505 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I used my KitchenAid mixer with this wonderful recipe. I used the paddle attachment to mix the first 6 ingredients, then switched to my dough hook and added in 4 cups of bread flour. I let the mixer knead the dough on speed 2 for about 3-5 minutes, until it was smooth, elastic and beautiful. I did not find any problems with the dough being too sticky or having to add more flour. I let my dough rise in a towel-covered bowl inside my oven (after I turned it to 400F and then turned it off). About an hour later it had doubled and it was the easiest dough to work with! Like others, I used unsalted butter anywhere margarine was called for. I cut 1-inch rolls to stretch this delicious recipe and then let them rise a second time in the warm oven.

I will never make cinnamon rolls another way again. :o)

94 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Adria82 March 25, 2011

Great recipe but missing a lot of instruction for novices such as the correct temperature of the milk (which is very important when mixing with yeast), how long to knead and/or what texture to look for to know the kneading is completed, what size baking pan to use and, although it may seem obvious, it should be specified that the dough should be rolled "tightly" otherwise the rolls will not turn out correctly. Also, shouldn't there be a 2nd rising? I don't know if it's required but every other cinnamon roll recipe advises the rolls to be risen a second time until doubled in size before baking. I did this and they turned out great so I can't imagine doing without the 2nd rising. The flavors are very good, the recipe is just missing a lot of very important information.

67 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuzyDuzy November 22, 2009

One of the things they do at the restaurant to keep the filling in is to use a rolling pin after they sprinkle the cinnamon mixture on the dough.

60 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bob in Oregon February 12, 2011

Wow! This was my first time making cinnamon rolls because I am so picky about them, I just didn't think that I would be able to make them up to my own standards. I hate getting a dry cinnamon roll with gross frosting. I was surprised how amazingly good these turned out! They were soft, gooey, sticky, buttery, and sweet, but not too sweet. I made the following changes: I used butter instead of margerine, I used a little extra cinnamon (saigon) and mixed the cinnamon/sugar mixture with a stick of softened butter then spread it on the dough. I had trouble with the dough rising so a friend suggested that I use the "proof box" method in the oven and it worked great! (Turn the oven on to about 150-200 degrees, put a pot of boiling water in the oven, then the bowl with the dough and make sure it's covered with a cloth, then turn off the oven and shut the door. The dough rises much faster this way) And I did do a second rise after the rolls were in the pan. And I also used the dental floss method to cut the rolls and they came out beautifully. I am so happy with this recipe! Everyone that tasted these were so impressed. I will keep making these as long as I live! One more note: the dough is VERY sticky so I added more flour and it was still sticky. I didn't want them to be dry so I just kept my hands, board, and rolling pin floured when working with the dough and it was fine.

39 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheekygreek November 01, 2010

I have made this twice. The first time I added about a cup extra of flour in the dough, completed step 10, rolled in plastic wrap & stored it in the fridge. The next day I cut half into rolls and baked with excellent results. (6 rolls per 9X13 pan - be sure to raise a second time.) The final six I baked the third day. I wouldn't recommend this because liquid started separating from the dough. I still had good results, though. The next time I didn't add any extra flour and had a terrible time with the dough sticking to the surface when rolling (I really did flour the surface before rolling). I was concerned, but the results were still outstanding. It is worth the extra few cents to buy the better cinnamon. I used Saigon. Thanks for posting this wonderful recipe. Update: After making many times, I decided to freeze them. I roll, cut, and place 3 (1 for each family member) in each greased foil pie pan, cover w/foil and place in freezer bags to freeze. To bake, the night before I remove the pan from the bag,uncover,and place into an unlit oven, leaving the oven light on for slight warmth. By morning, they have risen and are ready to bake. (I place the foil pan on an airbake sheet to bake.)So far I've had great results. This also allows us to enjoy them over time instead of all at once.

19 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LovesCookingHatesDishwashing September 30, 2011

I've been making mine like these for years! They are good. I always do mine in the bread machine on the dough setting. Really easy that way. I get asked every year to make these for the kids who volunteer to clean up our downtown in April. It always rains that day, so I'd much prefer making them these yummy rolls than sweeping the streets! When I need a smaller batch, I just cut the recipe in half. They have to be refrigerated for food safety if you don't eat them all. I put them in sandwich bags then freeze them and then when my husband wants one, he takes it out of the freezer, sticks it in the microwave and he's got fresh yummy cinnamon rolls and I didn't have to do anything! Love that! They are just like fresh made when put in the microwave for 1 minute. I let them rise a second time before baking and since the dough is warm from the bread machine, they rise pretty quickly, less than an hour. I put them in a 13 X 9 inch cake pan (for the whole batch) with high sides (at least 2 inches). I only put 3 Tbs. oil in the dough and that's enough and I use butter instead of margarine. I didn't notice the amount of liquid in this recipe but I put one egg in a two cup measuring cup then add enough water to equal 1 1/3 C. of liquid. They are perfect every time!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sharonhansen51 April 19, 2011

Wow!!! These truly are spot on for cinnabon cinnamon rolls. We loved them & will make them again & again. I used Penzey's Korintje Cassia cinnamon with excellent results. I did add 1 T. flour to the filling and placed them in 2 (9x13) pans to allow plenty of room for expansion. I also let them rise about 30 minutes before baking. After several attempts at different temperatures & for different lengths of time, I decided I prefer them baked for 15 minutes at 375. Thank you for a delicious cinnamon roll recipe!!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin'ontheFly February 20, 2010

these were very yummy! they did require 5 minutes longer baking. the only ingredient change i would make is to cut back on the sugar in the dough-it's just a bit too sweet for me. i converted these to gluten-free and had no issues. here are a few tips to baking novices: 1) the temperature of "warm milk" should be just that-warm. it should not be boiling. it should feel like warm bath water. if it's anything hotter it will kill the yeast. 2) when any recipe calls for margarine or butter always use an unsalted version. if you only have salted butter available omit approximately 1/8 t. salt. 3) if the recipe calls for one rising-follow it. allow the dough to rise one time. if, after baking, you decide you'd like to tweak the recipe to include 2 risings, well, then so be it! allowing the dough to rise allows gas bubbles to form in the dough from the yeast. so, by doing a second rising you're allowing the dough to become more "airy" and fluffy vs. the density it would have been with only one rising. 4) while the pan size may not be specified in this recipe you should always opt for a smaller pan vs a bigger pan. for these rolls, i used a 10 inch round and placed the rolls approximately 1/2 inch apart and that was perfect. an 8 inch round would have worked as well and would have caused the rolls to rise upward a bit more.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Varner Family April 30, 2012

The ingredients are pretty spot on, except butter is always better than margarine as it helps the rolls brown. The recipe is written really poorly and leaves out important steps. Please visit my blog if you need better directions.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sh1mm3r December 27, 2010

If you want a good laugh, read this. I followed the recipe that I printed off. When I was done mixing the dough, I thought it sure doesn't feel right. I looked at my recipe that I printed out and then I looked at the recipe on the computer. On my printed page it said to use 1 1/4 oz of yeast (it left off the () ) and then it didn't have the sugar on it. As you can guess, I'm not a baker and I put 5 packets of yeast in the dough. So now I have started over and I believe they will turn out just as good as everyone says they will.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kidstookitall December 20, 2010
TSR 1993 Version of Cinnabon Cinnamon Rolls by Todd Wilbur