10 Reviews

I made this at x-mas for my hubby's very Irish family. They loved it, though they do tend to prefer strong flavors (which this is). I used the Dubliner chedder and also the Kerry Gold Irish White. This made the dip a lovely tan color, instead of the unfortunate color it may have turned had I used an orange color cheese. Oh, I also left out the seeds. Try serving it with green apples and thick pretzle rods, the pumpernickle onoin ones work great! I'm making it again tonight for a Paddy's party. I'm sure some people will be scared of it, but they are probably the same people who think Guinness is "too heavy".

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
valentine.cassidy March 14, 2008

Loved this recipe! I took the review advice of Chef #790468 and used all Irish cheeses and the pumpernickel/onion pretzels. May try the green apples next time!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmin Michelle April 16, 2013

This spread has so much promise but was just too overpowering for DH and his friend, both Guinness-loving guys. The flavors are *very* strong. Unfortunately this went untouched. :-(

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JessHinkson May 24, 2009

My husband drinks Guinness and loved this cheese spread. I made this for St. Patrick's Day and served it with dark rye bread.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Dana March 18, 2009

VERY assertive flavor ... and I used Guinness draught instead of the heavier stout. Great addition to an otherwise bland menu.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cadasb March 17, 2009

Had some company and threw in this in the blender (without the caraway seeds) and it was very nice. Everyone liked it. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oolala March 18, 2007

I ran across this recipe this afternoon, thought it sounded good and happened to have everything on hand, so I whipped it right up. Took a matter of minutes, and the result was awesome! We really loved it--thanks for posting the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaylaJ March 17, 2006

Awesome! I used 6 oz Dubliner, 2 oz Kerrygold Sweet cheddar, and 2 oz Stilton. I also increased the stout by one ounce, to 5 oz as I wanted a more dip like texture. BAM! if you like pungent cheeses, you will LOVE this stuff! I think I;d prefer to grind the caraway next time, for reasons of texture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachelle H. March 19, 2016

Made this for St. Patricks Day and thought it was fantastic. Not everyone loves blue cheese so it could be left out for a more "cheddary" flavor. I,for one, thought it was perfect as is. I used the leftover spread on wraps for lunch along with cold cuts and sprouts. Awsome!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cucina Casalingo March 27, 2007

Really wanted this to work out. I made it for St. Patrick's Day party 2007 and no one seemed to enjoy it. Everyone called it the stinky cheese dip - I kind of felt sorry for it. I liked it but could only give it 2 stars because everyone else did not like it (probably b/c of the strong types of cheeses used).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
applee March 19, 2007
Triple Threat Guinness-Cheese Spread