10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was really good oatmeal. I used half water and half milk, orange marmalade, dried cranberries as i ran out of raisins and pecans because walnuts are hard to come by at this time of year where I live. Thank you for posting Mandy! Made for Beverage Tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mami J March 14, 2009

I used quick oat, water, sugar-reduced marmalade. I used pecans instead of walnuts. I didn't use raisins. But used 2 tablespoon of dried cranberries. This was great and very filling. Thanks Mandy. Made for Zaar Star Game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette November 19, 2008

This was a perfect breakfast. I omitted the raisins and used all craisins (personal preference), and I realized at the last minute that I didn't have any marmalade on hand, so I subbed some Deborah's Mango Sunshine spreadable fruit and bit of orange extract. This turned out really well, especially since the spreadable fruit had ginger in it, which complemented the other ingredients to a T. This was a perfect portion size for me, too. I'll definitely be using this again in cooler weather (I'm more of a cold-weather oatmeal eater lol). Thanks for posting! Made for ZWT4

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Muffin Goddess July 01, 2008

This is a good oatmeal. I used tangerine marmalade and got the idea from other reviewers to add a little maple syrup. The orange, cranberry and maple tasted good together with the walnuts.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito June 29, 2008

This was great, I loved how the marmalade (I used no sugar added) gives the dish a light orange flavor. I was out of walnuts, so I used sliced almonds and golden raisins - I loved it and this went right into my keeper file for weekend breakfasts. I used old fashioned oats and cooked in my 1200 wt micro for 2 1/2 minutes stirring every 30 seconds - it was done just right. Made for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI June 28, 2008

This is a very tasty porridge recipe. I used all raisins as that was what I had on hand. I also put a bit of maple syrup and milk on it. Thanks Mandy for posting this recipe. Made for the Chic Chefs during Zaar World Tour 4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie3551 June 27, 2008

Made for ZWT4...This was great. I did it on stovetop since I had old fashioned oats. I used homemade marmalade that I had and it was wonderful. I added a little milk and pure maple syrup to the top. The kids and I all loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queenofcamping June 23, 2008

I made this for Hubby and he said it was delicious. I love the fact it was quick and healthy. He added a drizzle of maple syrup and extra milk. Thank you Mandy from Oz - *Made for Zaar World Tour 4*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef floWer June 21, 2008

this was good and so healthy! i got my grains, some iron, omega 3s and protien all in one quick breakfast!! the only thing i didnt use was craisins as i didn't have any and i dont really like them anyway.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
superblondieno2 June 21, 2008

I love the basics of this recipe as it comes out perfectly for me with 1/3 cup oats and breakfast's ready in 1 1/2 minutes! I found the cranberries and walnuts give it more of a Winter/Holiday flavor. I made it again substituting chopped dried mango, Rose's Key Lime Marmalade (yum) and chopped macadamia nuts. Definitely more of a tropical flavor. A sprinkle of coconut would be good too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLKeysJen June 09, 2008
Tropical Sunrise Porridge (Oatmeal)