Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / True Southeastern North Carolina BBQ Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    True Southeastern North Carolina BBQ Sauce

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on November 12, 2005

      I was stationed at Lejeune for five years and fell in love with the BBQ sauce. Since I left I have always been let down with "real carolina bbq sauce" This was like going home, I ran mine through a blender and it turned out fantastic!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2003

      wonderfully easy to prepare and is perfect with the pulled pok. i wouldn't change a thing. except to add that there is no need to strain out the black peppers, they tended to remain at the bottom of the pan anyway.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2012

      As a sauce, this was just too much vinegar for us. I did add some to the pork roast in the crock pot, and it gave the meat a really nice flavor. It was just too much by itself. I ended up adding a lot more brown sugar to it to tone the acidity down. It was a nice change from traditional bbq, though. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2012

      This is a review from an amature cook from Texas so take it for what it's worth. I used this sauce with pulled pork (both for basting and to put on it after cooking). As a baste it worked really well giving that perfect amount of spice and sweetness. I personally didn't like using it after the cooking process because it was too vinegary for my taste. My wife loved this recipe; but then again, she used to drink pickle juice. I followed the recipe precisely and tried a few variations. In one of them, I boiled fresh cubed apples with white vinegar and water instead of the cider. This made it a bit sweeter and worked very well with the pork but still retained an overly strong sour taste. Another time, I put a couple tablespoons of lard in my pan and carmelized the onions before adding the other ingredients. This was my favorite. The lard really seemed to tone down the acid. The other variation I used was to put all of the contents into a blender after cooking. Should have removed the peppercorns because it was HOT! Wife loved that one too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2010

    • on November 09, 2009

      Love this sauce! I've made it many times parring it up with Southeastern North Carolina Pulled Pork. Its always a hit at my house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      Aewsome! I am addicted to SE NC BBQ --- and I am from Chicago! I am sooo glad to have found a recipe!! Now I can stop spending $$ at Smithfields :-) Goes great with LOTS of Texas Pete! My husband puts cole slaw on his bbq, but I still say cole slaw is a side dish and not a condiment! Anybody know of a good hushpuppy recipe?? Maybe I'll still have to stop at Smithfields for those ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2008

      Seems like this is something people either love or hate. It is not my favorite BBQ sauce type but my husband prefers it. I halved the recipe, and following instructions to simmer uncovered for an hour was a bad move for me. I had about 1/4 cup of liquid left. Next time I'll simmer it less time or put a lid on the pot. The end results was tasty enough (for those who like the vinegar base instead of tomato base) but I did hate how it made our apartment smell. We had to scrub the kitchen from top to bottom to wash away all that vinegar that evaporated into the air. Live and learn -- and try it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2008

      My dad is from Angier, NC and every summer when I was growing up, we traveled from Florida to visit our relatives in NC. I miss the NC barbeque so much and have even ordered some on-line, at great expense, to be shipped to Texas, where I now live. I never thought of making it myself, until I found this recipe. I have made this several times now, with the pulled pork recipe you posted, and it is the closest I can come to my childhood memory of that good NC barbeque. The last time I made it, I doubled the hot pepper flakes (we like it hot!), added onion powder instead of chopped onion, and added some of the drippings from the pork roast. My family and I absolutely love it!! Thank you Leta, for posting this recipe so that I can bring back memories and share them with my family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      I gave this a 3, it's not that it was bad.....I just feel like it is missing something. And had no spice to me at all....and I even added hot sauce to it! Probably won't make it again....and geesh did it ever stink up the house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      Fantastic change of pace well worth trying! I've made this many times and it always gets rave reviews.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      There is nothing as good as NC bbq.You can tell me about Memphis which I enjoy too and KC but nothing compares to this simple and tasty sauce.I know most unknowing folks thing you have to have ketchup or a sticky sauce...Then they have no idea what heaven on earth is because they have yet to taste this.I love all bbq but for my time & money this is as good as it gets....Thank you so much for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2007

      I’v never tasted anything like it in my life , I loved it, I mean really loved it. I give it “5� stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2007

      Thank you for sharing this recipe! I had the opportunity to taste Carolina BBQ once in my life about a thousand years ago and it was one of the most awesome things I had ever eaten. I’ve never run across it again and I had no clue how to make it but I never forgot it. When I ran across this recipe I figured “What can I lose?� I can’t say that it’s just a good as I remember, but it’s pretty darn close. I went a little light on the pepper flakes (because I’m a wuss) and added a good deal of salt (but I add salt to everything) but other than that I followed the recipe exactly. I’m considering next time cutting the pepper flakes in half (or leaving them out completely) keeping everything else the same then adding some Frank’s Redhot to the finished product. I think that may add a little something extra to it. Anyway, my daughter and I love it and agree that it’s defiantly worth 5 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2007

      This is the topper to Leta's pulled pork recipe. You can not have one without the other in my opinion. Simple and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2006

      Great recipe.. First time I've tried a Caroline vinegar based "sauce" for putting on top of your pulled pork.. I tried some of it while it was still cooking and it was hot (spicy wise), but good.. However, after my pork butt was done being smoked for 15 hours outside, this sauce was great and not as hot as I expected.. Overall a great compliment!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2006

      This really is good stuff. I made only half a recipe as I didn't know if I'd like it. I liked it and need to make more to go with the pulled pork I made. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2006

      Ok - I've never seen BBQ sauce like this before. I actually had DH come inside to taste it because it didn't look or smell like normal sauce. Much to his excitement (he's from NC) he screamed: It's just like home! He was elated. Thanks for a great sauce to go over pulled pork.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2005

      We cant even get sauce like this up north this is great.the last time I went down south, I paid about 5 bucks for a small bottle of sauce that was just like this.Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2005

      One of the best sauces I've tried and perfect with your pulled pork. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for True Southeastern North Carolina BBQ Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (844 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 181.4
     
    Calories from Fat 9
    11%
    Total Fat 1.0 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2367.8 mg
    98%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.6 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 4.9 g
    19%
    Sugars 7.5 g
    30%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites