweeter than the original but we loved it that way. I think we liked it even better than the original! The original copycat recipe doesnt have the corn starch and it isnt needed to make it exactly like the original. But if you like the cornstarch then by all means add it! If you reduce it right, you will be left with only about a cup of sauce left and a very dark, slightly thicker sauce. It still is thin, like the restaurants is. But that way when your pour it over your chicken it will soak in instead of just sitting on top like a gravy. I served these with Sinfully Delish Garlic Mashed Potatoes , and it went perfect together! This is a keeper and deserves 50 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

      This recipe was SO good. I was suprised by how close to the original it tasted. I will make this again it was so yummy. For those who were having problems with the recipe...don't rush the reduction. The sauce will taste awful if you try to thicken it before all the alcohol is simmered out of the pot. Taste, taste taste! I also ended up adding a 1/2 tsp of beef boullion to the sauce while it was reducing. (which made the sauce taste richer.) and next time will add another cup of fresh muchrooms to the left over sauce.... As for the cornstarch, you do need it. Mix a tablespoon with a little water IN ANOTHER BOWL. then laddle some of the sauce into THE OTHER BOWL. When it is mixed thoroughly you can add that to the entire pot. (This will eliminate the CHUNKS(?) people said they were getting. VERY GOOD RECIPE I LOVED IT! It does make a lot of sauce, which can just be frozen and saved for the next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2009

      The review I read was correct. The sauce was very lumpy. Luckily I took some out before add the cornstarch. I altered the recipe, took away and added a few things. And this was really really close to the cheesecake factory flavor. I will be posting my recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2009

      This was excellent!I had it at the Cheesecake Factory a few weekes ago,and I made it for dinner tonite and it was delicious.I served it with mashed potatos.I added quite a bit or cornstarch because I knew this sauce was not going to thicken on its own.I could see why someone else said it was watery,you NEED the cornstarch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2009

      This tasted nothing like the Cheesecake Factory dish. The sauce never thickened and I DID add the corn starch paste, which only created big jelly like lumps that would not reduce. I just removed the lumps and served the not so thick sauce. Although the sauce never thickened, it didn't even taste good...very watery tasting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2009

      WOW! My mouth was watering while I was making it! I was simmering the sauce when I was reading all the previous reviews, and decided after the 20 minutes to just add a few tsp of the cornstarch, and that worked perfectly! It was absolutly delicious, I wouldn't have thought to use beef broth, I would have assumed chicken broth. Anyhow... I love it, and can't wait to make it for my dad... he loves when I make him new dishes!! Thanks for the tasty recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2009

      I agree with "sheri." I was very disappointed in this recipe, especially after trying the real thing at CF about a month ago...not even close. While the chicken was very tasty and tender, the sauce was aweful. It tastes like someone poured a bottle of Madeira on my chicken, instead of tasting like a sauce. I used Paul Masson, maybe that was a bad choice? I added a little soy sauce, about a TSP of sugar and some corn starch. Next time, I will used less wine. Very disappointing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      This was fantastic! We couldn't find the madeira wine, so I think we ended up using a port. Anyway, it was fabulous! I would make this again AND order it at the restaraunt :) haha!! It really was that good. We only ended up serving a salad with it -- as it was a whole meal itself. I said that mashed potatoes would be great with it and the hubby thought pasta/rice. Either way, this is a great recipe! Thanks for a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      this was EXCELLENT. i too first heard of this dish at the cheesecake factory and get it everytime i go. i am cooking a 4 course meal for my boyfriend for valentine's day and i was searching for something that wasn't too hard to make, but was excellent at the same time. this is definitely my entree. i tried it tonight for a test run before the big night. it is very, very, very similar to the dish at the cheesecake factory, if not the exact recipe. i haven't had it in a while so i can't compare any recent visits, but i can't wait to make this for valentine's day. i'm no chef, but i enjoy cooking and i think this is probably the best thing i have ever made. i also halfed the sauce recipe and added some cornstarch. it thickened it up and was more than enough to cover 2 fillets. try this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2009

      So Delicious! Just like Cheesecake Factory's! This makes a lot of sauce. I cut the sauce in half and still had plenty left over. I did have to add cornstarch after letting it reduce to thicken the sauce. Great served with mashed potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2008

      I thought this dish was gross. Perhaps I did something wrong but the flavor was too sweet and the sauce was goopy. I would not make it again or recommend it. Yuk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for TSR Version of Cheesecake Factory Chicken Madeira by Todd Wilbur

    Serving Size: 1 (1062 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1012.3
     
    Calories from Fat 413
    40%
    Total Fat 45.9 g
    70%
    Saturated Fat 15.7 g
    78%
    Cholesterol 211.9 mg
    70%
    Sodium 1609.7 mg
    67%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.9 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 5.5 g
    22%
    Protein 69.5 g
    139%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes