Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / TSR 1993 Version of Cinnabon Cinnamon Rolls by Todd Wilbur Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    TSR 1993 Version of Cinnabon Cinnamon Rolls by Todd Wilbur

    Average Rating:

    488 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 488

    Sort by:

    • on March 25, 2011

      I used my KitchenAid mixer with this wonderful recipe. I used the paddle attachment to mix the first 6 ingredients, then switched to my dough hook and added in 4 cups of bread flour. I let the mixer knead the dough on speed 2 for about 3-5 minutes, until it was smooth, elastic and beautiful. I did not find any problems with the dough being too sticky or having to add more flour. I let my dough rise in a towel-covered bowl inside my oven (after I turned it to 400F and then turned it off). About an hour later it had doubled and it was the easiest dough to work with! Like others, I used unsalted butter anywhere margarine was called for. I cut 1-inch rolls to stretch this delicious recipe and then let them rise a second time in the warm oven.

      I will never make cinnamon rolls another way again. :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2009

      Great recipe but missing a lot of instruction for novices such as the correct temperature of the milk (which is very important when mixing with yeast), how long to knead and/or what texture to look for to know the kneading is completed, what size baking pan to use and, although it may seem obvious, it should be specified that the dough should be rolled "tightly" otherwise the rolls will not turn out correctly. Also, shouldn't there be a 2nd rising? I don't know if it's required but every other cinnamon roll recipe advises the rolls to be risen a second time until doubled in size before baking. I did this and they turned out great so I can't imagine doing without the 2nd rising. The flavors are very good, the recipe is just missing a lot of very important information.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2011

      One of the things they do at the restaurant to keep the filling in is to use a rolling pin after they sprinkle the cinnamon mixture on the dough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2010

      Wow! This was my first time making cinnamon rolls because I am so picky about them, I just didn't think that I would be able to make them up to my own standards. I hate getting a dry cinnamon roll with gross frosting. I was surprised how amazingly good these turned out! They were soft, gooey, sticky, buttery, and sweet, but not too sweet. I made the following changes: I used butter instead of margerine, I used a little extra cinnamon (saigon) and mixed the cinnamon/sugar mixture with a stick of softened butter then spread it on the dough. I had trouble with the dough rising so a friend suggested that I use the "proof box" method in the oven and it worked great! (Turn the oven on to about 150-200 degrees, put a pot of boiling water in the oven, then the bowl with the dough and make sure it's covered with a cloth, then turn off the oven and shut the door. The dough rises much faster this way) And I did do a second rise after the rolls were in the pan. And I also used the dental floss method to cut the rolls and they came out beautifully. I am so happy with this recipe! Everyone that tasted these were so impressed. I will keep making these as long as I live! One more note: the dough is VERY sticky so I added more flour and it was still sticky. I didn't want them to be dry so I just kept my hands, board, and rolling pin floured when working with the dough and it was fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2011

      I have made this twice. The first time I added about a cup extra of flour in the dough, completed step 10, rolled in plastic wrap & stored it in the fridge. The next day I cut half into rolls and baked with excellent results. (6 rolls per 9X13 pan - be sure to raise a second time.) The final six I baked the third day. I wouldn't recommend this because liquid started separating from the dough. I still had good results, though. The next time I didn't add any extra flour and had a terrible time with the dough sticking to the surface when rolling (I really did flour the surface before rolling). I was concerned, but the results were still outstanding. It is worth the extra few cents to buy the better cinnamon. I used Saigon. Thanks for posting this wonderful recipe. Update: After making many times, I decided to freeze them. I roll, cut, and place 3 (1 for each family member) in each greased foil pie pan, cover w/foil and place in freezer bags to freeze. To bake, the night before I remove the pan from the bag,uncover,and place into an unlit oven, leaving the oven light on for slight warmth. By morning, they have risen and are ready to bake. (I place the foil pan on an airbake sheet to bake.)So far I've had great results. This also allows us to enjoy them over time instead of all at once.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2011

      I've been making mine like these for years! They are good. I always do mine in the bread machine on the dough setting. Really easy that way. I get asked every year to make these for the kids who volunteer to clean up our downtown in April. It always rains that day, so I'd much prefer making them these yummy rolls than sweeping the streets! When I need a smaller batch, I just cut the recipe in half. They have to be refrigerated for food safety if you don't eat them all. I put them in sandwich bags then freeze them and then when my husband wants one, he takes it out of the freezer, sticks it in the microwave and he's got fresh yummy cinnamon rolls and I didn't have to do anything! Love that! They are just like fresh made when put in the microwave for 1 minute. I let them rise a second time before baking and since the dough is warm from the bread machine, they rise pretty quickly, less than an hour. I put them in a 13 X 9 inch cake pan (for the whole batch) with high sides (at least 2 inches). I only put 3 Tbs. oil in the dough and that's enough and I use butter instead of margarine. I didn't notice the amount of liquid in this recipe but I put one egg in a two cup measuring cup then add enough water to equal 1 1/3 C. of liquid. They are perfect every time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      Wow!!! These truly are spot on for cinnabon cinnamon rolls. We loved them & will make them again & again. I used Penzey's Korintje Cassia cinnamon with excellent results. I did add 1 T. flour to the filling and placed them in 2 (9x13) pans to allow plenty of room for expansion. I also let them rise about 30 minutes before baking. After several attempts at different temperatures & for different lengths of time, I decided I prefer them baked for 15 minutes at 375. Thank you for a delicious cinnamon roll recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2012

      these were very yummy! they did require 5 minutes longer baking. the only ingredient change i would make is to cut back on the sugar in the dough-it's just a bit too sweet for me. i converted these to gluten-free and had no issues. here are a few tips to baking novices: 1) the temperature of "warm milk" should be just that-warm. it should not be boiling. it should feel like warm bath water. if it's anything hotter it will kill the yeast. 2) when any recipe calls for margarine or butter always use an unsalted version. if you only have salted butter available omit approximately 1/8 t. salt. 3) if the recipe calls for one rising-follow it. allow the dough to rise one time. if, after baking, you decide you'd like to tweak the recipe to include 2 risings, well, then so be it! allowing the dough to rise allows gas bubbles to form in the dough from the yeast. so, by doing a second rising you're allowing the dough to become more "airy" and fluffy vs. the density it would have been with only one rising. 4) while the pan size may not be specified in this recipe you should always opt for a smaller pan vs a bigger pan. for these rolls, i used a 10 inch round and placed the rolls approximately 1/2 inch apart and that was perfect. an 8 inch round would have worked as well and would have caused the rolls to rise upward a bit more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2010

      The ingredients are pretty spot on, except butter is always better than margarine as it helps the rolls brown. The recipe is written really poorly and leaves out important steps. Please visit my blog if you need better directions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2010

      If you want a good laugh, read this. I followed the recipe that I printed off. When I was done mixing the dough, I thought it sure doesn't feel right. I looked at my recipe that I printed out and then I looked at the recipe on the computer. On my printed page it said to use 1 1/4 oz of yeast (it left off the () ) and then it didn't have the sugar on it. As you can guess, I'm not a baker and I put 5 packets of yeast in the dough. So now I have started over and I believe they will turn out just as good as everyone says they will.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      These were a HUGE hit with us! I put the ingredients in my bread machine and let the dough cycle do the work, than rolled out the dough, filled it and cut the rolls. I stored them on a cookie sheet in the fridge overnight covered with a tea towel. The next morning I let them sit out for about half an hour, than baked them and they were absolutely perfect! 5 of us managed to consume all 12 of them lol :) The only changes I made were subbing butter for margerine and cooking at 375 for 15 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2010

      Love these! I used my bread machine and then removed the dough to roll them out. I added chopped pecans to the brown sugar mixture and even topped them with toasted pecans after icing. My first batch I refrigerated overnight before baking. The second batch I put in the freezer and will thaw it before baking. Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2011

      These were pretty good, but they didn't keep very well. Rolls that were leftover the next day were harder (even though I had kept them covered) and putting them in the microwave for a little bit helped soften them, but didn't fix it 100%. I recommend only making these if you have a big enough group to eat them in one sitting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2010

      Ok! I love these buns. But Not being a fan of milk products I've made a few changes: I replaced the margerine with sunflower oil, and the milk with warmed soya milk. I use 2 cups of string white flour, plus 2 cups strong wholemeal flour. The original frosting recipie is completely omitted, in favour of a simple drizzle of icing made with sugar and a little boiled water. Everything else follows as per the recipie instructions, and the calories reduce to 484 per serving :)

      1/4 ounce package dry yeast,
      1 cup soya milk,
      1/2 cup granulated sugar,
      1/3 cup sunflower oil,
      1 teaspoon salt,
      2 eggs,
      2 cups strong white flour,
      2 cups strong wholemeal flour,
      1 cup packed brown sugar,
      2 1/2 tablespoons cinnamon,
      1/3 cup sunflower oil,
      6 tablespoons sunflower oil,
      1 1/2 cups powdered sugar,
      1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      Wow were these heavy. They were great tasting and the dough was an absolute dream to work with. But they did turn out extremely rich, if i were to make them again i would decrease the brown sugar/cinnamon filling to 3/4 cup : 2 TBS as i felt it was too much and i would have liked to taste more dough than filling. There was also plenty of icing & 8 Tablespoons is way too much butter (i used butter in place of marg) in the icing and next time would be using something lighter, the butter was over-powering. One more thing i would do differently is spread the icing on after cooling the rolls slightly, the Last step doesn't specify whether to spread it right away or after cooling a bit. I ended up spreading all the icing over the top, the heat caused it to melt and it looked like it had drowned in icing. The heaviness sort of ruined them for me. Sorry for bad review, i will definately be making them again but reduce the butter and filling to suit my taste buds. Regardless of these things, i would give the dough a 5-out-of-5 rating! For the dough i poured milk into microwave safe bowl, heat in microwave on high for about 1 1/2 mins, then sprinkled the yeast straight over, which made it easy to dissolve then add everything else. It's the Best dough ever, it was really easy to spread and i loved the taste and soft texture, and it rised beautifully both before and during baking. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2011

      Great Cinnabons. I make the dough in my breadmaker (so much easier),I use a good quality butter instead of margarine for each process and let them rise a second time(after the first rise in the breadmaker) in an oven that has been heated to 200 degrees and then turned off before placing the buns in.Works great every time.I also add two tblspns of flour to the cinnamon/sugar mixture to keep it from running out of the buns.I do also recommend a baking temperature of 375 instead of the suggested 400. Excellent

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2011

      This recipe was great but in my case 10 minutes of baking was not long enough. It needed few more minutes to brown lightly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2010

      Perfect...I used high gluten flour/bread flour and I added 1tsp sugar to the warm milk and yest.
      I have to say this is the best recipe I have found for cinnamon rolls. With that said I wont be looking for any new cinnamon roll recipes. Next time I'm going to try to make the dough the night before and just bake them in the morning. Just a side note I used dental floss to cut the roll, it keeps them nice and round.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2010

      All I can say is....ummm...amazing! I added flour to the butter lightly after i rolled out the dough and a bit of flour to the cinnamon/brown sugar mixture....they turned out absolutely perfect. I also used a 350 degree oven and baked them for 30 mins. Helpful hint...line your 9x13 pan with parchment paper and they won't stick! MMMMM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2010

      Wow! These taste exactly like how I remember Cinnabon rolls! Of course, I didn't make them exactly like the recipe states, but it was close. I added a touch more cinnamon/brown sugar mixture. I also sprinkled chopped pecans over the mixture in half the rolls. Because I was dealing with a mixed crowd (Thanksgiving, lots of family) I made double the icing and then just put it in a separate bowl so people could add their own. Oh, yes, and I changed the ratio of butter and cream cheese as someone else suggested, adding a little less of the former and a little more of the latter.

      The rolls didn't rise for me, probably because my house was a little cold (although I did set them in a warmer place) so I used the proofing method someone else talked about, setting them in a warm oven with a bowl of warm water. They then rose beautifully. The dough was also rather difficult to roll out, maybe, again, because it was a little cooler, but I eventually got it big enough.

      All in all, a wonderful recipe, and I'm so glad I made it. Christmas is in a month, and people are begging me to make the rolls then, too. I think they've just become a holiday tradition.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 25

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for TSR 1993 Version of Cinnabon Cinnamon Rolls by Todd Wilbur

    Serving Size: 1 (141 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 517.4
     
    Calories from Fat 191
    37%
    Total Fat 21.3 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 5.3 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 39.1 mg
    13%
    Sodium 468.8 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 76.0 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 41.1 g
    164%
    Protein 6.8 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes