Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / True Comfort: Chicken Pot Pie Soup over Mashed Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    True Comfort: Chicken Pot Pie Soup over Mashed Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on April 11, 2012

      This is SOOOO good! I skipped the butter, didn't feel it was necessary. I used a gluten free flour, and only 1/4 cup was plenty. Added a salt-free poultry seasoning, celery instead of green beans. Wonderful dish, and versatile. Serve over mashed potatoes, rice, toast, or with crackers.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2009

      This was a good down home dinner. It is also lower in fat then your traditional pot pie. I subbed celery for mushrooms and reduced the liquid just a bit. I also sneaky chefed the mashed potatoes with pureed zucchini and no one could see it under the pot pie sauce! Thanks for a good dinner. Update: Had this with rice today for leftovers - better then last night!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2013

      Yummy comfort food. I made this as directed but used some frozen mixed veggies. Very good on a cold rainy day. Thanks for sharing. Made for Best of 2012 Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2013

      This was a really good hearty dinner. I didn't have any mushrooms, but I added a ton of other veggies and it came out great. I only used half the amount of butter and flour. The funny thing is, I didn't care for the garlic in this and I usually love garlic. I'll just leave it out next time. I so wish I would have had brandy to add. I bet that's a delicious touch. Thanks for posting the recipe. It was the perfect meal for this rainy Winter night.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2012

      I made half a recipe as written including the brandy. Loved it. DH has three big helping to finish it all. Used left over mashed potatoes so was ready in about 45 min.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2012

      Wow what an easy to make supper, my kid who doesn't like mushrooms or onions ate everything and came back for seconds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2012

      I want to marry you! Okay, maybe not you, but your chicken pot pie soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2012

      Made this pretty much as given, although I didn't use the brandy, & although I'm not much on limp mushrooms, I did saute them until just starting to soften, then removed them, adding them just before topping the servings with the mashed potatoes! Worked for the 2 of us & this soup was delicious! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2009

      This was a true hit with everyone here. It's not difficult or greatly time consuming and comfort is certainly the key word. I didn't use the brandy or puff pastry, that is a bit over fussy of basic old me. It really tastes like a cross between a pot pie and Shepard's Pie, whats not to love there :D.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for True Comfort: Chicken Pot Pie Soup over Mashed Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (318 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 305.6
     
    Calories from Fat 181
    59%
    Total Fat 20.1 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 12.0 g
    60%
    Cholesterol 55.6 mg
    18%
    Sodium 357.3 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.6 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 9.2 g
    18%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chicken meat

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites