Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tropical Coconut Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tropical Coconut Bread

    Average Rating:

    48 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 48

    Sort by:

    • on October 04, 2002

      This is really really good! It makes 2 loaves and by the time we were done (my husband, 3kids, and I) there was only 1/2 loaf left. A definite keeper and a nice change from the old classic banana bread. Thank you for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2002

      This bread is really good and the coconut made the difference. It wasn't too rich, but just right, and very moist, especially the next day. Another thing I liked about it was that it made two loaves. I took one loaf to the office and left in the lunchroom. It was gone by the end of the day, with lots of raves! Thanks for this different tasting sweet bread recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2003

      Excellent! Not too sweet, very moist. I will make this often. A good change from banana bread. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2003

      I substituted maple extract for the coconut extract. YUMMY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2010

      This turned out great! The only changes I made, were as follows: I toasted the coconut in the oven, on a sheet pan at 300 for about 15 min, and allowed to cool before adding. Gives a crunchier texture, and nuttier flavor to the coconut. I also baked the whole recipe in a bundt pan. This has proven to be a great solution to the problem of very dense cakes and breads that tend to want to over-brown on the outside, before baking thru on the inside. Plus it's pretty. 2 loaf pan's worth of batter is a perfect fit for the bundt pan. I also sprayed the pan well with butter flavored spray, then coated well with granulated sugar. This gives such a fantastic chewy texture to the crust. I might try adding a bit of pineapple next time. This is a GREAT springboard recipe. Thank you so much QTPetootie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2013

      Ii made this yesteray, baked it in a 9 inch spring form pan. I used two pineapple Greek yogurt cups then added 2% milk to equal the 1cup of buttermilk required in the recipe. The cake was tender, a beautiful golden color and tasted delisicous!! A definite make again recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2013

      Oh my Goodness!!! I stumbled upon this gem yesterday and made it last night. One loaf was eaten in about an hour by my family, and the other loaf was taken to work for a potluck. Within ten minutes I had a number of messages requesting this recipe! Gonna make some more tonight! YUMMMMY!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2003

      What a fantastic sweet bread! Put me in a 'tropical' state of mind:) Nice and moist, and the coconut is a great flavor - something a little different from the usual. I used virgin coconut oil instead of the vegetable oil.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2013

      UNBELIVEABLE! I made this a few years ago and recently re-discovered it. This is something to bake on a cold day when your dreaming of summer, or any day! I added Pampered Chef's Sweet Mocha Hazelnut Sprinkles just before baking. It turned out beautifully. I have a little older stove and had to let it bake for 10 more minutes, came out perfect! QTPetootie you are a god for posting!!! Big love to the Tropical Coconut Bread! Love from Wisconsin!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2011

      Absolutely wonderful bread, & one that disappears quickly! I'd planned on gifting a loaf to a neighbor couple, & will, although not this first time around! Plan on making another couple of loaves today & then . . . Definitely a keeper of a recipe! Thanks so much for sharing the recipe for this delicious bread! [Made & reviewed in the current Let's P-A-R-T-Y! event]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2011

      This bread is really good. I have to confess though that I didn't have any coconut so I drained a can of crushed pineapple and used that. In hind site I wish I would have used part of the juice instead of all of that oil. I also used coconut milk as some of the other reviewers said. My husband loved it, it was moist and so good. Made it to take camping with us for breakfast..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      this recipe tastes great and has good flavor but i will have to figure out a better cooking temperature and time. the bread started to turn brown and the center was still raw

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      Very good; not too sweet. Cut the recipe in half as I have 1 loaf pan. It may have affected the cooking time for it was a bit overdone. Will definitely make again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2009

      This was delicious! Moist, flavorful and very easy to put together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2009

      This is positively the most delightfully delicious bread I have tasted. It is a real treat. I have some mango butter that I am looking forward to trying with this bread. We had this bread as a quick snack, but I think it would be wonderful for breakfast too, maybe even for dinner as a replacement for rolls.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      Great bread! Very well liked and I followed the recipe exactly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2009

      I made a couple small changes. Used coconut milk instead of buttermilk. And substituted 1/2 cup of the vegetable oil for coconut oil. It made the bread 4 times the coconut! Shared this with friends. It was wonderful. Thank you very much for sharing. I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      I made one loaf of this because we have so many sweets right now. I should have made both loaves. We passed up the Easter candy for this. I served this with "cloud Nine" on the side. DH said this was one of the best things I've ever made and DD is demanding the last piece for her lunch tomorrow. I will be making this again. I made it for Spring PAC 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2009

      This recipe was SO EASY and very delicious! It's definitely a keeper! I love coconut and the flavor was very nice; not too strong and the shredded coconut (I used the unsweetened kind) helped keep the flavor "real" and the texture stay moist & soft.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2009

      I made this bread with splenda for baking and it turned out perfect....great taste!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tropical Coconut Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (1548 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 726.3
     
    Calories from Fat 335
    46%
    Total Fat 37.2 g
    57%
    Saturated Fat 10.6 g
    53%
    Cholesterol 94.2 mg
    31%
    Sodium 533.1 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 90.2 g
    30%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 52.3 g
    209%
    Protein 9.7 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes