12 Reviews

This reminds me very much of Finnish quark pies made around Easter - they are flavoured with lemon and have raisins in them, so despite the Caribbean influences I felt like I was eating something very "familiar". :-) The fresh ginger was a great addition. (I think I'll add some into my Easter quark pie this year, too...! Thanks for the idea!) I did use 4 tbls of orange juice for plumping the currants as 2 tbls didn't cover them. Lovely small cake and quick to make!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stormylee March 21, 2006

I love the thin cake crust. Sweet, delicious and very much like a shortbread, or a flan crust. Absolutely five thumbs up. I obediently prepared this recipe exactly as Chef instructed, (using Splenda, because of health implications), and it turned out exceptionally well. The flavour of citrus is a refreshingly tasty addition to the custard..... and the coconut..... OH BOY. I do love coconut... The cake baked up well, was easy to cut and remove from its pan. Chef, your cake and a printed copy of the recipe will definitely be included in our annual fund raising Bake Sale. Thank you Chef for sharing your extraordinary talent. Sorry, 5 is the maximum...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TOOLBELT DIVA March 21, 2006

I found the batter to be more like a dough. And I found that the cake required more time in the oven than stated in the recipe. The custard topping is good--but better after the cake sits for quite a while. Eaten warm as suggested it is a little rough tasting--after it has 'cured' a bit, the custard is less acetic and the shortbread-like bottom and the custard top blend much better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kate March 19, 2006

Wonderful for Sunday breakfast or anytime! Great directions but I subbed regular raisins for the currents. Thanks for sharing and good luck!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ March 19, 2006

Very tasty! The cake was not too sweet at all, and almost bread-like. I really like the fact that this makes its own topping. The orange, lemon and ginger flavors taste wonderful together, along with the coconut and currants. And so simple to whip up.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annisette March 18, 2006

Thank you so much for sharing your tasty, tasty recipe. We loved this chewy, tender, lemony flavoured coffee cake. The currants, orange juice & coconut combine to create a lovely flavour. I'll certainly be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato March 12, 2006

What a wonderful recipe !!! This would be the ticket if you had to have the ladies from church over for a gathering. Good enough for family and elegant enough for company. I made this a froze part of it to have later. it is one of those times when you wish you had a camera and you wish we gave out 10 stars!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shirl (J) 831 March 10, 2006

I loved this cake. I found it well-balanced and in particular liked the cornmeal in it. Thank you for posting and good luck in the contest!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tigerduck March 09, 2006

This was really good. I liked the custard consistency. I actually found another treat I can sneak coconut into my DH with. THanks for posting

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kzbhansen March 09, 2006

This was wonderful. 10 stars if I could give them! The cornbread was really complimented by the fruity custard! I omitted the raisons as I don't care for them, and added a splash of orange juice to the custard to make up for it. I am adding this recipe to my "impress the guests" collection.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cinnamon1025 March 07, 2006
Tropical Custard Coffee Cake