Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tropical Custard Coffee Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tropical Custard Coffee Cake

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on March 21, 2006

      This reminds me very much of Finnish quark pies made around Easter - they are flavoured with lemon and have raisins in them, so despite the Caribbean influences I felt like I was eating something very "familiar". :-) The fresh ginger was a great addition. (I think I'll add some into my Easter quark pie this year, too...! Thanks for the idea!) I did use 4 tbls of orange juice for plumping the currants as 2 tbls didn't cover them. Lovely small cake and quick to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2006

      I love the thin cake crust. Sweet, delicious and very much like a shortbread, or a flan crust. Absolutely five thumbs up. I obediently prepared this recipe exactly as Chef instructed, (using Splenda, because of health implications), and it turned out exceptionally well. The flavour of citrus is a refreshingly tasty addition to the custard..... and the coconut..... OH BOY. I do love coconut... The cake baked up well, was easy to cut and remove from its pan. Chef, your cake and a printed copy of the recipe will definitely be included in our annual fund raising Bake Sale. Thank you Chef for sharing your extraordinary talent. Sorry, 5 is the maximum...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2006

      I found the batter to be more like a dough. And I found that the cake required more time in the oven than stated in the recipe. The custard topping is good--but better after the cake sits for quite a while. Eaten warm as suggested it is a little rough tasting--after it has 'cured' a bit, the custard is less acetic and the shortbread-like bottom and the custard top blend much better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2006

      Wonderful for Sunday breakfast or anytime! Great directions but I subbed regular raisins for the currents. Thanks for sharing and good luck!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2006

      Very tasty! The cake was not too sweet at all, and almost bread-like. I really like the fact that this makes its own topping. The orange, lemon and ginger flavors taste wonderful together, along with the coconut and currants. And so simple to whip up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2006

      Thank you so much for sharing your tasty, tasty recipe. We loved this chewy, tender, lemony flavoured coffee cake. The currants, orange juice & coconut combine to create a lovely flavour. I'll certainly be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2006

      What a wonderful recipe !!! This would be the ticket if you had to have the ladies from church over for a gathering. Good enough for family and elegant enough for company. I made this a froze part of it to have later. it is one of those times when you wish you had a camera and you wish we gave out 10 stars!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2006

      I loved this cake. I found it well-balanced and in particular liked the cornmeal in it. Thank you for posting and good luck in the contest!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2006

      This was really good. I liked the custard consistency. I actually found another treat I can sneak coconut into my DH with. THanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2006

      This was wonderful. 10 stars if I could give them! The cornbread was really complimented by the fruity custard! I omitted the raisons as I don't care for them, and added a splash of orange juice to the custard to make up for it. I am adding this recipe to my "impress the guests" collection.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2006

      We really enjoyed this unusual coffee cake. Great instructions, easy to follow and perfect results. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2006

      To me this recipe earned about 3 and a half stars, so I rounded it up to four. I know coffee cakes aren't supposed to be overly sweet, but I really felt this one could have used more sugar. I did use raisins instead of currants but everything else I followed as directed. I thought this was ok, but the kids and DH wouldn't eat more than a small piece. Good luck in the contest :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tropical Custard Coffee Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (82 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 9

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 226.9
     
    Calories from Fat 105
    46%
    Total Fat 11.7 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 7.8 g
    39%
    Cholesterol 43.0 mg
    14%
    Sodium 159.5 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.2 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 14.5 g
    58%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites