Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tropical Spice Cupcakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tropical Spice Cupcakes

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on June 15, 2009

      I also felt that these were more like a muffin than a cupcake, very crumbly. The taste was very interesting, a lot different than any other cupcake/muffin I've had before. I didn't use any kind of liquor in it. I enjoyed them, my husband wasn't too impressed though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2007

      It tasted very good.I used fresh coconut and it really brought out the coconut flavor.The frsting wasn't that good.You could taste the confectioners sugar more than anything else.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      My DD's said they thought they were eating muffins not a cupcake. I thought it was an ok spice cake. The frosting was way too sweet, so I added more cream chees, some butter and a pinch of salt, which helped a little. I foung the texture to be very gooey, especially before adding the extras.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      Very nice cupcake - although I found the texture more like a muffin (delicious no matter what). The orange flavour was pronounced and I think a little more spice may have been appropriate (1 tsp ginger?). I did feel the addition of the Grand Marnier was superfluous in both the cupcake and frosting as it was so unobtrusive to the point of being 'not there'. The amount should either be upped so that there is an element of flavour provided by the liqueur, or it could just as well be completely left out. We ate them all up in 2 days. Good luck with your recipe, chef!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      I love cupcakes, and so do the boys! This recipe is terrific. It made nice size cupcakes and the frosting with the Grand Marnier was perfect. Thanks for a keeper and Good luck ~V

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      These cupcakes are excellent as is the frosting!! My cupcakes came out more muffin like, which was okay by me. I really liked the predominant orange with a hint of coconut flavour in the cupcakes. The magnitude of flavours in the frosting blended together so nicely. I iced each cupcake before eating them so I could let them sit out at room temperature with the icing in the fridge. I enjoyed these much more the day after baking them. Very yum!! Reviewed for RSC #9.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      I like the cream cheese on the top! It has a good taste! It was good in my lunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      I only made half this recipe and I wish I had made the full amount. Everyone loved these! I used the kitchen dictionary sub for Grand Marnier (oj concentrate and oragne extract), and vinegar in milk for the buttermilk. The icing set up nicely and the kids loved these in their lunch box. Good luck!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tropical Spice Cupcakes

    Serving Size: 1 (1862 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 331.0
     
    Calories from Fat 91
    27%
    Total Fat 10.2 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 6.9 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 37.9 mg
    12%
    Sodium 294.3 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 58.3 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 40.6 g
    162%
    Protein 3.2 g
    6%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Grand Marnier

    Grand Marnier

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites