Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tropical Coconut Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tropical Coconut Bread

    Average Rating:

    48 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 48

    Sort by:

    • on March 01, 2009

      Hey QTPetootie, sheerkerry had made this bread and shared it with our family, and of couse we all loved it, and by topping the bread with the Pampered Chef's Sweet Mocha Hazelnut Sprinkles, it made this bread taste even more wonderful. If and when I decide to make this bread myself, I'm going to top mine with a bit of a spreadable cream cheese, as I think that would taste very good on this bread. QTPetootie, thank you for posting this recipe, it certainly is a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      This recipe was terrible. I am from Trinidad and I spent most of my life cooking and baking Caribbean dishes and this is a poor representation of the breads and 'bakes' from the islands. Too much sugar, too much oil and just a very dull recipe that tastes like just that. I tried it and I was very disappointed with it. Threw it away immediately after tasting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2008

      So, I made this originally in October and I had the same problem as Poison_Ivy. The middles of my loaves never set and it was simply way too dense. This time, I used 1-1/2 cups of all purpose flour, and 1-1/2 cups of bread flour. I had no buttermilk, so I used a substitute of 1 tablespoon of white vinegar and added enough milk to make 1 cup, letting it stand for 10 or so minutes. At 325 degrees, it took me about 1-1/2 hours to bake the loaves, and using convection heat for the last 20 minutes. My bread came out beautifully brown with a crisp crust, but a nice moist middle. Thanks for sharing QTPetootie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2008

      Taste was excellent! Except I cut the ingredients in half and made one load. I don't know why mine only needed 45 mins bake time and didn't rise much at all (just above an inch tall) w/9 1/2" x 5 1/2" loaf pan. If I want it to look more like a loaf of bread as pictured, what would you suggest the bake temperature and bake time to be if I use 2/3 of the ingredients to make one loaf?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2008

      This was SO good. I used 1/2 whole wheat flour, added 2 bananas, 1 c. pecan halves unchopped, and 1 c. splenda instead of 2 c. sugar, and used the mixer but only to just mix. Baked it in 2 pans for 40 min. Perfect. Also, froze one of the loaves and had it later and it was STILL so good.. specially warm w/butter on it. This goes in my favorites file.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2008

      I made this cake in one large cake tin, so I had to bake it for 2 hours in a 300 degrees F oven, so the cake would bake evenly and not be burnt on the outside whilst still raw on the inside. Everybody loved it. And it got even better the next day. Wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2008

      One of my daughters wanted to learn to bake, so we chose this recipe because I wanted to start her off with one that does not require an electric mixer. She made this with ease and the bread came out perfectly. We reserved a little of the batter, omitted the coconuts and added white chocolate chips instead and baked it in a little loaf tin. Just for fun, she topped the large loaf with more white chips. Both were equally delicious, and the taste just got better the next day. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2008

      Not that you need another stellar review, QTPatootie, but this bread is AWESOME!! I even subbed applesauce for half the oil and Splenda for half the sugar and it was just as moist as you could want. I first tasted it when it was still warm and thought it was good, but not spectacular. The next day and the next it just got better and better! The amount of coconut flavor is right on the money. I can't thank you enough; I will be making this lovely and easy bread often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2008

      Very, Very good. The whole family loved it. We just at ours plain w/ a little butter or Nutella! Didn't need anything else. I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2008

      This was very good. I used unsweetened coconut as the recipe didn't specify and it was still delicious and sweet. Very cake-like. Even my husband who does not usually like coconut gobbled half a loaf. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2007

      This was amazing! It was so delicious that my family was fighting over for it. My family even thought it was a cake box mix! Next time i would use less shredded coconut (someone said that it was too chewy in the bread) or shred it more in a food processor. When the bread came out of the oven, it was hard and crusty on the outside, so i wrap it up in cling wrap when it cool down enough to not melt the wrap. This made the top stick and the sides soft. Thank you for the great recipe! We loved it and will be making it again and again. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2007

      I just can't say it enough..."This is delicious"!!! Everyone who has tried this thought it was soooooo good! It is definitely one of my keeper recipes to make again and again and again. Thanks for a fantastic recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2007

      This was so good! The flavor was very intense. This one will impress anybody! I'll make it again for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2007

      WOW! This is incredible! I didn't change a thing and I don't plan to. There went my New Year's resolution-but so worth it! I didn't have buttermilk, so I used a tbs of lemon juice in a cup of milk and let it sit. Thank you so much and God Bless.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2006

      Easy and quick to make. Doubled the recipe and made 8 small loaves. Doesn't my sister have the greatest recipes in her book? Too bad I have been invited to sample them all!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2006

      I had just decided to be more strict with giving 5 stars to any given recipe, then I made this. It's definately "5 stars worthy" in my book! I'm so excited to take the extra loaf (that I have hidden) to my friends jewelry party tomorrow night. I DID take it out of the oven 15 minutes early. We just moved into a new home with a brand new KitchenAid double oven in June, so I'm assuming it is because my oven is still breaking in. (Many things are baking faster than usual.) Other than that, I followed the recipe as given. Thanks for a great bread for breakfast, tea, snack or dessert!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2006

      This was so good. I decided to make it because it was fast and easy. It made my house smell so yummy. I didn't have buttermilk on hand so I used 1 cup milk and 2 teaspoons vinegar and let it sit for five min before I used it. My entire family of 6 devoured it all. (Yes two loafs). I'm going to have to make more tomorrow. It was moist and light. Awesome recipe if you love coconut. Yummm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2005

      This is very good. I made one loaf, using all ingredients and proportions. The coconut extract gives the loaf a very strongly coconut flavor, and the shredded coconut adds an interesting texture, making this quite different from other quick breads. Thank you very much for sharing the recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2005

      Hey I'm Roxygirl's daughter. For a school project I made this and it everybody had something good to say about it. I thought it was perfect with great texture. It wasn't a complicated, time-consming recipie, either. I plan on making it again. Also I added vanilla extract, and almond extract. Thanks a million QTPetootie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2005

      We liked this recipe, but didn't love it so I'm only giving it four stars. I like the texture the coconut adds, but I felt the flavor was too subtle for a quick bread. I think maybe adding some crushed pineapple make it better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tropical Coconut Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (1548 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 726.3
     
    Calories from Fat 335
    46%
    Total Fat 37.2 g
    57%
    Saturated Fat 10.6 g
    53%
    Cholesterol 94.2 mg
    31%
    Sodium 533.1 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 90.2 g
    30%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 52.3 g
    209%
    Protein 9.7 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites