15 Reviews

This cake was super easy and yummy! It tasted like a 'crisp' rather than a cake. My topping got a little darker than I would have liked so next time I'll probably cover it for 10 minutes or so or just add the coconut and nuts 10 minutes into the baking time. You definitely could use any kind of pie filling...I think I'll try apple next time!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hmillang July 07, 2007

This was awesome and couldn't be easier to make. I made it for our Friday night Mexican Train game with four of our nieces and nephews. Between the six of us we ate almost the whole cake. I think everybody had two pieces and I didn't exactly cut them small.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie Lea February 02, 2013

Yummy and so easy! My sister had given the recipe over the phone, so I was happy to find a printable one here! I brought the cake to my club picnic and won the "Best Dish" contest! Everyone wanted the recipe, but I don't know if I want to give it up! This cake is nice to have to bring to events, you get all of the compliments with such little work to make it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kaylamae7 September 13, 2010

Great Cake! VERY easy to make; that's what I like best. Hubby doesn't care for Cherry Pie Filling but he ate a piece anyway. Asked that I make another one, this time perhaps using apple or (his favorite) blueberry. I will be making this again on Friday for him to bring to a work party. If anyone has tried apple or blueberry, let me know. Thanks! I read the review about the peach, and perhaps I'll try that?? Anyway, great cake and I will definitely be keeping this recipe on hand. Leftovers are on the way to my work because it's too dangerous to leave at home! I also posted a picture for you. Thanks again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
senseicheryl January 25, 2010

I have made the traditional Dump cake so many times over the years, but the addition of coconut is brilliant. My whole family loved this ! Thanks for posting this keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoveToBake67 December 13, 2009

Wonderful! Easy & Simple!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kutsche Family Cook January 21, 2009

What a delicious and most of all EASY and FAST dessert to put together with items I had on hand! Used a disposable foil pan for easy cleanup too! We served it warm with ice cream on top! But, it was yummy served cold as well. Got rave reviews from all the guests! Everyone wanted seconds plus the recipe! Thanks Boyz 5!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChaseNNJ July 29, 2008

I took this to a church lunch and I heard the words "sinful"! Rave reviews by all! I did use two cans of pie filling to cover the bottom of the pan. I left out the nuts because I didn't have any. Great recipe - thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
klkscanner March 02, 2008

I've already said how good this is but I have to add more- I tried it without cherries and you really need to keep that aspect of the mix in. Also, I made it with peach pie filling and it was a peach pie lover's delight! Even better than the cherry if possible.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
missjuliee July 09, 2006

I made this for my husband's family - they are always dumping on each other - and it was a huge hit! And I don't like cherry anything and I loved it!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kmack #1 of 4 May 08, 2006
Tropical Dump Cake