Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tsoureki (Greek Easter Sweet Bread) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tsoureki (Greek Easter Sweet Bread)

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on April 08, 2007

      I have been desperately looking for a bread recipe that would produce results similar to the recipe that my grandmother brought over from Greece. My grandmother passed away and my mother had a stroke and couldn't remember how to make it. I was too young when my grandmother was alive to have written the recipe down. We tried many recipes but couldn't find the right mix and proportion of ingredients. I asked my husband to search the net for Tsoureki recipes as Easter was coming up. He found several, but I chose this one because the ingredients looked similar to the ones my grandmother used (particularly the masticha and mahlep). The bread turned out phenomenally. The loaves truly are enormous. They took the entire width of the oven. The next time I do this recipe, I will likely make six smaller loave instead of the two large ones, as we give Tsoureki to family members for Easter. My father, not having any faith in me (because I had tried so many recipes in the past), bought eight loves from a Greek bakery and payed close to $10 Canadian per loaf. The consensus of the entire family (including my father) was that of all the bread that anyone had given us or that we had purchased, this recipe was by far the best and truly reminded us all of my grandmother's bread. I must also say that I found this recipe to be virtually foolproof. This was the first time that I had attempted to make bread in years and it came out perfectly on the first try. My first cousin, who was raised in Greece even asked for the recipe so that she could pass it on to her Mother-inlaw who spent most of her adult life in Greece. Thank you Evelyn for helping helping us recover a cherished family recipe. Mary C. (Thorhill, Ontario)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2008

      Okay, I have to say this recipe was AMAZING!!!!! I am greek and decided to make tsoureki for the first time with my 3 year old son for our greek Easter. My mother offered her recipe, which is really good, but there really is no recipe. A little of this and a little of that. I can't bake like that!! So I found this recipe and decided to go for it. My bread turned out amazing!!! My mom said that the key to a good tsoureki is when you break it open and there are "strings" inside and not bubbles like regular bread. Well, my bread had more "strings" than my mother's!! :) I made one large, and 2 small ones. Next time I will make 4 small ones as the large one came out HUGE!!! I left out the anise and added an extra 1/4 cup sugar. I also put slivered almonds on top and brushed them with the 2 egg yolks.(as suggested by a reviewer) I kneaded it by hand as it was to much for my kitchen aid mixer. By far, an amazing and easy recipe. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2012

      This is the first time I have made this bread, though I have fond memories of eating it as a teenager in my Greek girlfriend's kitchen. I found the recipe easy to follow and actually had all the ingredients at home - ground my own aniseed seeds. I am glad I made half the recipe as it turned out to be a huge loaf. I found the rising times suggested much longer than necessary and I cooked it at 170C which is a bit cooler than the suggested 360F. Flavour, texture etc just beautiful. And what a delightful aroma throughout the house! An excellent recipe thank you. Now I have had a practice run, I will make it again for Easter - with the red egg.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2014

      This bread is so amazingly awesome. I made it a few weeks after Easter, since I tried a different recipe for Easter and was disappointed. This one has the

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2014

      First, let me start by saying that the 4 stars might be my own fault, and I will get to that in a minute. Second, I didn't use mahlepi or masticha because I didn't have them and none of the local import stores carry them anyway; however, my mom's sweet bread (kozinjak) doesn't include them, so I knew they weren't necessary in what I was trying to accomplish. The changes I made to achieve the bread I'm accustomed to, were to omit the mahlepi and masticha, add 1 tsp vanilla, 1 c. Sultanas/golden raisins (softened briefly in warm water), omit the almonds entirely and sprinkle the loaves with sesame seeds after applying the egg wash. The bread smelled wonderful as it was baking, and the flavor was exactly as I anticipated it to be! Texturally, it wasn't as light and fluffy as mom's (hence 4 stars), but this could be my own fault. I didn't allow the second proofing to run 2 hours because the directions say "or until doubled." They looked doubled to me, so I popped them in the oven before 2 hrs was up. Maybe this is why they were slightly more dense. Next time (trust me, there will be a next time... Soooo good!), I will let them go the full two hours. I might also half the recipe, as this one yielded roughly four loaves (lucky for my neighbors!) Another variation of mom's that I may try is to roll into 7" pieces and tie into a knot for individual rolls that are great and easy for freezing.<br/>All that being said, you can never go wrong with Evelyn's recipes!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2014

      After years of watching my Greek grandmother and aunts bake this bread I finally decided to try again after a failed attempt a few years back. Great, easy recipe and quite a tasty bread. Be mindful of it browning not only on the top but on the bottom as well. The loaf on the lower oven level got too toasty but I was able to slice it off and save the loaf. I might boost the sugar level a tad or add in more zest next time which did not come through too much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2013

      I've made this recipe about three times now and it is excellent. I grew up in a Greek home and enjoyed this bread many times. My mother rarely made it because of her fear of yeast and I, too, was afraid to tackle it myself. My Aunt was always generous and gave us each a loaf at Easter and again at New Years. But I recently faced my yeast phobia and started baking bread and decided it was time to tackle the big one - make tsoureki. I love this bread, who doesn't? This recipe is EXCELLENT. It is moist and flavorful. I made three good size loaves out of it and was able to share. I'm going to make it again tomorrow as I have a few more people who want some. I use the masticha and mahlepi . Thank you Evelyn for sharing this fabulous recipe. <br/>Angie Proios Torres

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2013

      This is a fabulous recipe!! Very easy to follow. The tsourekia taste the way tsourekia should. If you set out to make them be aware that it is an all day proposition. It took me 7 hours from start to finish with all the rising times. I upped the sugar to 2 cups and left out the ground almonds and the masticha which is way too overwhelming for my taste. As a result I had to increase the flour to 10 and a bit cups. Even so the mixture was still fairly sticky. My mum told me its best to rub a little oil on your hands to be able to knead and roll the dough rather than add more flour which might make the mixture too dry. It was good advice and stopped the dough sticking to my hands (I just used grapeseed oil which is light and neutral). I split the dough into 9 pieces which made 3 generous loaves. I baked them at 160C fan forced for 25 minutes and they turned out perfect. Soft, fluffy and moist and just the right level of sweetness. I got so many compliments on them! Next time I think I'll add the juice of an orange as well as the zest as I prefer a more pronounced orange flavour in my tsourekia.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2013

      This recipe is just awesome!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2013

      Perfect tsoureki recipe. My Greek in-laws were delighted! I had tried Martha Stewart's recipe from a recent issue of her magazine, and it was an absolute bust. I was so thankful to find this one! Omitted almonds and used ground mahlepi from my Greek grocery store. Lovely subtle orange flavor from the zest. They plump up quite a bit, so I'd advise using two baking trays and leaving plenty of extra room to let the loaves rise. Overall an excellent recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2013

      Thanks Evelyn for submitted this recipe. I made 2 batches yesterday and they came out Amazing. I did not have anise seed, so I omitted it. Also, like another reviewer I too added another 1/4 cup of sugar to make 2 full cups. And I had to reduce my oven setting to 325 in convection setting, as the 360 was too hot and my first loaf browned very quickly at the ends. This is an amazing recipe and one I will be using every year. It tastes just like, if not better than any bakery.. Love it, love it, love it. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2012

      Delicious and every slice thoroughly enjoyed! This was my first bread ever, and I have to say it was much easier then i expected. Very time consuming, but well worth the wait! The recipe its self was a little big for my oven. I will probably bake each one individually. I couldn't find any ground anise, so I had to pound the seeds out myself. I tried this recipe after Easter so I omitted the traditional red egg. I've always had this bread a day or 2 old, so tasting it strait out of the oven was AMAZING! I posted a pic of my loaf i braided, next time I'll use sesame seeds on top.

      p.s. kneading is a great upper body workout!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2012

      Well all I can say is I have been making tsoureki for 31 years and this is the bomb!!!!! Thanks for making a wonderful easy to follow and yummy recipe for all us Greek Goddess cooks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2012

      This is my first time making tsoureki. I halved the recipe and I got two good size loaves. I had to also add an additional cup of flour. The bread came out so fluffy and moist. I pur one of the loaves in the freezer for Greek Easter. Thanks for sharing th recipe..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2011

      Thank you so very much for this recipe!! My tsoureki turned out a delicious masterpiece! I had made many previous attempts to master this somewhat difficult Easter bread, most times a disaster, other times not so bad, but this recipe is by far a miracle!! It will be the only one I will be using from now on! Thanksssssss sssooo much, my greek family will be very happy :) as am I :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2011

      Thank you! My Greek husband loves Tsoureki. His YaYa and aunt made it for him all the time when he was little. Today, I made this recipe and he loved it! You made me a tsoureki making star with these easy to follow instructions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2011

      I had been looking for a good and authentic Tsoureki recipe for a long, long time -- and I am happy to say "this is IT!!!" Absolutely love the delicate flavor of the anise...and the wonderful texture. I made this on Easter, braided with a Greek "red egg" on one end...and got oodles and oodles of compliments! So many in fact, that as I write this, I am making my FOURTH batch since Easter! Right now I am waiting for the yeast to proof. A couple thoughts: I agree that the oven temp. should be at 360 and even with that -- you MUST watch the bread as it has a tendency to brown very quickly and can get "overdone" if you are not careful. I used anise seed but did not have mastiche or mahlep, so substituted vanilla extract -- which worked out just fine. Also, since I live in a high altitude, I recommend using either King Arthur's or Hungarian High Altitude flour for those of you in high places. Also, I used large oranges, and even when I halved the recipe, to make just one loaf, I still used the zest of one entire orange -- and it came out great! When I did make just one loaf, I upped the eggs to 3 (the recipe was for 5 for two loaves...and how would you get half an egg??) and 2% lowfat milk. In my experience, do NOT use evaporated milk -- it totally changes the taste and texture! Also, I used kosher or sea salt. When I made one loaf, I upped the anise to 1.5 teaspoons, as 1 teaspoon did not seem enough the first time I tried making just one loaf. Overall, an excellent recipe. I will look for MORE from this cook. Evelyn, Epharisto para puli!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2011

      I am Bulgarian who lives in Dallas and this Easter bread is traditional for us, too. This is the best recipe I have ever seen for it!!! I think what makes your recipe so successful is the detailed instructions. I appreciate your effort to put them down in writing! : )Thank you!
      I added a little more sugar and, instead of the suggested Greek aromatic spices, I used vanilla.
      I decorated it with the red hardboiled egg, as suggested, but instead of sprinkling with chopped almonds, I inserted whole almonds on the top, and after the glazing, I sprinkled the top with sugar (see the photos I included here). If someone had a trouble with the rising, make sure that the temperature for the yeast mixture is not too hot, and wait patiently. I also took the advice to put the breads on the lowest level (350F worked for my oven) and covered my breads with foil when the tops looked almost perfectly ready, it was about the 17th minute, in my case. The breads came out perfect - when you break a piece, it comes out as fluffy cotton - amazing!!!! My family raved over it and I am proud that my Easter Breads were better than those sold by professionals! My husband even suggested that I should start selling it! :) Your recipe made this year's Easter a true celebration! Thank you SO MUCH!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2010

      Thank you for this wonderful recipe!!! I have been searching for 14 years for a good tsoureki recipe! The dough rose beautifully and the loaves were huge ! I sprinkled thin almond slices on the top before baking. This year my bread was the best it has ever been! Kali Anastasi !!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2010

      This was too much for my KitchenAid 5 Qt, and except for giving it away, or Easter Dinner, one loaf would have been just fine. (Next time) I did up the sugar to 2 Cups. I am new to baking, so I may have screwed things up a bit, but I had to go to almost 10 cups of flour to get it un-sticky enough. My first rise was 4 hours (in an "off" oven 80°) and it still didn't "double" The result was great - and the folks raved about it. I will certainly bake it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tsoureki (Greek Easter Sweet Bread)

    Serving Size: 1 (2406 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 3255.3
     
    Calories from Fat 589
    18%
    Total Fat 65.5 g
    100%
    Saturated Fat 26.9 g
    134%
    Cholesterol 645.3 mg
    215%
    Sodium 1689.5 mg
    70%
    Total Carbohydrate 579.5 g
    193%
    Dietary Fiber 19.0 g
    76%
    Sugars 177.5 g
    710%
    Protein 86.2 g
    172%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    oranges, zest of

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites