Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / True Lemon Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    True Lemon Chicken

    Average Rating:

    44 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 44

    Sort by:

    • on February 04, 2003

      Delicious Barb! I, too, have been searching for a lemon chicken sauce and have finally found it. Just the right touch of lemon/sweet. I doubled the recipe because I didn't think I'd have enough sauce (cause I doubled the chicken), but a single recipe would have been plenty. This was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2008

      Aug 26, 2007: The BEST Lemon Chicken ever! I sprinkled my chicken breasts with lemon pepper and onion powder with the salt and pepper, and lightly floured them before frying them. This made it a little less like Chinese restaurants, and a little more like down home cooking. I might play with battering the chicken pieces in a cornstarch tempura next time. I made extra sauce...it is JUST TOO GOOD! I agree with another reviewer, it would be a great dessert sauce too, so I might get double duty out of it EVERY time I use this recipe! Thanks for taking the time to get it perfect, and posting it for all of us to enjoy! UPDATE: April 21, 2008. I used this recipe to make an orange sauce tonight that was just perfect! I used 1/4 cup freshly squeezed orange juice, the juice of one lime, and 2 tablespoons of thawed orange juice concentrate. I cut the sugar back to 1/2 cup since oranges are sweeter, and added about 1 teaspoon of orange zest. I just LOVE this recipe!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2010

      I was confused at how the lemon juice was listed twice, so went with the total amount indicated. I thought 3/4 cup sugar was entirely too much so I subbed 5/8 of a cup of Splenda and 1/8 of a cup sugar. I made a mixture of a couple of tablespoons of cold water and 1 tablespoon cornstarch and only added about half of the mixture, stopping when I got the right consistency. Now, about the flavor. It was very lemony, which was great and the recipe makes a generous amount of sauce. I *personally* did not care for the blend of sweet and savory, however I can see how this recipe is deserving of four stars. I cooked the chicken in panko for crispness and served it with jasmine rice that was cooked with grated orange rind (try that for an aromatic treat!) I bottled the rest of the lemon sauce and gave it to my boss who said it was better than the lemon sauces she'd had back at the Chinese places in NYC.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2011

      I usually double and toss with broccoli and/or mixed veg and serve over jasmine rice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2010

      Next time I'll cut back to 1/2 cup sugar. As other's suggested, I panko-ed my chunks and fried them crispy. To describe how much I loved this, I want to use a Chinese term that I can pronounce best. Ready? Meeeeee LIKEY! Made for Alphabet Soup Tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2014

      Wow this was excellent! I tweaked it a bit tho and used thin cut skinless boneless chicken breasts and dredged them in flour, then egg, and then a panko bread crumb mixture with a lot of spices added to it. I baked the chicken at 425 for 20 minutes. I made the sauce pretty much the same but used slightly less then a 1/2 cup of sugar and added the zest from 1/2 of a lemon to the sauce. I will be making this again, it was terrific!! I didn't add the food coloring and the sauce is pretty much clear, but it sure tasted wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2013

      My family absolutely loved this! I just made it again tonight. We followed the instructions completely. It is just like lemon chicken from a restaurant. Thank you for sharing this recipe! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2012

      This was really good, I cut back sugar and didn't use food coloring. Like other reviewers said the sauce would go well on a dessert.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2012

      This came out exactly as I expected. I used 1/2 cup of sugar as suggested and ended up using 2 Tbls corn starch mixed with 4 Tbls water to get the thickness I wanted. I did panko chicken in the oven and served over rice. Hubby can't wait to eat the leftovers tomorrow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2012

      Sorry, I'm not sure if it was the lemon juice we used (out of a bottle) or what, but this did not turn out well at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2012

      Add a couple fried wontons and this is darn close to China Town here. Love it and will use it all the time.
      Tried this one with orange juice (freshly squeezed) and it turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2011

      I wanted to try something different and this hit the spot! The only thing I changed was I breaded the chicken before I pan fried it in about 2-3tbsp of evoo. The sauce I had a little bit of trouble getting to the right consistency. I was first confused about having the lemon juice listed twice? I added both. Then I had to add the flour paste two or three times before it started to thicken. Perhaps it was because I used flour instead of corn starch? I then had to strain it because it got a bit lumpy (my fault for adding the flour paste too quickly). I didn't add any food colouring, but it still had a nice hint of yellow. DH and I loved it! He usually doesn't like sweet things but he gobbled it all up. Will absolutely make this dish again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2011

    • on March 02, 2010

      WOW!!! I love this recipe! If you love lemon chicken, you will love this recipe. I took the suggestions of others and cut the chicken in thin slices. I rolled the chicken in flour, egg, and panko bread crumbs and browned them in olive oil. I love the crunch! I served the chicken over a bed of lettuce and rice and poured the sauce on top. YUM! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      Light and tasty. I've never had lemon chicken before so I was a little hesitant about trying it. It seems odd to put a sweet lemon sauce over chicken, but it works. I had way too much sauce, next time I will make half the sauce. But I will be making this again and often. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      This is the best lemon sauce ever! I love Chinese lemon chicken and have been searching for a good sauce. Now, I have found it! I cut my chicken breast into thin slices, do the flour, egg, panko bread crumb routine and brown them. This makes a crispy crust, more like restaurant style, without the deep frying. I also serve the chicken (topped with sauce) over a bed of shredded iceburg lettuce, just because that's how I've had Chinese takeout. Serve with white rice and soy sauce. Thanks so much for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      I haven't made this recipe yet, but I did make the orange chicken version as suggested in another review of this recipe; it was excellent. I added a bit of red bell pepper and pineapple for color and lots of orange zest.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      I have never had lemon chicken at a restaurant... it's my only chance for my favorite sweet & sour chicken! But I made this last we for me & the hubby & we both loved it! We liked it so much we even had it a 2nd time that week!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2009

      yummy! I used 1/2 the sugar and it was plenty sweet for me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2009

      Easy and so much healthier than take-out. I toss cubed chicken in a mix of flour and lemon pepper before sauteeing in evoo. I make sauce with 2/3 cup of Splenda instead of sugar, that's plenty sweet for us. One time I didn't use the full amount of lemon juice and regretted it, now I will stick to the full amount for full tanginess! Thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for True Lemon Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (373 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 496.8
     
    Calories from Fat 89
    17%
    Total Fat 9.9 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 75.5 mg
    25%
    Sodium 219.5 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 78.9 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 76.0 g
    304%
    Protein 25.2 g
    50%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites