8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this incredible moist and tender cake tonite. I added some lemon extract and lemon rind to both cake batters and also extra lemon juice to the glaze, for an added tartness. It turned out great. Thank you so much Montana Roux.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato April 25, 2004

Most cakes I make get rave reviews from my family and friends, but this one was very bland and not as interesting or exciting as the recipe sounded or the previous reviews indicate. I used fresh lemon juice and also added two tsp of zest to the batter. Made this for Mother's Day, but I need to find another recipe and make another Lemon Cake to make Mom happy. It does have a good texture that we liked - slightly different than most cakes, but it just didn't make up for the lack of flavor. 2 Days later: The lemon came out more and the cake was better after it sat for 2 days, but I don't think I'll make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bkwilson May 13, 2008

I made this delicious cake this weekend. Great cake and very lemony. I did add extra lemon zest to the glaze and batter. I served warmed up in the microwave. This brings out the flavor better. The cake came out of the bundt pan easily.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JOY1998 October 30, 2006

I made this cake, as directed, as a present for some friends. It received great reviews from them. The only part that I tasted was the glaze and it was great! I had to bake it a little longer than stated but that may be due to my oven. Thank you for this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagopm July 24, 2004

This is a very nice cake .. the filling is excellent! I had one problem, when I turned the cake out of the pan it broke apart, although I had used plenty of non-stick cooking spray .. some parts were ok and I used them to take a picture, but the broken up parts are still yummy! thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
najwa July 10, 2004

Just too good for words!...this is a most moist lemony summertime cake, so yummy and light...I made this today, and baked it in my tube pan...WOW, it sure won't be the last time I make this cake!..absoltely delicious.... DH loves lemons, so this was a big time hit, I used fresh lemons, and added lemon zest to the batter, as did Muffin Goddess.. if you are a lemon lover, then this cake is definately worth making...thanks so much Charmed for posting another winner...KC :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz June 03, 2004

Mmmmmmm! I did a "lazy thing" and subbed a white cake mix for the cake part of the recipe (running out of time). I lowered the fat in the filling by using neufachel cheese and 1/4 cup Egg Beaters instead of an egg. I added 3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice to the cake mix batter, but it could have used more (4T?) and a little lemon extract. I served each slice on a puddle of raspberry puree and a handful of fresh raspberries on the side. It is a very good cake and I liked the lemony cheese filling. I'm having a hard time staying away from it several times a day...!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VictoriaL May 31, 2004

Made this to bring to work yesterday - great cake! Nice and moist, and the tangy glaze was a nice offset to the sweeter cake part. I squeezed fresh lemons for the juice, and I added the zest to the glaze and cake batter too. The fresh lemon taste really shined here, and the empty plate I took home attested to it. The cream cheese layer added extra moistness to the cake as well. I think this recipe is my new favorite lemon bundt cake - Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Muffin Goddess May 25, 2004
Triple Lemon Ripple Cake