44 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious Barb! I, too, have been searching for a lemon chicken sauce and have finally found it. Just the right touch of lemon/sweet. I doubled the recipe because I didn't think I'd have enough sauce (cause I doubled the chicken), but a single recipe would have been plenty. This was great!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Love2Eat February 04, 2003

Aug 26, 2007: The BEST Lemon Chicken ever! I sprinkled my chicken breasts with lemon pepper and onion powder with the salt and pepper, and lightly floured them before frying them. This made it a little less like Chinese restaurants, and a little more like down home cooking. I might play with battering the chicken pieces in a cornstarch tempura next time. I made extra sauce...it is JUST TOO GOOD! I agree with another reviewer, it would be a great dessert sauce too, so I might get double duty out of it EVERY time I use this recipe! Thanks for taking the time to get it perfect, and posting it for all of us to enjoy! UPDATE: April 21, 2008. I used this recipe to make an orange sauce tonight that was just perfect! I used 1/4 cup freshly squeezed orange juice, the juice of one lime, and 2 tablespoons of thawed orange juice concentrate. I cut the sugar back to 1/2 cup since oranges are sweeter, and added about 1 teaspoon of orange zest. I just LOVE this recipe!!!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ColCadsMom April 21, 2008

I was confused at how the lemon juice was listed twice, so went with the total amount indicated. I thought 3/4 cup sugar was entirely too much so I subbed 5/8 of a cup of Splenda and 1/8 of a cup sugar. I made a mixture of a couple of tablespoons of cold water and 1 tablespoon cornstarch and only added about half of the mixture, stopping when I got the right consistency. Now, about the flavor. It was very lemony, which was great and the recipe makes a generous amount of sauce. I *personally* did not care for the blend of sweet and savory, however I can see how this recipe is deserving of four stars. I cooked the chicken in panko for crispness and served it with jasmine rice that was cooked with grated orange rind (try that for an aromatic treat!) I bottled the rest of the lemon sauce and gave it to my boss who said it was better than the lemon sauces she'd had back at the Chinese places in NYC.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bhujia March 25, 2010

I usually double and toss with broccoli and/or mixed veg and serve over jasmine rice.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilysse June 13, 2011

Next time I'll cut back to 1/2 cup sugar. As other's suggested, I panko-ed my chunks and fried them crispy. To describe how much I loved this, I want to use a Chinese term that I can pronounce best. Ready? Meeeeee LIKEY! Made for Alphabet Soup Tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng May 12, 2010

Wow this was excellent! I tweaked it a bit tho and used thin cut skinless boneless chicken breasts and dredged them in flour, then egg, and then a panko bread crumb mixture with a lot of spices added to it. I baked the chicken at 425 for 20 minutes. I made the sauce pretty much the same but used slightly less then a 1/2 cup of sugar and added the zest from 1/2 of a lemon to the sauce. I will be making this again, it was terrific!! I didn't add the food coloring and the sauce is pretty much clear, but it sure tasted wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather K. March 17, 2014

My family absolutely loved this! I just made it again tonight. We followed the instructions completely. It is just like lemon chicken from a restaurant. Thank you for sharing this recipe! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KatMcC September 24, 2013

This was really good, I cut back sugar and didn't use food coloring. Like other reviewers said the sauce would go well on a dessert.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
keisham December 03, 2012

This came out exactly as I expected. I used 1/2 cup of sugar as suggested and ended up using 2 Tbls corn starch mixed with 4 Tbls water to get the thickness I wanted. I did panko chicken in the oven and served over rice. Hubby can't wait to eat the leftovers tomorrow!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RobinOHNCTXUK November 26, 2012

Sorry, I'm not sure if it was the lemon juice we used (out of a bottle) or what, but this did not turn out well at all.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anna in the Philippines April 24, 2012
True Lemon Chicken