Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / TSR Version of Applebee's Baked French Onion Soup by Todd Wilbur Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    TSR Version of Applebee's Baked French Onion Soup by Todd Wilbur

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on October 31, 2003

      This was very good french onion soup. I used onion rolls instead of the hamburger buns but changed nothing else. My boyfriend had never had french onion and he ate two bowls. This will become a winter staple in our house. Thanks for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2011

      Great soup! I do not add the salt and use Rusk instead of hamburger buns but otherwise follow the directions as is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2011

      So easy to make! I thought of trying to add some protein to the meal to make it a more complete and filling dish...so I added TOFU!!!! It was so delicious. I used 1 package of frozen tofu that was thawed out and cut into cubes. Freezing tofu can alter the texture causing it to become more dense. I put the tofu in the same time that you add the beef broth. Remember: Using tofu in the soup is like putting a sponge in it. It soaks up a lot of broth so my soup was more chunky than usual but still so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2010

      Easy to make! I had never made french onion soup for my family before and have to admit that I was a little nervous about if the teenagers would like it. Both my 14 and my 16 year old commented on how good it was! I made it with vidallia onions instead of white and I think I may have used a little too much, but good anyhow! Thanks for a quick and easy recipe to warm up the cold nights!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2009

      I love this soup!! it so easy and quick to make! Instead of hamburger buns, i use crispy melba toasts, or seasoned croutons!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2009

      I thought this soup was "flat". Although it is amazingly easy to make, it basically tastes like stock and onions. Its a good start. I "doctored" it up with 3 shakes of worecestershire sauce, 3/4 c. red wine, 2 bay leaves, more pepper, 2 garlic cloves and 1/4 tsp. corn starch. Also added a splash of kitchen bouquet (browning & seasoning sauce). Adding these ingredients took less than 2 minutes, but made a world of difference. Loved the idea about the large bread crumb.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2009

      This was amazing. I made it just last night for my friends and family. It was a hit and definitely something I will make again and again. The only difference I did, was I added a bit more garlic powder and black pepper. One of my friends that HATES onions LOVED this dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2009

      I have made this a few times and tweaked the recipe just a little bit to make it from good to fabulous! First, make absolutely certain you do not let the onions brown. I let them brown a little bit one time by accident, and it wasn't half as good. I add just a little bit of minced garlic into soup while its cooking, not much. Then I use sourdough bread instead of hamburger buns and that way you don't have to cook the bread before putting it on the soup. Then continue broiling like the recipe says. This recipe though is definitely a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      Very good soup for a nice chilly day!! Used texas toast bread instead of buns.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2008

      I made this exactly, except I halved it. It was very good. Next time I will putt the cheese directly on top of the soup, and the broil it. Then put the crouton on top. Thanks for the recipe. ~Chris~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2008

      I used to work for Applebee's - the hamburger buns were actually crackers called "Rusk" and you can buy them at most large stores. They are like giant round croutons.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2007

      Fantastic soup. Easy to make and extra yummy too :) Used Chicken broth instead of beef but still worked a treat (oh and added a splash of worstishire sauce instead of salt) Will be making again real soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2007

      THIS WAS THE BEST I EVER MADE. I followed the recipe exactly---then put it all in a crockpot on low; added 1 small can of v-8 spicy and let it bubble along for 2 hrs. The house smelled so good. The flavor was outstanding and the color deep and rich. I used rusk in big soup cups and melted a provolone slice on top in the microwave. THIS WAS DA BOMB!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2007

      This was very good! I made double because of company and wanted leftovers tomorrow... But there wasn't any to save, it all went very quickly! Thanks for the great recipe Spatchcock!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2007

      Turned out great and was very easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2007

    • on January 24, 2006

      This was perfect & so easy! Thank you so much!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2005

      This was Wonderfull. Easy and delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for TSR Version of Applebee's Baked French Onion Soup by Todd Wilbur

    Serving Size: 1 (423 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 391.3
     
    Calories from Fat 194
    49%
    Total Fat 21.5 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 9.6 g
    48%
    Cholesterol 32.2 mg
    10%
    Sodium 2745.5 mg
    114%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.3 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 7.1 g
    28%
    Protein 20.2 g
    40%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes