31 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have not made this yet, but loved it at The Cheesecake Factory. I will say that after reading all of the reviews/comments on this recipe, everyone is saying the same thing "the sauce/gravy is to thin". When I had this at Cheesecake Factory the sauce was not very thick. If you want your sauce thick and don't want the taste of cornstarch of flour, turn up the heat a little bit and let it reduce a bit longer. I am in Culinary school right now and have been told that sometimes things will take a bit longer to reduce, this will also help cook off the alcohol taste. Will try this when I make it myself. Good luck everyone.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
B-Rock66 October 13, 2011

fantastic recipe. folks who are getting a weird taste are probably not cooking their gravy enough. here's how i fixed mine. after step #8 (sauteeing mushrooms), i poured in the madeira to deglaze the pan. bring to a boil and stir, scraping all bits off. eventually the pan should look clean (except the liquid in it, of course). add butter and 1 c. of stock to pan and simmer. while that's simmering, take remaining 1 c. of stock, add 3 T. of flour and stir well (you can even put in a jar and shake really hard) to make a slurry. raise heat to med-high and slowly stir in slurry. cook for another 10-15 mins or so, stirring often. check for taste (salt, pepper, etc.) and if it still tastes to strongly of alcohol for your liking, try cooking a little more. the sauce is excellent and worth the trouble!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jimnyo January 04, 2010

This is definitely the best thing i have ever made and one of the best meals i have ever had. As the cheese, i have substituted havarti - wonderful!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rdaniels1150 April 29, 2013

Excellent recipe! Taste almost like Cheesecake Factory's

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jmorici4 January 05, 2015

Excellent!!!!! Almost like the CCFactory...and the reason why I say Almost..probably cause I couldn't find Madeira Wine..so I used Port wine...but still VERY good!!! And yes, like the original, the sauce was not very thick....So happy I found this recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jobee75 November 01, 2011

One thing to know when using cornstarch in most recipes is that it could be added to COLD liquids only...do not add it to hot mixtures, as it will clump!

Secondly, I have a lot of food allergies and found out during a visit to the Cheesecake Factory that they use veal stock in their recipe, which may contribute to the difference in the flavor for some. They also flour the chicken before pan frying it as some have suggested. No egg though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pebbles992 May 10, 2011

Pretty good. Too salty (and I only used one builion cube and a dab of beef demiglaze to give more depth of flavor). I also think the cheescake recipe is probably breaded or flowered or something

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sagearbor October 16, 2010

This is not even close to the real thing. Your missing one key compenet. The Chicken has a egg batter and has been dipped in eggs before cooking.

I would love to have the real recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
handsomecook September 01, 2010

Absolutely 5 stars or more! This is the best company dish for both appearance and taste! I have had multiple requests for doing it again. I have served it with garlic mashed potatoes, but think it would go great with rice or pasta. Like everyone says, well worth the effort for the sauce, and if you don't find madeira, there's marsala wine...guess it would be chicken marsala then, but in any case, it is so tasty! One of my favorite recipes on zaar and that's saying a LOT! Thanks so much for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laurita June 16, 2010

I cooked this for my family and they loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bumble_bee80 May 18, 2010
TSR Version of Cheesecake Factory Chicken Madeira by Todd Wilbur