8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I also felt that these were more like a muffin than a cupcake, very crumbly. The taste was very interesting, a lot different than any other cupcake/muffin I've had before. I didn't use any kind of liquor in it. I enjoyed them, my husband wasn't too impressed though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookin_nurse June 15, 2009

It tasted very good.I used fresh coconut and it really brought out the coconut flavor.The frsting wasn't that good.You could taste the confectioners sugar more than anything else.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southwest Chef from Oklahoma August 09, 2007

My DD's said they thought they were eating muffins not a cupcake. I thought it was an ok spice cake. The frosting was way too sweet, so I added more cream chees, some butter and a pinch of salt, which helped a little. I foung the texture to be very gooey, especially before adding the extras.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momaphet March 18, 2007

Very nice cupcake - although I found the texture more like a muffin (delicious no matter what). The orange flavour was pronounced and I think a little more spice may have been appropriate (1 tsp ginger?). I did feel the addition of the Grand Marnier was superfluous in both the cupcake and frosting as it was so unobtrusive to the point of being 'not there'. The amount should either be upped so that there is an element of flavour provided by the liqueur, or it could just as well be completely left out. We ate them all up in 2 days. Good luck with your recipe, chef!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens March 17, 2007

I love cupcakes, and so do the boys! This recipe is terrific. It made nice size cupcakes and the frosting with the Grand Marnier was perfect. Thanks for a keeper and Good luck ~V

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vseward (Chef~V) March 17, 2007

These cupcakes are excellent as is the frosting!! My cupcakes came out more muffin like, which was okay by me. I really liked the predominant orange with a hint of coconut flavour in the cupcakes. The magnitude of flavours in the frosting blended together so nicely. I iced each cupcake before eating them so I could let them sit out at room temperature with the icing in the fridge. I enjoyed these much more the day after baking them. Very yum!! Reviewed for RSC #9.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUv 2 BaKE March 17, 2007

I like the cream cheese on the top! It has a good taste! It was good in my lunch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
High school musical fan! March 17, 2007

I only made half this recipe and I wish I had made the full amount. Everyone loved these! I used the kitchen dictionary sub for Grand Marnier (oj concentrate and oragne extract), and vinegar in milk for the buttermilk. The icing set up nicely and the kids loved these in their lunch box. Good luck!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
* Pamela * March 17, 2007
Tropical Spice Cupcakes