Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tropical Pineapple-Banana Shake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tropical Pineapple-Banana Shake

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on January 21, 2008

      I am enjoying this right now and if I could give it more than five stars, I would! It's so good - the only thing I changed was that I added 1/3 cup vanilla protein powder - just for personal dietary preferences, as I often sub protein shakes for my breakfast and am always looking for new flavor possibilities so I don't get bored. I didn't refrigerate the pineapple or banana and it's just fine! Now I'm not so mad at DH for eating all of one of my ingredients for dinner tonight. Since I have to stop at the store anyway, now I can get more pineapple and bananas so that I can have this again tomorrow! :) I had planned to have the rest after my workout this afternoon, but...hope I can resist the temptation and wait till then.....:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      This was a refreshing change to my morning routine! The candied ginger added a flair, without heat. I added a few ice cubes, and used fat-free buttermilk. Excellent recipe, Julie B! Thanks for sharing...made for ZWT 5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2008

      I don't care for ginger but my mother loves it, so I made this for her - exactly to the recipe. She really enjoyed a glass of this shake for this morning's breakfast and is pleased that she has another serve to enjoy tomorrow morning. She loved the blend of flavours and wouldn't even mind a bit more ginger in it! So, Julie, I'll certainly be making this again. Next time, I'm going to try making it with Greek yoghurt instead of the buttermilk. Thank you for sharing this recipe! Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      Yum! My family really loved this! I froze the banana, used fresh pineapple and fresh pineapple juice, and I used soy milk instead of buttermilk just to make it a little healthier. I also used the optional coconut extract and even added a little fresh coconut to the mix. Delicious! Thanks! Made for ZWT4 - Jefes de la Cocina!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      This is a delicious shake! We are always experimenting with different kinds and this one was a hit. We love the pineapple-banana combination. It was just sweet enough, too! Made for ZWT4 for the Tastebud Tickling Travellers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      Used the ingredients listed, but I did freeze both the banana & the pineapple chunks (minus the juice) & had a very think, WONDERFUL DRINK! Definitely something I'd make again as I really enjoyed the combo of buttermilk & pineapple & ginger! Thanks for sharing! [Made & reviewed while touring South & Central America on the Zaar World Tour 4]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      Really, really good! I made fake buttermilk with 1 T white vinegar added to the milk, but otherwise followed directions (except for having no coconut extract). My 1-year-old loved it too. Though my 3-year-old likes bananas and helped himself to the entire rest of the crushed pineapple, he refused the drink. Go figure. More for me! Reviewed for ZWT4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      WONDERFUL! I LOVED this different tropical shake! I made it as directed but with frozen bananas. I used the coconut extract and added some rum extract. The candied ginger is what makes this so special. It flavors it of zippy refreshing ginger and it sweetens it. Made for the Beverage tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2008

      I made this for dh and I this morning. Yummy! I had to use powdered ginger, but would have to put more in next time as I couldn't really tell. I was dreaming I was on a beach while sipping this gem. Thanks, Julie B's Hive!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      This is not one of my favorites, but this is my own fault as I tasted too much ginger. Used powedered ginger and that could have been the problem. Didn't have any coconut either and so another problem perhaps. Thanks for posting Julie~ Made for January Beverage Tag 08.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2007

      Made this for my kids but they let me have a sip! They all gave it 5 thumbs up and that's what mommy's giving it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2007

      5 excellent stars! The honey gives a sweetness to the pineapple and banana, the milk smoothness, and I added a tiny amount of fresh grated ginger but no coconut extract. The result is full and very tasty indeed. I had mine in place of dessert and loved it. Please see my rating system: 5 stars for a very cool shake indeed. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2007

      Very refreshing. Had this in place of a dessert and it fit the bill perfectly. Made for ZWT3.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2007

      Mmmm, very nice! A very refreshing breakfast, and healthy to boot. I've never had buttermilk before and was surprised at how it basically tasted like the low fat bio yogurt I get. I stuck to the recipe on the whole but used powdered ginger instead of candied (because I didn't have any candied) and omitted the coconut extract because I can't find it in the shops over here. If you only have powdered ginger to hand then I recommend not bothering as I couldn't taste it at all. Also, I forgot to refrigerate the banana and pineapple so I added a handfull of ice to the blender to chill it down. A really good recipe that I'll definitely be using again. Thanks Julie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tropical Pineapple-Banana Shake

    Serving Size: 1 (315 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 210.0
     
    Calories from Fat 12
    95%
    Total Fat 1.3 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 4.9 mg
    1%
    Sodium 130.8 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.9 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    10%
    Sugars 39.3 g
    157%
    Protein 5.3 g
    10%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    candied ginger

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites